We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dol Peris(Llanberis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Llanberis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Cae Mabon(Llanberis)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Lake View(Llanberis)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyn Rhos Country House(Llanddeiniolen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel(Nant Gwynant)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,712)
Filter reviews
1,712 results
Traveller rating
455
642
359
137
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
642
359
137
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housebar mealsall inclusive dealcoach partycontinental breakfastlarge hotelthird floorevening mealhotel is situatedmain buildingmountain railwayllanberis pathshort breakboth nightselectric mountainexcellent value for moneyfantastic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,000 - 1,005 of 1,712 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights last weekend. The hotel was much better than some of the reviews had led me to believe. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and warm. We had a meal in both the bar and restaurant which were fine.

The hotel is a bit tired and although there are signs of work being carried out. It needs some investment to bring it back up to it's former glory. The location is great for Snowdon with the Llanberis path only a few hundred meters away.

Overall a good value Hotel in a good location, would visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, the hotel is currently undergoing an inhouse programme of refurbishment and I am glad that you saw evidence of this during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Before I went I read some miserable reviews of this hotel. I couldn't fault it. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the room was clean and tidy albeit a bit dated. Breakfast was served in the conservatory which had a lovely view. All in all great value and will definitely go back when next in Snowdonia.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking thew car park are a bit noisy
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigella0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will return when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Only stayed for one night - the room was lovely and very clean and comfortable. It was nice to have tissues and good quality toiletries provided as we had just stayed in a budget hotel with very little. Lovely position and friendly professional staff. Maybe because it was Sunday the food was not as good as it could be - anything with chips and salad was good but my fish was accompanied by veg which appeared to owe much to the earlier Sunday lunch! This was a shame as otherwise it was a really nice place to stay, very quiet, plenty of parking and tastefully decorated - I would go back.

Room Tip: Corner room had 2 windows so was very light and pleasant
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback your opinion is valuable to us and has been shared with the relevant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is in a commanding position overlooking Llanberis. There's plenty of parking and, as a building, it looks really grand.
Check in staff (and all other staff actually) were very very helpful and polite. The bar is used by locals and is a bit basic but it has a large TV and Pool table. The real ale was very good.
The room I was given was not terribly big. It was in a newer annexe. It was cold at first but with the radiator on, tropical.
The main observation about the decor and furnishing of the whole hotel is that it's a bit uninspiring/dull/dated and unimaginative. It's another of these grand palaces that could be absolutely amazing but suffers from lack of investment in the interior design. The bed was comfy though.
The bathroom was adequate but poor shower and bath.

The main dining hall has a fantastic conservatory area with views over the lake and town. Great for breakfast (though the breakfast food was pretty dull and uninspiring too....not the most amazing selection).
I wouldn't put anyone off staying there but I wouldn't go recommending it as an amazing place to stay either.

Room Tip: The best views would be at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cns259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, all opinions are valuable to us and are shared with regularly with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Room was lovely and clean. It was also spacious and had a fantastic view of the mountains. The staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant very pleasant, served in the conservatory. Breakfast good, staff always smiling which is always a plus. The meal on the second night taken in the bar which was very poor, ther was no heating in the bar and the food was not hot and tasteless. Overall a lovely hotel but in need of a little updating (threadbare carpets etc) however there is evidence of redecoration. Would recommend and we will stay again in the future.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you saw evidence of the refurbishment programme that we are slowly working through and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews