We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maes-y-Garth
Nearby Hotels
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse(Betws-y-Coed)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$256
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$140
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eagles Hotel(Llanrwst)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$100
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Meadowsweet Hotel(Llanrwst)(Great Value!)
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
US$143
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
596
17
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
596
17
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstracey stefanb bshort walkbreakfast roomsuspension bridgeoverlooking the valleywarm welcomeplaces to visitstunning viewsbiscuitsnorth waleslovely breakfastexcellent hostsdrying roomhigh standardpacked lunchthought of everything
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was my second stay with Tracey and I wasn't disappointed. Rooms 5 Star (all of them)
If you are after that little bit more this is the place to come, has the extras that you sometimes wish you had.

Views wonderful of the mountain.
Food fab
Company great
Location good for both car and walking

Thank you x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 479Valerie972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The accommodation is immaculate and very well located in the stunning Snowdonia National Park and if walking is not you thing the hosts are very informative about the many local attractions available to suit all ages and all abilities. This lovely B & B is situated a short walk from Betsy-y-Coed town with a wide range of restaurants. We received a very warm welcome from Tracey and later met Stefan who together with Tracey provided an excellent breakfast with a wide variety of cold and hot food, locally sourced and freshly cooked.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guest house to others and have already done so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at maes-y-garth numerous times its so clean, beautiful location, really friendly atmosphere Stefan & Tracey make you feel so welcome I class them as friends now.cant wait for my next visit your never disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flynn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our second stay at Maes-y-Garth and as previoulsy we received a warm welcome from Stefan and Tracey. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable with stunning views across the valley. Breakfast is first class with plenty of choice and keeps you going for the day. We would not hesitate to recomment this guest house and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapphireB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Technically this is a fine B&B, rooms are nice, location is good, view is nice. But unfortunately we did not like the experience at all. Reception was very hostile, instead of the expected welcome, we were "welcomed" with hostility, since we made an error in our booking. Since that very bad start we did not get a long. Every question was one to many. Requesting for some cinnamon with the porridge ended up in an explanation of how silly it is to have cinnamon in your porridge.

As said before the rooms are ok. Shower is terrible (no water pressure at all) , but the beds and towels are high class. The B&B has 5 rooms, which gives it more of a hotel-feel than an B&B-feel. We will not return to this place.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R, Owner at Maes-y-Garth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Margriet and Jerry
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and felt that we were hostile towards you. We may have looked shocked and surprised on your arrival (as we were worried that we had made a mistake with your booking) as you arrived a day earlier than booked and we can only assume you interrupted this look as hostile which was never our intention. On arrival we quickly reassured you that as luck had it we did have a one night gap in an alternative room so we would be able to accomodate you, we also advised that the next morning we would transfer your belongings over to the room you had booked so you would not need to waste your day waiting around.

Sorry but we do not understand your comment every question was too many as we try our best to be as helpful as possible to all our guests.

Unfortunately we were not able to accomodate your request for cinnamon with your porridge on the morning you had porridge as we did not have any, we do however always ask about dietary requirements before arrival and had we have known that cinnamon was required we would have got some in. We are unsure who you had your discussion with about how silly it was to have cinnamon with your porridge, we can only assume it was with other guests as we did have a couple of guests express shock at your banging on the kitchen door whilst we were cooking to request cinnamon.

We appreciate that you main disappointment may have been on departure when you felt you should receive a room rate discount. Back in April when you booked you booked one room and then same day asked to upgraded your room and whilst your booking was confirmed accordingly you felt the upgrade should have been free as you were on honeymoon.

Again sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us however hopefully you enjoyed your time in Wales.

Kind regards
Tracey and Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews