We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glyntwrog House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glyntwrog House
Ranked #15 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, and wished we could have stayed longer.
Janet and Ian are perfect hosts, and are both well suited to the hotel trade. They are knowledgable about the local area, and further afield.
Breakfast was a delight both on the culinary side, and the conversation. We could have spent all day chatting with Janet and Ian.
Would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone thinking about looking for accommodation in Snowdonia.
Peter and Christine

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterTCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. We really appreciated your kind comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you both and to put the world to rights with our breakfast conversations. Take care.
Janet & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
105
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the end of September, having previously stayed in May and we will most definitely be back again. Ian and Janet once again made us feel very welcome and the room was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy. The bathroom was large and spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. The house is brightly lit up on the exterior which made it easy for us to get back to the house after a pleasant meal in the village. The cooked breakfast is excellent and we spent time after eating chatting to Janet with other guests. Ian and Janet are very knowledgable about the local area and are very accommodating. Having read some less pleasant reviews I would have no hesitation in recommending Glyntwrog House to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandywire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed 5 nights in this fantastic B&B. Janet and Ian were very welcoming and made us feel at home instantly. Advice they gave of the area and attractions was spot on, nothing seemed too much for them. Fantastic location to explore Snowdonia and beyond. The house is very well set up for all types of holiday makers, the rooms are really comfortable and welcoming after a long days hiking. Breakfast was superb and made fresh to order, perfect for fueling you for a days hike. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWorkmanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights in July with my Dad and Sister. This really has to be the best B&B I've ever stayed in... could not fault a thing! Janet and Ian are extremely welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The house itself is beautiful, with stunning views, and situated just a little out of the town which makes it nice and peaceful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the entire house is spotlessly clean. I would definitely recommend Glyntwrog House and will stay here again on my next visit to Betws-y-Coed. Thank you Janet and Ian for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here when planning our walk up snowdon. It is a lovely place and the owners were very welcoming. The room was clean and very cosy! We had to cut our trip short and Janet and Ian were kind enough to offer us a return voucher. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Both myself and my partner stayed at Glyntwrog House for 3 nights. We both had a fantastic stay. We could not fault anything at all. The room was excellent, the breakfast was lovely and the location was stunning. Janet and Ian were so friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend staying here,and if I was ever in the area again would not hesitate staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for your kind comments. Ian and I are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were met by Ian and Janet on our arrival and taken to our lovely room which was spotless! Lots of info on places to go and things to do. Very friendly hosts. Pretty view from our room although we did find it a little noisy from the road, we do live away from any traffic at home. Delicious breakfasts! A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
1.2 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyntwrog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyntwrog House

Property: Glyntwrog House
Address: Dinas Hill, A5, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyntwrog House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully positioned 4 star Guest House set in own 5 acre woodland at the edge of the village, quiet peaceful location yet a short walk to restaurants and all village amenities and attractions. All rooms en-suite, beautifully appointed and with lovely river and valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Glyntwrog House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyntwrog House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing