We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #8 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Have just returned from a 2 day stay at The Ferns, it was so nice to be greeted with a smile and the offer of a cup of tea and some lovely welsh cakes, a nice touch, Sarah and Mark are lovely hosts, nothing is too much trouble, my room was perfect, the bed was very comfortable, the breakfast was very well presented, choices of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and the cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection, the quality of the produce was top notch, even the tea was good, nothing beats PG tips, :). Will certainly be recommending The Ferns to my friends and am sure I will return, thanks Sarah and Mark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here and thanks again for choosing to stay with us for your Snowdonia break. We're please that you found things to your liking and that the PG tips was appreciated :)

Al the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
101
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We arrived at the Ferns to be greeted by the lovely Sarah who immediately made us feel very welcome. Our room was tastefully decorated, warm and cosy, and a very comfortable bed. The food was lovely and served up hot which is always a bonus. We were in the ideal situation in Betws-y Coed to explore Snowdonia National Park.
Would highly recommend The Ferns to all

Room Tip: All rooms on the website are shown which enables you to have a preview and choose accordingly to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello L & C

Thank you for your nice review. It was great to have you stay with us and so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again sometime.

All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Ferns. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend. The location is very convenient but just far enough away from the center of town so that it was quiet. The room was fine, the hosts are great, as was the breakfast. We were sad when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you K & D for staying with us on your UK tour. Also for your kind review of us. It was lovely to meet you both and it was sad for us too when you had to leave. Hope you had a great onwards trip around the UK. All the best, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I've stayed here once before when climbing Snowdon and I was so impressed I didn't hesitate to book there again when arranging a weekend with my wife. I'm pleased to say I was just as impressed second time around.
The owner's are lovely and very accommodating.
The rooms are great, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was very nice and they even made us up a takeaway breakfast when we were leaving early in the morning.
Perfect stay and looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdtetlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us again. Have fun and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next Snowdonia adventure sometime. Kind regards Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

the best we will come back all of us loved it here , so helpful so kid what more can i say thanks for a great time, the beds were great the food was great , my kids loved it , it is a great guest house for family,s too

Room Tip: all the rooms are good we had 4 rooms for our family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 373vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Vanessa. Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. It was lovely having you, your family and friends stay with us and we hope you can come and visit us again someday. All the best Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for one night in room no.7 which was spotlessly clean , two very comfy double beds and bedding . On our arrival we were met by Sarah , who was very welcoming and attentive . She offered to dry off all of our wet coats etc which was a nice touch i thought ! Breakfast was wonderful , there were Cereals , yoghurts , fruit and of course cooked breakfast with a selection of toast . The location is also great as there are many shops , and places to eat . We are just sorry we couldn't stay longer !
We would definately recommend this place to anyone visiting Betws-y-Coed

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words V T. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location in the village convenient for relaxing and shopping after your trek up Snowdon. We hope you can visit us again sometime. Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable four night bed and breakfast stay at The Ferns Guest House.
Our room ( No. 2) was equipped to a high standard and the level of cleanliness couldn't have been higher. The delicious breakfasts were well presented accompanied by pleasant background music which is a much more relaxing start to the day than the radio or TV.
We were made to feel very welcome and Sarah showed a genuine interest in our daily activities.
If ever we have the need for accommodation again in Betws-y-Coed, we hope The Ferns will have a vacancy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello J & C. Many thanks for your kind review of us. We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope we have that vacancy for you next time. All the best, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Property: The Ferns Guest House
Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing