We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bangor Wales(Bangor)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dol Peris(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View(Llanberis)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
61
50
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
50
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyouth hostelself catering kitchendrying roombunk bedsbooks and gamescommon roomwalking routescooked breakfastfree wifibreakfast and dinnerideal basegreat location for walkingpleasant stayclean roomseasy accessexcellent stayminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay over the new year with five other families for a collective celebration. The hostel was clean, warm with plentiful hot water. All the facilities were perfect for our needs with the added bonus of the basement room which was perfect for our New Year party.
Within a short walk from Snowden, a great New Year's Eve walk was endeavoured and the summit reached (by some). The stragglers walked back to the hostel and lounged around the comfy sitting room, watched TV and ate Christmas goodies. The drying room was excellent. A perfect escape for families that had chosen to spend time together over the festive period.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccyDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanberis_Manager, Manager at YHA Snowdon Llanberis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to YHA Llanberis for another gathering/celebration in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hostel is beautifully located off the main road of Llanberis, but within short walking distance from it, near some farms, up the hill. There are beautiful mountain views from the hostel. When I went there in August 2013, I only paid £16 for my bunk bed in a female dormitory with 6 beds. The dormitory was crammed with beds up to the ceiling (with very little space in between), people and backpacks, but didn't mind that. There are two things which I didn't like about the room: no lockers and only one power socket. I wish they could have provided us with lockers to lock the personal valuables away. I had no option but to trust the strangers I was sharing the room with. It was very inconvenient that the dormitory had only one power socket so all of us had to queue in order to charge mobile phones, laptops, or batteries for cameras. It was like a silent, polite fight over it, as one would leave the mobile phone to charge while going for a shower and just to find it unplugged upon return, replaced by somebody else's ipod.The hostel was crowded that time of the year and expected it to be noisy at night, but it wasn't and slept very well. The dormitory and shared bathrooms were clean and tidy with fresh clean towels provided. The staff were very helpful and gave useful information about routes, walks, local public transport and displayed updated information about the weather, so you knew what to expect for the day.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanberis_Manager, Manager at YHA Snowdon Llanberis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks for your review. We do have lockers on the ground floor for items of value. I am sorry that you were not directed to them during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

What a cracking little hostel! Perched on the hillside above the town up a narrow farm track and with great mountain views this place is a great place to lay your head after a hard day in the hills. Over Winter it doesn't open til 5pm but once it does you get professional, friendly and helpful staff, warm and comfortable beds, clean facilities and a breakfast room with mountain views. Meals are available and the self catering kitchen is small but has everything you need. The Christmas tree in the lounge was a nice touch and the drying room must be one of the best in Snowdonia (and it really was needed!). Llanberis itself doesn't have much character but this place is a a good enough reason to visit again!

Room Tip: Fantastic mountain views from rooms at the front of the hostel!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Only open from 5, but if you arrive early you can leave your car in the car park and walk off directly into the mountains from there. We booked a room for just two, but had two bunk beds (its a youth hostel, so that was to be expected!). Good facilities, clean, but obviously you need to share them with other occupants. Kitchen facilities were very good, so we were able to prepare our own meals. If you forgot to bring something, you can ask the guy's working there and they will help where they can.
This is one of the better YH stay's we had. Well done!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Visited with a 2 year old and 72 year old in a private room for 2 nights in November. Not the most characterfull hostel, more functional but with recent renovation to rooms, which were comfortable and warm. Noisy neighbours till 12-1am and later for those staying over dining area on weekend. Self-catered, in well-equipped kitchen, big enough when hostel 1/2 full. En-suite shower and toilet excellent and much appreciated by our party!Spacious efficient drying room. Outskirts of Llanberis up hill, where can take path to join Llanberis path at Hebron Station or lower path to YHA Snowdon Ranger.

Room Tip: Avoid over dining area if you are early to bed
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews