We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views!”

Snowdon Mountain Railway
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1896 Snowdon Mountain Railway has been welcoming guests to the little village at the foot of Snowdon, Llanberis in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park, to experience the awe inspiring journey by rack railway to the summit of Snowdon the highest mountain in Wales and England.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The train journey itself is not very comfortable. Seats are hard and carriage can be quite crowded. Particularly considering the journey is an hour each way. And it is quite expensive - given you only get 30 minutes at the summit and if you miss the return train, you have to walk back!
However the views are amazing and it makes it all worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    579
    295
    151
    168
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Steam trains rule!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A choice of diesel or steam....steam won! My mum, dad and I took the train up and back to the summit of Snowden on a gorgeous sunny day in July. It was great fun and the views were breathtaking. Snowdonia National Park has been rechristened by my family as the green Grand Canyon! Please be warned though if you are scared of heights...there are parts of the journey on the train where you can see down very sheer drops and this could spoil your experience. I didn't personally feel at all unsafe but my mum, who doesn't like heights got quite scared. Well worth the price! Just don't spend much time in the visitor centre at the summit. In comparison to the amenities at the start if the journey, the summit cafe and toilets are dire. Save your money and have a slice of cake in Llanberis when you get back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kittycanard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slow....”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We turned up adhoc and was going to take a trip up Snowdon, alas there were no seats left on the train and we would have had a two hour wait for the next. We decided to book for the next day. We went up on the diesel train (£8 cheaper than the steam )the journey is very slow, you are after all going up a mountain, the scenery is beautiful on the way up until we got nearer the top when the cloud came down and we couldn't see a thing. We had to laugh at the people on the train dressed in shorts t shirts , going out clothes. We have walked to the top in our younger days and knew that they were in for a shock. We reached the top, if you have a return ticket you are only given 1/2 hour to look around which on a nice day I would say this is not really long enough. However on this day it was cold , windy and you couldn't see a thing. The people in t shirts had a shock , funny. Despite having a return ticket we decided to walk down which a fantastic experience in the cold cloudy weather meeting all the poor people walking up. It took just over 2hrs to walk down. Expensive trip on the train but worth it just to say you have been to the top of Snowdon, which if you had to walk a lot of people wouldn't see. The station at the peak is fully equipped with food and drink and can recommend the welsh oggie in preparation for the trek down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CRU101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were lucky not much cloud but the wind did pick up and we had to wait half and hour before they would let the train back down, as they shut the summit altogether, I don't think they give you enough time at the summit if you go by train you only get half an hour at the top before your return journey, also it is expensive £27 each return, car park right by entrance is £7 all day but if you look around there is one for £4 all day I am glad we did it but would not return again at those prices. Also best to book in advance

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BristolPriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Having read other reviews we decided to book in advance and were surprised to say the least at the cost - £27 return per person with an additional £3.50 booking fee. At that cost you would have expected free car parking! Instead we were hit with a £7 demand when we reached the car park - what a money spinner!
The train itself was very basic with bench seating for 10 people in each compartment. We were fortunate to get seats by the window and enjoyed great views until we were virtually 3/4 of the way up when we hit the cloud cover. Although the weather wasn't the best we couldn't believe the number of walkers heading for the summit and seeing how steep some sections were we were glad that we got the train. Having paid for a return ticket we were advised on reaching the top that we could only be guaranteed a place on that train's return journey leaving in 30 minutes. Bearing in mind how busy and crowded it was on the top this did not give a lot of time to get to the summit itself, take photos and also to visit the shop / cafe. One hour would have been better.
Whilst we were unable to see anything other than cloud once we reached the summit we were glad that we had made the journey. However, with ticket prices so expensive I doubt we will revisit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank leisurelover777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snowdon Mountain Railway also viewed

Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Snowdon Mountain Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing