We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #9 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at The Ferns Guest House in Betws-y-Coed. The service was exceptional, food was delicious and fresh, rooms were clean spacious and cute, bathrooms were fitted to a modern standard and the location was perfect. They were very sweet and let us play some board games in the living room and even left us wine glasses and an opener to use. We would highly recommend the Ferns Guest House to anyone looking to stay at a reasonable and PERFECT welsh B&B,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autumnfaerey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Hello autumnfaerey. Thank you very much for your kind review of us. We're so pleased that you had a good time here in North Wales and enjoyed our facilities. We hope you can make it back up here sometime. Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Definitely to be recommended .The whole experience was faultless.Mark and Sarah were friendly and attentive.Great accomodation .Great location .Great breakfast.A lounge to relax was also a big bonus .It was the attention to detail that made the couple of days so special .We look forward to our return visit . Thank you so much

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esp164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to review us, and for being so kind. It was great having you all to stay with us and we look forward to you coming back to do that last mountain. All the best, Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We recently stayed at the B & B, we arrived earlier than what we should of and Sarah let us put our baggage in the room. We had a gorgeous breakfast made to order, fresh flowers in vases on the tables each morning. Sarah made us feel welcome she went out of her way to chat to us advised us on which bus route to take to Snowdon. The room we had was situated at the front of the house which overlooked a beautiful national forest. Highly recommend The Ferns, and is also ideally situated. Defineatly stay again when we next go to North Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav01959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your nice review and for staying with us here at The Ferns. We were pleased that you found everything to your liking and that you had a nice time here in Snowdonia, especially as the weather this summer has been fantastic, making trips up Snowdon a bit easier.
All the best
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently started to have more holidays in the UK and we found B&Bs to be old fashioned and smelly - until we stayed at The Ferns!

It was like staying at a Boutique Hotel, but without the price tag. Attention to detail and decor was immaculate, not to mention service and the quality and standard of Breakfast. Its not very often you get Vegetarian sausages on the menu.

I will certainly return and already recommending The Ferns to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mah786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Many thanks for your very kind review of us. We're glad you liked what we do and that you enjoyed our part of the world. We hope you continue to find nice B&Bs on your travels and that you come back to visit us again someday.

Kind regards
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent last weekend at The Ferns and it certainly lives up to all of the great reviews. It is situated in a great location being on the main street of Betws-y-Coed and the accommodation itself is of a high standard in terms of cleanliness and decor.
To top it all off, Mark and Sarah's warmth, friendliness and attention to detail will ensure you will have a fantastic and memorable stay at The Ferns. If they were featured on Channel 4s' Four in a bed program, they would win hands down!
Phil and Sue, Warrington.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello Phil & Sue. Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. It was lovely to meet you both and we were pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Snowdonia and your stay with us. I'm not sure about the "4 in a bed" programme though.......we've no plans to be on telly just yet! :) Thanks again, Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

When visiting North Wales, this is the place to stay. Betws-y-Coed is a village near the foothills of Snowdownia National Park. Here you have access to the park and important sites such as the castles that are part of King Edward I's Ring of Iron.

My accommodations at The Ferns were wonderful: a bright room looking out over a garden and impeccably clean. Breakfast is cooked to order. Flowers grace the tables. While the accommodations are important, it is the owners who make the B and B and in this case, Sarah and Mark Jones helped make my trip to North Wales memorable.

It began the night I arrived--late and exhausted--after travel problems. Sarah, always positive and helpful, made me tea accompanied by fruit bread. This gave me time to settle which is important after a long trip. She seems to know what people need. I knew then that my visit would be a good one. It gets better.

Sarah and Mark treat you as as a person welcomed into their home and community,not just a visitor. As such, it matters to them that you enjoy your stay; that you experience their culture.Using public transit, I was unsure how to plan a visit to two of the castles. Sarah copied the bus schedule for me and Mark laid out the itinerary, printing me a map, marking the routes and explaining them to me. They provided brochures. They helped me plan another excursion this one to a castle and textile mill. And they are interested in your experiences in Betws-y-Coed asking questions about the visit and if the schedules helped. Of course they did.

While organizing my photos of North Wales I was thinking that if not for Sarah and Mark Jones, I might not have visited castles, the park, and the textile mill which inspired me take up knitting again.

In Betws-y-Coed you can hear the Men's Voice Choir every Sunday at St. Mary's Church down the street from The Ferns. Just before that you can grab the best Welsh Cakes in the country--warm--but as I said before, it is the people who make the B and B. My stay was wonderful; I loved my room, breakfast, and the flowers, but Sarah and Mark made my trip work for me.

Room Tip: My room facing the garden is bright and airy, and the flowers are nice to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystaldragon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello crystaldragon64.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review you gave us, it certainly was very generous of you. Mark and I are really pleased that you had a good time here in Snowdonia and got to travel around and see the things that you wanted to see. All the best Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Thank you to Mark & Sarah for making our short stay so good. The rooms we stayed in on the top floor were great. The extra details show how much you care about your business and making your guests stay here really comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast in the very smart dining room was delicious, thank you. We would highly recommend this lovely guest house to anyone staying in the area and although we did not have time for walking on our stay, the location makes this an excellent place for reaching Snowdon and yet having the luxury of saying somewhere where there is a good choice of pubs/restaurants to eat in the evening. Hopefully we will come back one day and have chance to get our walking boots on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review of us. It was lovely having you all to stay with us and we're glad that you found your stay to be comfortable and pleasant as it certainly was a scorchingly hot weekend when you were here. We hope to see you again sometime if you're this away....with your walking boots next time. Kind regards Sarah & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#7 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing