We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Spent three days at this hotel over the new year, had a superb recently renovated room overlooking the mountains.
All the staff were frendly and very helpful.
Good real ale and bar food in the busy bar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your positive comments are appreciated by the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for an all inclusive weekend at the Royal Victoria. Staff were excellent and really helpful throughout our stay. The food was really good with a good varied menu as part of the all inclusive menu. Rooms were very comfortable will everything we needed for a lovely stay. Location is superb.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuelynnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Royal Victoria again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just come back from 2 days here on the new all inclusive offer. The hotel is in such a beautiful location. Ideal location for active people who like the outdoors as there is not a lot to keep you occupied if you don't like walking, cycling.However, in the main season there would be more with the Snowdon railway etc open. The staff in this hotel have to have to be praised - very friendly, helpful and obliging. The food was good and wholesome, including the breakfast, which was excellent.Our twin bedroom was supposed to be an upgrade to a classic but, although clean and comfortable, was very small. The public rooms were lacking in cosiness and quite cool to sit in in the evenings. All in all amazing value on the all inclusive deal with 2 nights, breakfast, lunches, dinner and wine or beer from 7 to 11pm. for £84!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayjack31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Royal Victoria again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

a very pleasant victorian hotel with very well furnished spotless public rooms. We were there only for a short stay and were given a room on first floor, This turned out to be a very large family room, excellent. A good bathroom but with the shower over the bath. This could be a problem for people with mobility problems i.e. me. We were dining en bloc, and the food was the standard fare for large parties. The resuraunt menu however looked fine. The hotel is situated in a beautiful locality. Oh to be able to don my hiking boots again! Certainly a place I hope to visit again

Room Tip: We were situated on 1st floor and it tended to be a bit noisy, but it was new year. Spoke to someon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericAllertonBywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are valuable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Visit llanberis a lot and liked the position of the hotel, checked in everything looked lovely, room seemed to be recently refurbished and was lovely, superking bed with fab mattress, really warm room even needed to turn the heating off....in January.
Had evening meal in the bar, not very impressed, eatable but nothing more but had a good night with a few drinks, friendly staff.
Due to 3 coach fulls having breakfast we were seated in another small room, not well organised at all but fair continental breakfast spread and cooked breakfast offered, 2nd morning we had breakfast in the conservatory with an amazing view, cooked breakfast again not fantastic but eatable and good continental.
The stay was definitely worth our £96 for 2 nights for 2 people and would absolutely go back!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lynn-Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are valuable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel second week of January having got a good deal on a late rooms site. Double room with breakfast for only £38.00!!. We have stayed at the Victoria half a dozen times now and thoroughly recommend. On this occasion our intention was to climb Snowdon (Yr Wyddfa) again and its ideally places to walk from the door. The only problem I ever had was on one occasion when I was charged twice on my credit card because the receptionist could not find my original booking and set up a new booking reference. Apart from this one unfortunate incident I have always had very good value for money.

Lets put this in context. Bed and breakfast for two people in a three star hotel at the foot of arguably the worlds most popular mountain for half the price of most youth hostels. The service is good and the rooms fantastic. Our room was modern with a good view, a modern flat screen TV, en-suite bathroom with toiletries, a hair drier, iron and board and tea and coffee making facilities. A large well stocked bar. In the morning a full cooked breakfast in the morning. I have always found the staff to be very helpful and attentive. How can anyone complain at this? This will certainly not be our last visit.

Room Tip: Pen y Cuenant Isaf Cafe an absolute essential visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rc5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Snowdonia in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My partner I visited the Royal Victoria on January 3rd, 2014 for two night. Nice hotel, very clean, room was good, very comfortable. Decided to have a bar meal the Friday night, meal average, oven chips, my partner ordered pork and ended up with chicken for some reason. The bar area was cold with draughts. Rear bar was similar to a tap room - rough. Hotel could do with a comfortable lounge area for guests. Breakfast not bad, cheap food for cooked breakfast though.

Conclusion: Need to improve food and bar areas

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your feedback is valuable to us and your comments regarding the food and bar have been shared with the relevant teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
770 reviews
11.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing