We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Bed & Breakfast in spectacular Snowdonia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #8 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class Bed & Breakfast in spectacular Snowdonia”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I booked a 2 night mid-week stay at very short notice 'on spec' - which turned out to be my most enjoyable short-break ever in Britain. My room was excellent, with almost new en-suite facilities and lots of relevant and really useful local information The cooked Welsh breakfast on both mornings was quite simply exceptional and, frankly, far superior to what is offered in many city centre 4- Star Hotel chains my company books me into for business trips. The Fern's hosts, Mark & Sara, are a lovely couple - genuinely welcoming and friendly with all their guests, and well experienced in local knowledge concerning attractions and where to eat in the evening. They even inform guests in advance of arrival (via Twitter and email) of local weather conditions which may affect their journey and climbing conditions for Snowdon - which was particularly useful last week when much of Snowdonia resembled Antarctica! I heartily recommend The Ferns in Betws-y-Coed, with its genuine customer service ethos, and will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Many thanks for your kind review David. Glad you had a great time with us here in North Wales. It was a surprise to see the breakfast photo! :) Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
102
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our recent 2 night stay at The Ferns is without doubt one of my best ever Bed and Breakfast experiences, if not the best. Even when making the phone booking Sarah was both friendly and helpful, and on arrival she extended such a warm welcome that we immediately felt very much at home there. We were given the option of two different rooms, eventually opting for our original choice (Room 3), a well sized, nicely appointed and spotlessly clean double room at the front of the house, affording delightful views across Holyhead Road to the wooded hillside beyond. Guests also have use of a cozy and inviting lounge, great for relaxing and warming up after a day outdoors. Breakfast was of very high quality. The Ferns' location in Betws-y-Coed is excellent, a short walk from its various shops, pubs and eateries, and close to the railway station and bus stops for those arriving by public transport. Ample off-road parking was available, certainly for the days we stayed. Overall I cannot think of a single critical point to make about The Ferns. Its sign at the front shows 4 stars, but as far as I'm concerned this is a genuinely 5 star bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review guys. It was lovely having you both to stay with us and glad that you had a good time here in Betws-y-Coed. Also pleased that you managed to enjoy some of the cycling that this part of the world can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at this sweet little cottage in January for our anniversary with our baby. We thought it was really fantastic value. Fresh flowers and a welcome hamper were laid out for us and the baby's travel cot and high chair were already set out when we arrived.

The cottage is set back from the main road and has a little garden, which would be lovely in the summer. The woods surround the property at the back, which is very picturesque.

I also noticed from the visitors' guest book that the owner has implemented suggestions that had been made - such as "could do with some oven gloves" etc. It's a little thing but it obviously shows that she is consious of ensuring that everything (including washing powder!) is well stocked.

Room Tip: The bed is like sleeping on a cloud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Ferns. Mark and Sarah are excellent hosts. The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfast was of top quality.. The Ferns is located within easy walking distance of all parts of the village. Betws-y-Coed is itself in a central position relative to most of the things you would want to visit in North Wales and so the Ferns is a very good choice either as a base for visiting the area or as a touring stopover

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed for two nights with my seven year old son and another family. Sarah and Mark are very warm and accomodating. Nothing was too much trouble and they were great with the kids. The food was of a high standard and the room very comfortable. We were using The Ferns as a base for walking in Snowdonia, and they were more than happy to provide drying facilities for our wet walking gear. I would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and loved the place. Sarah and Mark were amazing hosts and guides, not to forget the amazing porridge Mark made for us on demand every single morning. Fell in love with the Welsh countryside, even though we city people were completely unprepared. Will definitely be back at Betws-y-coed and will be staying at The Ferns.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at The Fern Guest House for 4 days while completing the Welsh 3000. Sarah and Mark were lovely. They were always available to see to our needs, were very friendly and thoughtful. The other guests that we met all had the same thoughts about their stays. I would stay here again without hesitation and would recommend The Fern Guesthouse to family or friends or anyone who wanted to stay in this area of Wales.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#7 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Property: The Ferns Guest House
Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing