We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Glyntwrog House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glyntwrog House
Ranked #16 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at Glyntwrog House and can't really fault it. The owners Janet and Ian were unbelievably friendly and helpful and were able to accommodate for my partners gluten intolerance at breakfast. Breakfast was great with a choice of a full Welsh Breakfast or scrambled eggs & Smoked Salmon. Additionally cereals, yogurt and fruit salad are also available.
The guesthouse his exceptionally clean and offers free parking. Our room (room 3) was fairly small but perfectly adequate and the bed was very comfortable. Its roughly a 15 minute walk from the guesthouse into the Betws-y-Coed itself. The property is in a stunning location although it is perched quite high up on a ledge. The approach to to the property is very steep so perhaps not the best for people with mobility problems.
Thanks for a lovely stay. Dan & Dan xx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our home.
It was nice to meet you both. Thanks for being so thoughtful about guests with mobility problems, but to put your mind at rest we do have accessible parking up at the house so there is no need for guests to negotiate the path or steps up to the house.

We look forward to meeting you in the future.

Take care

Janet & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Glyntwrog House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This guest house is in a quiet location on the outskirts of the village, but within easy walking distance of the centre. What is especially good is that there are four parking bays for the four rooms. So there are no worries about reparking at night.
The guest house is both immaculate and tasteful. Being a few minutes from the busy village centre, the is a large garden with out door seating. The hosts will serve drinks in the evening if desired. There is also a comfortable lounge.
The breakfast could not be faulted.
We will definitely stay in this delightful accomodation again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NewcastleAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to our home Glyntwrog House in the very near future.

Best wishes Janet & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me and my husband spent a weekend at this hotel , and I must say it was very nice. Lovely and clean room, Friendly host very nice breakfast. It was in a good location short distance from the village. Would return again !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your good feedback. Ian and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We both would love to welcome you back to Glyntwrog House in the future.

Janet & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great breakfast, good views, friendly and helpful owners what more could you want. Stayed for one night as sadly thats all they could do for us as part of a short break to North Wales. Rooms are great, clean and well presented, breakfast is ample and well cooked served, with a very efficient system. Will defiantly be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments. Ian and I are pleased you enjoyed your short break with us. We would love to welcome you back to our home when you are next in the area.
Take care.
Janet & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Thank you to Janet and Ian for your warm welcome, into your beautiful guest house...
I stayed for 3 nights with my two children. We had the lovely Wagtail family room, with it's gorgeous view down the valley to the river. The room was immaculate, as was the rest of this guest house.
Breakfast was plentiful ... selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, yogurts, fresh juice, and tea & coffee. Then your full English (welsh) was freshly cooked, lovely eggs Ian !!. Also a selection of fish could be ordered the night before.
so friendly and approachable, Janet and Ian helped plan my days out. Nothing was too much trouble. You will have a very enjoyable , pleasant stay here... PERFECT :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jopillans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful comments, Ian and I were very pleased to see you all and glad to have helped plan your trips so you could get the most out of your time with us.

The card you sent with the Cats on was beautiful and has pride of place in the hall.

We very much look forward to meeting you all again in the future.

Take care.

Janet & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked a family room for our trip to do the Snowdonia half marathon. The owners were extremely helpful before and during our stay - even printing off future races in the area that may be of interest. The room was spacious and clean with a TV, wifi and refreshments in the room. The breakfasts were excellent. I 100% recommend this guest house and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1970Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Many thanks for your lovely comments. Ian and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed here for 4 nights and wouldn't hesitate to come back. The b&b is a small, charming establishment, very well situated to explore the region, and next to one of the best restaurants in the area- Ty Gwyn. The hosts went out of their way to help us with everything, from tips on places to eat and visit, to drying our shoes and wet clothes and providing us with packing material for some slate pieces we wanted to take back home with us. If you want homely comfort and a GIGANTIC breakfast, this is the right place. The choice of breakfast offered was also excellent , we could have something different each day. I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glyntwrog, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Many thanks for your review. Ian and I were very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We try really hard to make our guests feel welcome and help with suggestions on things to see and do whilst they are here on vacation. It was nice to meet you and we look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyntwrog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyntwrog House

Address: Dinas Hill, A5, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyntwrog House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully positioned 4 star Guest House set in own 5 acre woodland at the edge of the village, quiet peaceful location yet a short walk to restaurants and all village amenities and attractions. All rooms en-suite, beautifully appointed and with lovely river and valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Glyntwrog House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyntwrog House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing