We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gwynant Guest House
Ranked #44 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed one night in July. We had a double room with ensuite bathroom overlooking the garden, tea and coffee making facilities, television, towels, huge breakfast, safe parking, few minutes walk from town..............all for £45 a night! Excellent value.

Room Tip: We had room 5 so maybe we struck lucky. Certainly adequate for short break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

My parents and I stayed for 2 nights. Our room was on the top floor (2 storey) Which wasn't ideal with our luggage but this didn't really bother us as we had already stayed in a few BnBs where our rooms were on the 3rd or 4th floor!

The car park is off road and surveillanced to ensure your car is safe. Although it's still a good idea to remove or hide any valuables just in case.

We were greeted by a male host. He was very helpful in showing us our room and asking us what we would like for breakfast. We instantly felt very welcome.

The room was pretty small. Not quite enough room for 3 adults and their luggage. They managed to fit a double and single bed into a room suitable for just a double. Our en suite bathroom was more like a closet - very claustrophobic but it was very clean and the shower was powerful.

Good location - very close to the shops, restaurants and cafes. Beautifully decorated on the outside. Tidy garden and heaps of interesting ornaments.

Very good breakfast! Fast an efficient and very good service. A great choice of cereal, toast, T/C and herbal teas and of course a full cooked breakfast. The dining room is well decorated and spacious.

He gave a few helpful suggestions on what to see/where to eat.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room downstairs ( I think there's only one though ) If you have trouble with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fugpop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked the twin room which was small but perfect for a budget b and b . there was plenty of tea and coffee facilities in the room and it was very clean :) the breakfast however was really really good :)) big portions and as much coffee and tea as you liked . the owner was really friendly and always made a point of having a chat ..i shall be returning again and again . a perfect spot for bikers and walkers alike :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krissydabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in July. We booked very last minute (20 minutes before arrival) so it was a case of where there was availability.
The location was fantastic, just 2 minutes walk from the town and with off street parking.
The price was good for Betws too, cheaper than the majority of places near the town.
The room was very small and dirty and full of cobwebs though. It was en-suite, though this was just a shower and toilet crammed in a tiny space. The door to the room hardly even closed, would have only taken a slight push to open it when locked.
Breakfast was good and both people we met there (both older so I assume the owners) were friendly and helpful.
Probably wouldn't stay there again myself, but this place is ok for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Crisp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Me and my wife booked three nights at this B and B from there web site. It looked fantastic but when we arrived we realised the pictures were very misleading. Steep stairs led to our twin room which was so small you could not swing a cat in it. We were not even asked if the room was OK only what breakfast we wanted and with that the young girl left. WHAT A WAY TO GREET GUESTS. The room was not very clean and what we saw of the place (we were not even shown the Breakfast Room or the Lounge)
The whole place was very run down. Needless to say we did't stop and found another place which was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Velovelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I stayed for 1 night with my mother, but we had booked 2. The B & B is in a great location for the village, just 5 minutes walk to lots of shops & cafes/restaurants. It also has off-street parking. Our room was tiny & we barely had room to move around our beds, the ensuite was also too small to move in comfort. The room also wasn't very clean, with dust & cobwebs all over. This didn't bother us too much & we could have put up with it for a few nights, but as it turned out, we were ready to move on anyway. The breakfast was good & they were able to cater for my vegan diet. Overall it felt a bit old & tired; I would recommend Gwynant for couples on a strict budget, for those in twin accommodation or if you have a few extra dollars to spare I would upgrade as the rooms are just a bit too small for anything more than 1 night.

Stayed: September 2009
Thank meveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

If you are looking for good value for money, then this is the B & B for you. Very warm welcome that continued throughout our 3 night stay. The breakfast was fantastic and kept us going all day!! The rooms and en-suites are small, but they are clean. Whilst we were in the area, we checked out prices of other B & Bs and nothing came close. If you want top star ratings, then be prepared to go elsewhere and pay the price!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Youngns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garth Dderwen Guest House
Garth Dderwen Guest House
#23 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary's Court Guest House
Mary's Court Guest House
#20 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courthouse (Henllys)
The Courthouse (Henllys)
#19 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynant Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynant Guest House

Address: Gwynant Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £22 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gwynant Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing