We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not really family friendly”
Review of Gallt y Glyn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanberis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallt y Glyn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Llanberis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice but not really family friendly”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here in May for a number of nights. As we have a young child we wanted somewhere family friendly but were sadly disappointed. Staff are V friendly but there were absolutely no communal areas for us to use - had no access to the bar/sitting areas unless the bar itself was open. So we had to either sit on our beds with our children/play games etc. No TV either in room or communal, no WiFI, and not even an area to play board games meant entertain little ones was tricky. No out door space for them either. Not all of the rooms are en-suite so make sure you specify don't assume. Rooms themselves v clean but dated. V disappointed and would definitely see this as someone that is great as a basic bed and breakfast for walkers but would not suit families/people with younger children despite the website impression.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

this accommodation was perfect for me and my friends - great price, great rooms, GREAT service.
staff were super friendly, food was home-made and wonderful and the owners were very helpful about the local area and travel.
definitely will return and have recommended this place to all of my friends!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is a little Gem and the owners go that extra mile to make sure all your needs are taken care of. Its a great location, you can see the summit of Snowdon whilst enjoying the fantastic breakfast or one of their famous pizzas or epic Salads! We stayed in the buckhouse and having done a lot of backpacking and budget stays in the past thus place is second to none!! The owners even gave us a lift when our taxi failed to arrive!! Thanks guys we had a fab weekend xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrycooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A very friendly and family run hotel which was the ideal base for a climbing weekend. Highly recommend it for anyone heading to Snowdonia for climbing/mountain biking/walking etc. They also provide delicious packed lunches if needed!! Lucy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a gem of a place! Found it by chance looking for a quick stopover for our walking weekend.
We were greeted by really friendly bar staff, a selection of nice ales, cider and beer and the most fantastic pizza! I won't be able to go back to pizza express or strada again. It was so good, we ordered another 2 after our steaks on the second night.
perfect place for hungry walkers.(and the breakfast fry up is good too!).
The log fire in the evenings helped us warm up, after a gale on Snowdon.
Rooms are clean and basic and there are a great selection of mags to browse through (tea and coffee in the room was a nice touch too.)

Thanks to Heidi and Russel. See you next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Really cool place to stay, the bunkhouse was perfect for us as a group of lads climbing Snowdon and although old enough to know better, we were a little cheeky. All taken with a pinch of salt and all staff were really helpful. Food was really good and we even got a free pint with our meal!
I admit i did'nt make breakfast (lay in too appealing) but the others said it was good and Heidi very helpful when i thought i had left my sleeping bag there!
Overall, top notch place and would def stay again.

Room Tip: Bunkhouse is the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked the bunkhouse and part of the hotel for a large group of us for a Snowdon walking trip in Oct 2013. They owners were all fab - very welcoming. They did everything for us - and were very polite - even when half our group turned up late for breakfast! Nice, warm, affordable place to stay, with a decent breakfast and lovely evening food too! The bunkhouse was a bargain, although one bathroom was out of order, and I imagine it would be difficult with a full 8 people and only one bathroom if you were on a schedule!
Only advice I would give to them is to update the website, as there are vital things missing - like the postcode (LL55 4EL), price of take away lunch (£6.50) and whether wifi was included (only in the restaurant)

Thanks for a lovely time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 457georgiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
13.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
#1 of 5 in Llanberis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Y Gwynedd Inn
Y Gwynedd Inn
#10 of 15 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Padarn Hotel
Padarn Hotel
#7 of 15 in Llanberis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallt y Glyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallt y Glyn Hotel

Property: Gallt y Glyn Hotel
Address: Y Glyn A4086, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) in village location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gallt y Glyn Hotel Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing