We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Mountain independence - CWI training

Great course, very knowledgeable and friendly instructor. Meeting place and walls very easy to... read more

Reviewed 27 November 2023
stephenwU3318GJ
Awesome!

Stu is a fantastic teacher, very down to earth and explains things in a really easy to understand... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2023
Pete S
Read all 64 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
63
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
63
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock climbing training course instructor training lead climb an excellent teacher relaxed environment wealth of knowledge stu lade trad rci leader assessment skills development learning climbers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2020

Stu was my guide on an ice climbing trip in Rjukan, Norway. He taught me so much not only about ice climbing but avalanche safety, and local history. He was a pleasure to be around and did an amazing job of giving our group more then our moneys worth!

Outside of the educational aspect of the trip, Stu is a great guy and we all had a blast hanging out in the hostel or going out to eat and just chilling after long days on the ice.

I would recommend learning and hanging out with Stu to anyone that asks and I plan on heading back to Norway or the UK as much as I can to learn and chill with the bad*** that he is!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank nicolos719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2020

Stu delivered a fun and comprehensive trad course for us over a not-quite-blue-skies Welsh weekend. Highly recommended, knowledgeable and friendly!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank OEYKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2020 via mobile

Stu was our instructor on an advanced ice climbing course in Rjukan, Norway earlier this year. He coached me through my first WI lead, which was awesome. Stu is extremely knowledgable, safe and friendly. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank michaelgQ4713YE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2020 via mobile

Excellent instruction on basic winter skills, friendly and professional manner with practical lessons which benefited immensely. Looking forward to returning for further Winter skills training.

Stephen,
Ireland

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank stephenmQ980UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stu_Lade, Manager at Mountain Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2020

Thanks Stephen, hopefully, there'll be some more good Irish Winters to be had as well for you to put the skills to use at home too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2020

I met Stu on a beginners ice climbing course in Rjukan, Norway. Not only was it my first visit to Norway it was also my first attempt at water ice climbing. With a full two day itinery we covered every aspect of how very different climbing on ice was in comparison to the limited amount of winter mountaineering I had experienced. Stu has a fantastic calm and unflappable manner, with clear friendly direction, a great sense of humour and always happy to share the little tips that made the whole experience truly remarkable. Covering grades up to WI5 I amazed myself as to what I could achieve in such a relatively short time.

Stu's advice didn't end in Norway, before I had even flown home I was already planning a winter climbing trip to Glen Coe, as I had left it rather late to find a guide Stu put me in touch with dozens of guides until I found one who was free on the dates I had free. Even though he was not directly involved in that trip he still stayed in touch to see how I got on and if I had enjoyed myself.

For someone to be so generous with their time is such a rare thing these days, and i cannot wait until the Winter season is upon us once more and without hesitation I will call upon Stu to drag me up some new and testing routes.

A true gent, and an excellent guide.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank midlifeclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stu_Lade, Manager at Mountain Independence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2020

Thanks, look forward to dragging you about ; ) It sounds like you had a good introduction to Scottish Winter suffering, very different challenges to Norway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews