We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think I've stayed in a better B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Ranked #8 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Visited for hill walking as one of a party of six friends. The accomodation and welcome provided by Sarah and Mark played a significant part in making the trip a success. So much so that our sixth friend, who had foolishly booked in elsewhere, joined us for the second night.
I had the small double on the first floor. Despite the description I didn't think that it was particularly small - perfectly adequate for my needs.
Everything was very clean and well maintained. Nothing was too much trouble.
I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hello Pete,

Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us....it was really nice having you all to stay with us and we're glad that the weather stayed good for your Snowdon walk on the Saturday. It's always nice to hear that our guests have had a good time :)

All the best
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for The Ferns Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

from the moment we arrived for our three night stay we found Sarah & Mark very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble,the accommodation certainly deserved 4 star acclaim,it was spotlessly clean and the food was spot on with a huge choice and cooked to perfection,the bedroom was perfect for us with plenty of teabags and milk(we like a cuppa) we would certainly stay again it would be like visiting a friend,thanks a lot for a great stay and thanks again for the Easter egg it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyr722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hello Judy and Co.

Many thanks for your lovely review. We really appreciate it. It was great having you all stay with us over Easter, and that the weather was pretty good too!... especially for hill-walking. We hope that you have a fantastic summer and maybe we'll see you this-a-way again sometime?

All the best
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I travel up to North Wales every Spring to do some hill-walking with a friend and over the years we have tried various B&B's in Betws Y Coed, and, to be honest, we have never had a bad experience in any of them, however, having now stayed at The Ferns on three occasions we have decided that it is the best B&B (out of the ones that we have tried) in Betws y Coed and we need no longer look anywhere else for accommodation whilst we are up this way.

Here's why:-

Sarah & Mark are the friendliest hosts we have come across
The rooms are warm, comfortable, light and airy.
Beds are very comfortable and a wonderful nights sleep is guaranteed.
Showers are hot and steaming
Breakfast is delicious whether you choose traditional full English/Welsh or the yoghurts and fruit.
Sarah & Mark's attention to detail is amazing, little touches here and there make for a lovely stay. We stayed during Easter this year and two little Easter eggs appeared in our room - and they were Thornton's!
The Ferns is spotlessly clean and I noticed that they have a '5' in the food hygiene rating score which is the top mark applied by the local authority and I am not surprised at that.
I could go on!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalterNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hello N & K,

Wow what a lovely review, thank you. We are glad that you have ‘settled’ on The Ferns and that your search is now over. We shall do our best to keep up the good work, who knows it could be rabbits in the rooms next Easter…… We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and that you had a good time in the mountains. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best regards
Sarah & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Ferns for three nights and absolutely loved it. It is very well located and the room we were in was spacious, clean, comfortable and well kept. Breakfast was delicious! Mark and Sarah were lovely, warm and helpful hosts. Their recommendations on things to do, routes to walk along, best ways to get to Snowdon, places to eat, etc. were excellent and we had a wonderful time. I can definitely see myself going back to Betws-y-Coed and cannot imagine myself staying anywhere other than with them!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garima N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hello Garima

Thank you for taking time to write us such a nice review. We were pleased that some of our tips and recommendations were helpful to you during your stay. You both certainly managed to make good use of the public transport network here to get about. We hope that you will be able to come back to Betws-y-Coed, perhaps during the summer months when there are more buses and train options available to you.

Kind regards
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Immaculately clean, the best breakfasts, whether for the healthy fresh fruit, or full monty traditional bacon and egg, - but still light and using local produce - this place cannot be bettered. Mark and Sarah are the perfect hosts, always helpful and friendly, and with excellent local knowledge about walking, climbing, or where to buy lovely Welsh cakes or try good local restaurants.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. We like the top floor because you can see over the rooftops, although after a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello Maria,

Wow.... Thank you for your very kind review of us. It was lovely to see you both again and we were pleased that the weather was kind for your weekend. It was a shame that J & M couldn't make it this time..give them our best regards and tell J that Crib Coch might be a go-er when her foot is better :)

All the best
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Ferns and enjoyed it immensely. We were upgraded to a larger room, which was warm, comfortable and appeared newly decorated. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for a good days walking in Snowdon. Sarah & Mark were very helpful suggesting some routes for our climb. We would certainly stay here again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamDRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello iamDRH,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you were happy with the room upgrade. We hope we'll see you both back this way sometime.

All the best
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A found The Ferns quite by chance and I am so glad I chose to ask if they had a vacancy. It was a really warm and welcoming B and B, and Sarah and Mark were the perfect hosts. They seem to have thought of every little touch that makes a stay special and guests feel valued, from a welcome cup of tea to filling a flask for a days hiking in Snowdonia. My room was very comfortable and the breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere, including posh hotels that charge far more. I would recommend this B and B to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferns_Guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hello Peter

Thank you for choosing to call with us and stay at The Ferns and for your very kind review. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and glad that you had a good time here in Snowdonia. We hope to see you again sometime - and bring some of that nice weather with you please :)

All the best
Sarah & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
749 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ferns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing