We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful with home from home comforts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pengwern Country House
Ranked #25 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful with home from home comforts”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A wonderful welcome awaits from Gwawr at the beautiful house. Views are stunning down the valley and its just a short distance away from the busy Betws-y-Coed.
Wonderfully appointed bedrooms, lovely views and a really comfy bed for a great nights sleep.
Breakfast most definitely sets you up for the day!!
Spacious sitting room to relax and if the sun is shining. some lovely seating areas in the garden to relax, watch the birds and admire the view.
Treat yourselves....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBabyCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Pengwern is a perfect base for a relaxing break in beautiful Snowdonia. The landlady is very welcoming and full of helpful information about the local area. Rooms are spacious and cosy with the most comfortable snooze-inducing beds. Breakfast is a real home-cooked treat around a large table with the other guests (only three rooms so max. 6). There's also a large comfy lounge with TV but we only made use of that on arrival when Gwawr plied us with tea & cake.

The location is hard to beat just a short stroll from Fairy Glen, Conwy Falls and down the hill into Betws-Y-Coed. All of the wild natural beauty of Snowdonia is a short drive away. You're not short of great places to eat like Ty Gwyn at the bottom of the hill, the Alpine Cafe in town or The Old Ship in Trefriw.

Nice touches: seems silly but having a radio in the room rather than a TV is great. At night the rooms are quiet and pitch-black - combined with the fab beds leads to a great night's sleep. And there are books everywhere of local interest and beyond.

Could anything be improved? Personally I prefer a good shower to a bath but it's a detail - there's lashings of hot water so the bath fills in no time. Everything else is pretty much perfect.

Room Tip: I worried there would be noise from the A5 at night but we never heard a peep even in our front-faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMcBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked this rather last minute as had a week free and husband who is self employed did not want the hassle of going abroad, also we love walking. The Studio is a small cottage/apartment attached to the owners b&b house, but entirely seperate with its own front door. Two artists lived in it in the nineteenth century (Betws-y-Coed has a history as an artists colony), hence the name. It is compact and cosy with a small kitchen opening onto its own small patio at the front/side of the house. We sat here for a drink on several evenings, totally undisturbed by other visitors or anyone else. The kitchen opens into a very characterful living room with a wood burning stove (the first lot of wood is provided, but you can buy top-ups locally if you need to). Luckily the week we were there the weather was fantastic, we didn't need coats at all, only sunglasses, but we did use it for one cooler evening - to enjoy the cosy effect as much as anything. Leading from the back of the room is a small, open plan staircase to an upper room, which is a bit like a mezzarine floor - this is the bedroom with small en-suite leading off it. A lovely iron bedstead, it was really comfortable and cosy again to sleep in. There is a shower but no bath and although fine for us, it might not suit if you are larger in size or like to soak in the bath after long walks! We really appreciated the milk, bread and Welsh cakes left for our arrival. The owner (we only met her) was lovely, so genuine and a keen walker herself. The two young cats were delightful, as a cat owner and lover myself I appreciated their morning visits outside the front door and went out to make a fuss of them. They are not supposed to come inside or be fed, so I happily complied with this, also be careful when turning on the drive and keep the bathroom window on the latch - one has learnt how to get in if you don't! The walk across the fields to Betws-y-Coed takes about 20 mins if you're a keen walker, much safter than by the road, which I wouldn't even attempt. From Betws take the route from the back of the church around the lake (which you won't see from Betws town, its a hidden treasure) - there are two walks, a long and a shorter one. Also for a longer day out, take the car to Portmeirion or farther up the coast and walk some of the coast - absolutely stunning; shifting lights, moving sands across the estuary. As an art tutor, I took skechbook and had a go, but the changes are just too fast and moving - on lots of levels. The Royal Oak in Betws is well populated, but has dependable good value food. The Cotswolds shop is one of the best walking equipment shops in the country - the advice is second to none. I'm still using a pair of boots I bought there a few years ago and most comfortable ones ever had, due to being right for me. The Silver Fountain is a short walk - 5 mins in the other direction up the hill on the path, good value pub meals again and less crowded than the Royal Oak. We were lucky to be blessed with good weather, but loved The Studio and would definately stay again; also would love to try their b & b.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trishagoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliwen31, Owner at Pengwern Country House, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank for your helpful comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would be very welcome to stay in our B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Four of us travelled by road and ( and one by bike!) from Windsor and we both had very spacious and comfortable rooms with modern en suites - all decorated to an excellent standard and nearer a hotel environment rather than B and B. There was a large and comfortable sitting room for guests to use and I am sure in Winter this would be a popular room with the fireplace.
Gwawr ran everything like clockwork and breakfast was freshly cooked at the agreed time. The selection was excellent and between us we sampled all the choices and my favourite was the vegetarian breakfast with the Glamorgan sausages - infact this is the best vegetarian breakfast I have had!
Access was easy to the town to eat in the evening , a short drive of 5 minutes , and access to Snowdon about 20 minutes depending on your start point if you intend to walk up it ( which we did).
I highly recommend this excellent B and B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyE123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at Pengwern, which is not in the main part of Betws-y-Coed (which is busy with tourists) but within a few minutes, so a much nicer stay. Gwawr was so helpful -- accommodating a later arrival, giving great recommendations for places to see and eat. She has planted a lovely garden around the inn, where you can wander and sit and enjoy. My husband asked about one plant and Gwawr went the extra mile to find out it's name at the botanic center nearby and email us with the information. The bathtubs in each room were great for relaxing, but not as good for showers (there is a handheld shower head, but no curtain, so you need to be a bit careful not to spray the bathroom). Breakfast was huge and delicious, perfect for a day of hiking!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our second stay at Pen Gwern and this time in the studio. A delightful base for exploring Snowdonia and the Welsh coast. Homely studio with lots of little touches that make it just like home. We had variable weather, from beautiful sunshine when climbing Snowdon to heavy rain, so it was good to return each day to a warm studio and cook dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Gwawr and Ian's B&B is beautiful--the home, the rooms, the land. The rooms had such lovely appointments and it is obvious that Gwawr takes tremendous pride and care in their home. The breakfasts were delicious. Gwawr is also a great tour guide, suggesting places that we would definitely want to see and she was right every time. I hope that you will choose Pengwern Country House if you are heading to Snowdonia or that you will choose it just as a lovely destination in Betws-y-Coed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afon Gwyn Country House
Afon Gwyn Country House
#10 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
#1 of 2 in Capel Garmon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Afon View Guest House
Afon View Guest House
#15 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pengwern Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pengwern Country House

Property: Pengwern Country House
Address: Pengwern Allt Dinas, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — Pengwern Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pengwern Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing