We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake View
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

A very tired hotel that needs lots of TLC. The stairs to the bedrooms are very steep and have a loose banister rail, Mountain scrambling ability would be of help. The "Garden" consists of mountain scrubland and is not as attractive as nature intended, however the breakfasts were good and the staff frienndly

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lake view room as it is nice to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    70
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
25
76
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lake View and had a great time. Mike, the host, is a character who really does look after his guests although sometimes disappears! The hotel is in need of refurbishment but is spotlessly clean. Nice bar and residents lounge. The bedrooms are quite small but adequate for a short break and the bathroom only had a small shower cubicle. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was well cooked. The menu was varied as long as you like chips or rice, salad garnish but lacking fresh vegetables. There is a road between the hotel and the lake and trees block out the view. Great staff and service this quirky hotel lives up to its 2 stars and is adequate for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for the weekend as a base for climbing Snowdon. Good for basic 2 star accommodation. A bit tired in places but very clean. Food was very good, we ate in the evening and breakfast OK. Mike the owner is a real character and made our trip good fun, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Lovely setting for the hotel overlooking the lake as the name suggests!
Clean and comfortable, a little tired but good or a short break. Meals in the restaurant were good as was breakfast. Hosts very willing to help and chat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel and I had a very pleasant few days. I don't understand some of the negative comments about this hotel. It's a 2-star hotel, and it more than delivered everything we'd expect from just that! The place was clean, warm and cosy, with a great atmosphere, but agreed there is some need of "doing up" - though again, for a 2-star place, this is not uncommon. The home-made food was excellent and plentiful after a day's hiking using local beef (very tasty!), and there's a nice bar to talk to other friendly guests. For a couple of walkers, it was everything we wanted and we had a great time staying there.
My only comment would be that it's very expensive for what it is - £72 for a basic double (not 4-poster!) - the Royal Victoria down the road is considerably cheaper (online at least) and is a 3-star. No doubt it misses some of the atmosphere of this place, but it might be a better option for some. I don't think this hotel justifies the price-tag, but is otherwise a perfectly pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located for Snowdon and surrounding walks, 10 minute walk into Llanberis. Several pubs, restaurants and tea rooms in town to suit all tastes. We ate at the hotel on the first night as we had endured a 6 hour drive, a varied menu served well and tasted good, so as we were exhausted after our Snowdon adventure we ate at the hotel a seond night. Also served well and of good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast also good and served by a cheery pleasant lady. I could list the endless problems withe the decor, carpets, wall paper, dodgy electrics, loose sink in shower room, tiny plastic shower cubicle, not so private shower/ toilet room door BUT..... It is clean comfortable and served the purpose for our party this time, but I'm sorry I would not return

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great Hosts who were really friendly and very helpful. Ate dinner in the hotel once and it was great, really nice breakfasts too. Rooms are small, clean and comfortable but do need updating. Free wifi in the bar area. Hotel is in a perfect location just opposite the lake with easy access for running/walking or swimming! It takes 10mins to walk into Llanberis and its all along a pavement or you can drop down to the lakeside and walk along a path. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmeandi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View

Property: Lake View
Address: Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Llanberis
Lake View Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing