We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is the first time I have written a review on this site & felt the experience was well worth writing about. We are just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel on their new All Inclusive package. We arrived after a snowy journey to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist who explained how the All Inclusive worked. We had a lovely room, nice & warm which was much needed. The food was great, the staff were the friendliest we have come across in a hotel for many a year & the location at the foot of Snowdon is perfect. We will definately be returning in the near future & would recommend this hotel to anyone, and it doesnt cost the earth. Keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: Ask for a classic room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just back from a 4 day stay at a first class hotel with first class staff. On Thursday night the snow fell heavy and the wind was gale force. There was a draught from my window which I reported the next day, within 15 minutes the maintenance man arrived and suggested I move rooms as he would have to replace the window. I was moved to a fantastic family room which overlooked the village. I have been in many hotels but none as yet can beat this beautiful hotel. Many thanks to all concerned, food first class. Beds and cleanliness first class.

Room Tip: If not satisfied tell them why and get it fixed immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and a fantastic location but could do with updating. Location makes this a great place to stay but hotel shouldn't rest on its laurels and some attention to details could turn this from a good to a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

just came back from a two day visit. stayed here many times but not with the snow falling!! and very harsh winds.but made the most and had a good time.requested same room 205 and had are lovely view of the snow filled mountains. went for a walk around lake padarn which is about 5 mile long through the woods and along some paths. there is a lovely little tea shop just through the woods which does a lovely cup of hot chocolate and food. llanberis village was quite think this was because of the weather but had a walk round and went to petes eats for a drink. lots of walkers visit this well known cafe. then went to have a look at the waterfall which is easily found as its sign posted in the village. over all another great stay. food at the hotel was nice had a three course meal on the first night of are stay. then a bar meal on the next night. two meals for 12pound which is good if your on a budget. breakfast are plentyful and you can up grade to a full english for 2.50 extra. will return again but will wait for the weather to improve!!!

Room Tip: 205 right on the front of the hotel good views top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie499509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel overnight on the way to Hollyhead. The room was clean and adequate, food and service good, all in all representing excellent value for money. The view is outstanding, overlooking the mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here mid March. It was a, one night stop-over, late addition, to a trip planned much earlier. Our room was in what appeared to be an extension to the the original building and as such can can only at best be described as adequate. I think the older building has much better proportioned rooms. That said, the room was clean, warm and comfortable, nothing sparkling but for the price good value. By no means new nor even freshly decorated but not at all shabby. The same could be said for most areas around the hotel, maybe dated rather than tired though! The nice thing to see was evidence of beginings of some new decoration .... wet paint notices in some stairwells!
We were on a bed and breakfast basis, so cannot make any comment on evening meals as we chose to wander into Llanberis to hunt down some food. Breakfast was as good as many I've had with the usual choice of self serve cereals, yoghurt's, fresh fruit, juices, and porridge. The cooked course being prepared to order was typical and a bit ordinary,
The staff were without exception courteous, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: SW or NW facing rooms will have nicest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

myself and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights , we had a a fab view of the mountains from our spacious comfortable room .Breakfast was tasty with plenty on offer and staff were only too pleased to help .We had one evening meal at the hotel , in the bar and it was very tasty (2 meals for £12 ) we ate out at different places the other nights . The hotel is a short walk from the snowdon railway and also electric mountain tour / visitor centre .We would recommend this hotel the price we paid for our stay was very reasonable indeed .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmatthews678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
770 reviews
11.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
687 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing