We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of Maes-y-Garth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maes-y-Garth
Ranked #5 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

First ever stay in betws y coed to climb snowdonia,wasn't disappointed at all with this B & B,excellent hospitality,excellent rooms,excellent food..very,very clean throughout and nothing was too much trouble..very quiet and had an excellent nights sleep in the very comfy bed..just what we needed after a long walk...I would recommend to anybody..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindateresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Maes-Y-Garth for 2 nights last week (18 & 19 June). I don't often book B&Bs as I prefer a hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised by this one. The place was spotless, Tracey was so welcoming on our arrival and supplied us with all the information we required. Unfortunately all the front rooms with balconies were taken so we had a room at the back, turned out this was nice and cool room again had everything you needed including lots of special touches you don't expect. They have had a communal fridge in the breakfast room which was great for storing our milk. The walk down to the village in Betws-Y-Coed is delightful and the setting was so welcoming, you have to walk through the charming railway station. Both places we ate were great and I found the prices to be excellent. Our breakfast was one of the best I have experienced, just the right amount of food and good presentation. Tracey and Stefan were very accommodating we would certainly go back there when we visit Wales again.

Thanks to you both you do an excellent job.

Morag (Scotland)

Room Tip: The B&B only has 5 rooms so you would need to book early if you would like a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Maes-y-Garth. We were sad to leave so soon and plan to return later in the year with some family.
We were made to feel so welcome right from the start. Tracey and Stefan were very knowledgable about the local area and were able to provide leaflets and maps to nearby attractions.
The accommodation is absolutely spotless and very comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfast very much, taking advantage of the full English breakfast on offer! We also had the choice of many alternatives such as cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc. They offer a packed lunch at a small charge of £5, which we decided to order one day. It came in a cool bag with an ice pack and was very enjoyable.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, even down to providing a torch and umbrellas for the short walk into Betws-y-Coed. Not that we needed these as the weather was good, but such a nice touch. After deciding to go for a long walk, we found we had forgotten our ruck-sack so decided to buy another. After telling Tracey this, she magically provided us with one to use, so saved the day!
Wi-Fi was an added plus, we were impressed with the speed.
We did not realise there would be so much to do in the area, so need to return to see all there is on offer.
Many thanks for looking after us so well,
Rob and Theresa

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchy_feet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were delighted with the accommodation at Maes-y-Garth for our weekend break. We were made very welcome and our hosts were marvellous! The rooms are all very tastefully decorated with a modern contemporary feel and the location offers great views. Scores very high all-round!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessaneyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a very warm welcome on arrival, and Tracey proved to have a wealth of knowledge about the area and its attractions, and was only too pleased to recommend places to visit and local restaurants for evening meals. The accommodation is superb, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the breakfasts were first class.Thoughtful touches such as the provision of torches to light our way back after an evening out were most welcome. Maes-y-Garth has beautiful views of the surrounding countryside,

Tracey and Stefan provided a perfect stay in every way, and our only regret was that it wasn't for longer than the 3 nights we had booked.We are planning to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cirentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay with Tracey and Stefan at Maes y Garth. We were greeted with warmth and taken to the ground floor room we had asked for. It is a lovely room, plenty of space. fabulous view through French windows to a little terrace where we could sit to catch the sun. The huge bed was I think the most comfortable one I have ever slept in. I have back problems and sometimes can hardly stand up after sleeping in hotel beds but no such problems here. Everything is spotlessly clean. even the 'Hotel Inspector' wouldn't find a spec of dust here!! There are too many thoughtful touches to mention them all, e g a torch on the bedroom door, torches and umbrellas by the front door,and a well stocked hospitality tray. Breakfast was very well cooked and nicely presented. The surroundings are beautiful and there are lots of interesting things to do in the area. Both Tracey and Stefan are very friendly and kind hosts who did everything in their power to help us to have a perfect stay and went the extra mile to ensure my disabilities were well catered for. We would recommend this lovely house to anyone, no faults at all. Can't wait to go back !

Room Tip: We stay in room 5 which is a ground floor room but I am sure the other rooms will be of equally high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We received such a warm welcome when we arrived at Maes y Garth for our 5 nights family get-together and that was just the start of a very special holiday accommodation experience. All our rooms were simply perfect, spotlessly clean, white fluffy towels, toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, torches for walking home from Betws y Coed on dark evenings as well as umbrellas for those occasional times when weather was not so kind In fact nothing was left to chance. Breakfasts were tasty and beautifully presented with plenty of options available. Maes y Garth provides wonderful views but it is also very close to the village by following an easy and scenic path and then over a pretty bridge. Tracey and Stefan were so helpful in enabling us to arrange our sightseeing days in the most interesting way possible and Betws y Coed proved to be the ideal village from which to begin our tours. Many thanks Tracey and Stefan for helping to make our holiday so special. We have all taken home lovely memories. Brilliant Maes y Garth and its hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pulsnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,050 reviews
1 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-y-Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-y-Garth

Address: Llanrwst Rd, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £78 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maes-y-Garth 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Maes-y-Garth 5* guest house, a beautiful alpine style house set on the lower slopes of Mount Garmon. Stunning views of Gwydyr forest and Betws-y-Coed. Come and relax and let us take care of you. Make our home your home and be treated like part of the family. Walkers, climbers, bikers or just sight seeing you all welcome here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Maes-y-Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-y-Garth Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing