We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch Pricing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gwynant Guest House
Ranked #44 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
California
2 reviews
“Bait and Switch Pricing”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We booked our travel with the owner by phone (from the US) and described our needs: a family room for my husband and me, and our two daughters, aged 18 and 20. We were quoted a good price, lower than other B&Bs. When we arrived, the owner was a little flustered, but it didn't stand out at the time. At check out however, we were charged an extra 20 pounds per night. The previously genial owner said that we had been dishonest in leading him to believe we had small children. We did no such thing, and moreover, he didn't bring up the price change until he had our credit card in hand, and at that point was unrelenting. It was a very disappointing end to an otherwise nice trip to Betws-y-Coed. The accommodations were small but quite acceptable; the breakfast lovely, but the business practice was appalling.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxnardKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

this bed and breakfast has got to be the nicest one we have stayed in we have stayed in it again,,, the breakfast has been brilliant. can i say 2 rashers of bacon, egg. fried bread.beans,tomato,hash brown,saus,mushrooms,if you want,black pudding,, also you can have cereal before you start, and as much toast as you want cos it is offered really good value for you money a right start to the day, and the people owning it are really nice poeple, thanks for a nice stay we will be back again soon

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jueLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I don't believe that last review was very fair. It sounds like they were expecting a 4 star experience for a 1 star price. Gwynant was by far the least expensive place we found in Betws. If you want luxury pay 2 or 3 times as much and find somewhere else. However, if you want a comfortable, welcoming, and pleasant place to stay for a very reasonable price this is the place for you. We had two rooms at Gwynant this Summer, each with their own bathroom. The bathrooms were small as they had been carved out of the bedrooms but they were clean. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The breakfast was large and delicious. Overall we were very happy with our stay here in this beautiful area of Wales and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of proprietor
  • Disliked — Size of bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We booked this B&B last minute but used the comments from Tripadvisor as a guide. After coming back and reading the previous reviews again we are wondering if there are two different Gwynant guest houses in Betws-y-Coed. Our experience was quite different from the other reviewers'. We were met by a lacklustre teenager who seemed to be in charge of the place during the day. He seemed to be looking after his siblings at the same time. The room was very dated and in real need of a face lift. There was a lot of dust in the whole B&B and it was in real need of a proper 'spring' clean. The bathroom was not cleaned properly and we found rubbish from previous guests in the bathroom bin. Our two night stay was reduced to one as we did not get a very nice feeling from this place. The only positive aspect of the stay was the hospitality of the owner when he cooked and served us breakfast the next morning. The location of this place is great but we just got the feeling that the owners have let this place go. It is a real shame as with a bit of cleaning, updating and some love and attention this could be a lovely place. Would not recommend this place in it's current state.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — All the dust!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool (UK)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2008

This is an excellent family run B&B, its a very beautiful property within 5 minutes of the train station. Our room was very clean and well decorated with a nice compact en-suite full of toiletries. The owners are very helpful and will go out their way to help you, and to top it off a wonderful full breakfast in the morning. Would stay again, excellent experience...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Bar
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry123b99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We were the first guests to stay at the Gwynant Guest House in the newly completed front bedroom with ensuite. This bedroom was beautifully decorated with everything we needed for a comfortable night. The ensuite was compact but stocked with nice toiletries.

The couple who run the guesthouse arere very friendly and we had a well cooked breakfast in a nice breakfast room overlooking the garden. We had parking in the driveway.

There is a hill behind Gwynant and there are sheep grazing in the surrounding paddocks. It is very picturesque.

We walked to the village where the main hotels and restaurants are and I had a traditional roast lamb dinner which was delicious.

We would definately stay at Gwynant again. Betws-y-coed is so lovely, I would recommend that everyone who visits Wales stay at least one night in this lovely little village.

  • Liked — Nice room and ensuite in a beautiful guesthouse in a picture perfect location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waterman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Courthouse (Henllys)
The Courthouse (Henllys)
#18 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dolgethin Guest House
Dolgethin Guest House
#41 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Afon View Guest House
Afon View Guest House
#17 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynant Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynant Guest House

Property: Gwynant Guest House
Address: Gwynant Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gwynant Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing