We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
happyskier036
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great customer service, fabulous staff.
Fantastic location for accessing Snowdonia National Park.
Well equipped bedrooms.
Fabulous value for money.
The Royal Victoria is not a modern hotel. Rather a nostalgic example of grander days gone by.
Large corridors, fabulous wide staircases, creaking floor boards, large dining rooms.
Well tended gardens, with great views down the lake.
The only drawback was the wifi..free in public areas on the ground floor but I couldn't find anyone who managed to get on to it.
They also had several tribute nights advertised, so might be good to check when they are on and if possible arrange your stay around them.
Choice of formal dining or bar snacks, both offering excellent service in warm relaxing environments.
Breakfast was excellent, a buffet starter with large selection of hot meals including eggs Benedict and smoked Haddock, as well as traditional English (welsh).
The staff were really quite exceptional.
Very friendly and professional.
Wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happyskier036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    575
    327
    126
    109
See reviews for
203
790
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having been regulars in Llanberis for nearly 30 years and seen the hotel many times, we finally treated ourselves to a two night stay including bed breakfast and evening meal.

The first time we (as a family of 6) climbed Snowdon and arrived at the bottom worn out I would have been so excited to be able to stay at what looks like a fabulous hotel. That was 22 years ago and perhaps it was amazing in those days.

Sadly this did not hold true when we stayed last week. We got a good deal, and enjoyed the overall experience but boy does this place need attention. Crumbling away and major decor treatment needed badly. However, we treated this with a pinch of salt, staff were pleasant and the room, although miles away (not what you really need when you just climbed down a mountain) and rather small was at least clean and comfortable.

The real problem was the evening meal. It was £25 for two (although the menu stated £18.95 each) this was the refund we got finally. The food is very poor quality and I doubt freshly cooked. The sauce on my husbands stroganoff just tasted of cornflour. My roast lamb was like a boil in the bag meal. It could have been anything, it didn't taste of lamb. So we sent the food back and got a refund!

The room on arrival was clean, however, the cleaning service carried out was appalling. The bins were not emptied (including the bathroom one which could have contained sanitary items), The used glasses were not washed, the cushions and pillows were not replaced on the bed, but the worst thing of all was that in the morning, the staff woke us up by standing outside our door having a chat about what they had all been up too! The cupboard for their equipment was along the landing and they were all in very high spirits chatting away at the tops of their voices plus the clunking and banging as they got everything together. This went on for over 20 minutes and we finally gave up trying to sleep.

If you have to stay here, try to avoid the annex (although I was told we would be in the main hotel we weren't) as it is quite a walk away and there are two lifts both of which were not working well. the second one hit you if you were not the first person in. We both have the bruises to show for it!

Room Tip: Do not have the landing where 323 is otherwise you will be woken up by the staff in the morning gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Took advantage of a two night half board deal and this proved value for money!The hotel is ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia and is set in some well kept grounds. We were given a family room large and comfortable and well appointed .As mentioned in other reviews the hotel could do with updating somewhat but the staff were excellent and very helpful. Our evening meal was adequate without being inspiring but was offset by the free wine and breakfast was fine except no-one seemed to be in charge so service was a bit disorganised. The packed lunch for our second day was a nice touch and proved very welcome.All considered would take advantage of any further deal the hotel may make there is so much more to see the area is beautiful and there is so much more to be seen

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harriers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Yes it is tired in places, needs refreshing in places and new carpet in places...however, none of this detracted from the overall charm of this 3 star hotel! We loved it! The staff alone make up for all of this, I've never been anywhere where I felt so welcomed and valued as a customer. The location is amazing, at the foot of Mount Snowdon and next to the Mountain Railway. Our standard double room was lovely, room 235, at the back of the hotel. The hotel is built on a hill so our window was at ground level despite being 2nd floor. Lovely outlook and very quiet. There are lifts as well as stairs.

I think some reviewers on here may just be looking for things to complain about rather than focusing on the overall experience. I have to say I was worried because of some negative comments left on here - but I'm happy to say that a lot of comments are unfounded and seem a bit nit-picky to me. All of the staff are very approachable, friendly and keen to ensure you are happy with everything...of course some things may be over-looked or missed and mistakes may be made..but I have no doubt that a word to the staff would remedy most grumbles on the spot.

While I agree with the comments about some of the decor needing refreshing, this seemed mainly to apply to the corridors in places. Our room was lovely...one lightbulb was out, but this didn't affect our stay in the slightest. There was a double bed, desk with mirror and light above, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV, hanging cupboard (complete with iron and ironing board!), en-suite bathroom with bath and shower over, some toiletries (soaps, shower gel and shampoo).

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. This meant a hot breakfast, cooked to order and a self serve area for toast,cereals, mini croissants, porridge etc. We decided to book a table in the evening and had a delicious meal that was well-presented. There is a Fixed Price Dinner Menu £18.95 for 3 course, £15.95 for 2 course, £11.95 for 1 course. They also have specials available that have various supplement charges on top of the fixed price menu. It was a little confusing on first view, but we soon realised how it worked. We chose to have meals from the specials side of the menu as it was a birthday celebration...we had 2 courses with drinks and a bottle of wine...and the bill was just under £60. I felt this was a reasonable price for everything.

There is a bar menu that is available until 9pm each evening and a room service menu - all available to view on their website.

I would definitely return to this hotel, the grounds are lovely, the setting is amazing and the staff are wonderfullly welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieLou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your constructive and positive comments. We are currently working through an inhouse programme of refurbishment to give the 'tired' areas a new lease of life, we hope that you see evidence of this next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making our weekend a fantastic one. The staff were kind and thoughtful and made us feel like royalty. I would go back tomorrow if we could and the pack lunch was a great surprise. Many thanks Ron and Tracy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tuftyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and will ensure that your review is shared with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

At first glance this is a nice hotel in a great location for our walking weekend. However the décor is looking tired and really needs some paint and the carpets need some attention too. The room we had was very small which was not a major issue however we could hear everyone walking past our door so the soundproofing is not much good. Be aware of the menu when going for dinner it is confusing and you could end up paying twice as much for a basic meal as you may expect I have never come across a menu8 like this before ?
The cooked breakfast was ok however we had to send back our tea cups as they were dirty and there were a few ants on the window sill, one was killed by a waiter putting his finger on it but did he wash his hands before serving after this ?
On the plus side the food was very good at dinner and drinks are at a reasonable price and the staff could not do enough to help us.
I don't think we will be staying here again anytime soon and its a shame that the hotel did not have more of its original features.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Mark P

Thank you for your feedback. All comments are important to us and we will work hard to resolve the issues you have raised. We have a new exciting menu format being introduced mid April which will make the pricing much easier to understand. We hope you change your mind and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just had a two night "Great Little Breaks" all inc stay here and have mixed feelings. The room although quite small was nicely presented with a double aspect and great views and very clean as was en suite. Its a strange place in some ways, I have never seen such a layout with so many little staircases and corridors you seem to be constantly going up and down, there is a lift for those who need it. The bar area just off the reception area is very, very tired and quite scruffy with a damaged ceiling, bad wallpaper and naff welsh flags hanging round the bar. There is a very large nicely decorated room overlooking gardens but no bar in it, why? No real atmosphere in these areas which is a shame as the original building is beautiful but needs a good refurb. The restaurant is nice with a conservatory area to sit in which is very pleasant. All that said the food was very good and although there were several issues these were dealt with by the staff and manager. They ran out of Rose wine on the first night!!! When we arrived there was only half a bottle left. Second night although we ate at a reasonable time they had run out of the salmon, then the mushrooms for a starter, then the cheesecake. I asked Ben our waiter if I could have the fish from the non inclusive menu without paying the supplement because of the lack of salmon and this was sorted out with the manager. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant, a few names to mention are Jake, Sophie, Ben and Hannah (the blonde girl on the bar) and Clive the manager, who was very attentive and sorted out any problems, he even remembered us saying that on the first morning breakfast was somewhat chaotic and the poached eggs like bullets, the second morning he came to us to make sure everything was OK and the eggs cooked correctly, which they were. I think under his management things will steadily improve and the staff all appear to be interested enough in their jobs to make this into a place you would want to come back to. All in all it was value for money and a nice experience. So thank you to everyone and good luck.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
jojoshropshire

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. Clive oversees the food and beverage side of the business and is currently working hard to develop service skills with new members of the team. It is unusual to run out of wine and menu items, this was particular to the time of your visit and has not been an issue since. Yours views are welcome as are your kind wishes. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
13.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
6.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
11.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing