We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just come back from a weekend break with the girlfriend. I have to say its a great place to stay for anybody looking for peace and quiet. Just at the foot of the snowdon. Great views and friendly people all aroun. I can't rate this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Safehandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Travelled into Llanberis via the Llanberis pass - the hotel was just on the right as you came into the town. Plenty of parking space and the hotel is right opposite the road leading onto Snowdon (the Llanberis path also known as the tourist route)
Booked bed and breakfast (continental) but an upgrade to a cooked breakfast was only £1.25 each. The continental breakfast alone included proper Ham (not processed), cheeses, breads for toast, preserves, yoghurts, cereals and fruits - so enough for anyone - the cooked breakfast included sausages, eggs, bacon, fried bread, beans and hash browns. Really good value for money.
The conservatory where we had breakfast overlooked the town and had lovely views of the mountains.
Some of the hotel looked as if it had been refurbished and there was some painting work being carried out whilst we were there but in no way impeded us. The bedroom we had was roomy - had a flat screen tv, tea/coffee facilities and a small but clean/trendy bathroom - the shower was very powerful.
Apart from breakfast, we did not eat at the hotel but did enjoy a very reasonably priced drink in the bar.
The hotel is only a few yards away from the snowdon mountain railway and a few minutes walk into the town.
If you are looking for a hotel near the snowdon railway or want to walk up snowdon then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mwgfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent 2 nights here as part of our wedding anniversary trip to North Wales.As usual you become sceptical when looking at reviews but you tend to go with your own instinct.We stayed in room 320 which was perfect although being a bit of a hike to get to .THis room was one that had been refurbed and had a lovely bathroom and shower . The hotel has a lovely big garden with tables outside so you can grab a drink and sit and watch the world go by. the price we paid gave very good value for money and we would stay here again. The only complaint we have was the waiter just plonked down the bottle of unopened wine and walked off! also we thought dinner was a little expensive for what you got.Overall a very pleasant stay. Top tip book a table at The Peaks restaurant in the high street for superb food.

Room Tip: get a refurbed room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevek4422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A very recent visit to Snowdonia involved several days stay at this hotel, ideally situated really for our needs within that whole area. Quiet, peaceful and within reasonable driving distance of the areas we wished to visit.
The Hotel as such was beautifully situated, ample and free parking - in an area where such is at a premium. THe location was In easy reach of all local features and attractions - not least being the Snowdon Mountain Railway almost on the doorstep.
However admin problems started with our arrival where, although our reservation had been made made some weeks previously, Reception took half an hour to find our details.
Then. although due to recent knee surgery, a specific request had been made for a ground floor Room, or one very adjacent to a lift, We were assured that this would be the case. However these factors were completely ignored by the Hotel. After struggling, unassisted, up several flights of stairs, with luggage, in a task which involved around 10 minutes time and much effort, we eventually reached a room which one could say was adequate at best - a built in wardrobe with access but 20" wide was hardly good enough..
We later found out, although not pointed out to us upon arrival, that there were lifts to reach the room on the 3rd Floor, but the use of these involved changing from the first lift, then walking 70 yards to yet another to reach our room.
The staff were pleasant enough but organisationally and in terms of management, there was much lacking consistently throughout our stay.
Exmple of such similar shortcomings came in the Dining room the next morning - and in subsequent days - where some of the food served was inedible - or not related to the orders placed.
DInner choice was monotonous, as were the meals served with the same vegetables accompanying EVERY main course regardless of it's nature.
A great pity, for this was ideally suited, beautifully sittuuated, had a good ambience - if a little gloomy in the evening in the Lounge areas.
Problems raised on occasions, were eventually dealt with, but should never have arisen as frequently as they did do. This was patently due to a lack of direction and poor quality of Management.
Unless there were significant changes I would hesistate to stay there again or to recommend a stay there to anyone, depsite it ticking the boxes in so many respects.

Room Tip: As near to the Ground Floor as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MACRUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a very grand looking building in prime spot.
My booking has been lost by hotel, but they did sort it out very quickly. People working there were very friendly and helpful.

On arrival I thought the lobby area looked old fashioned and tired. In contrast the room we got was bright, modern with some period features; it was really great blend of old and brand new. I don’t think there are many refurbished rooms in this hotel. The room and bathroom were on a small size, but comfortably fitting two adults. Breakfast was nice, however I din not like the fact that hot full English breakfast was not included and it cost extra £2.50. I am not trying to complain about the £2.50, but I think it could be included in overall breakfast price as I see it as being petty.

We also tried evening meals there and they were very tasty and not overpriced. Service friendly and fast.

I had a really great break in this hotel, despite a horrible weather. Would always consider it when travelling to Snowdon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariuszKluzniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a cheap and basic hotel in the heart of Snowdonia which could be so much better. The name gives the game away somewhat - its easy to imagine it being very grand in Victorian times, but now it is really just a budget option. It does do the basics ok. Our room was adequate, though small and surpisingly hard to find through a labyrinth of corridors and stairs. Some of the staff made an effort, and the breakfast was quite good (continental included in the basic room package, which was plenty for us).
Annoyingly the 'free wifi' turned out to exist only on the lounge, and even there it was out of action for our entire stay (each evening we were told it would be fixed the following morning...). And the bar is definitely one to avoid. There are some reasonable places within a few minutes walk in Llanberis, our favourite being the Heights Hotel for a pub dinner.
One more tip - don't pre-book on the nearby Snowdon Railway as there is always a good chance that the summit will be shrouded in fog tomorrow - you won't get to see either the view or the 25 pounds you paid for your ticket!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Based on the price we paid (£59) and the prices being charged elsewhere at the time of booking, we found this hotel to offer exceptional value for money. Without exception, the staff were friendly and keen to help. Whilst as reported by others the communal areas were a bit tired, the same was not true of the bedroom itself, which had been fully refurbished to a high standard - more 4* than 3*. Chatting to other guests, it seems that we were not alone in seeing this hotel as offering great value spacious high quality accommodation. Very important in our opinion was the luxurious double bed. Well sprung with no roll together made for a wonderful sleep! Continental breakfast was included, but the option to upgrade to a "Full Welsh" cooked breakfast was a highly reasonable £2.50 each, so we plumped for it! Tasty! Seats in the conservatory with a superb view over the beautiful gardens, the mountains and the valley were a treat. The hotel could not be nearer to the Snowdon Mountain Railway and the Llanberis footpath - indeed the railway's car park is run by the hotel! One extra bonus - as a guest of the hotel, we were able to leave our car for free all day after checking out, saving the normal £6 car park fee :) Would we stay again? At these prices you bet we would!!!

Room Tip: Request a lakeside view. We didn't, but other guests told us it makes the experience even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
805 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,087 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,374 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
816 reviews
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing