We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel within close distance of train and path up to the top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel within close distance of train and path up to the top!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

For the circa £80, 2 can stay with en suite and breakfast. Mountain view to one side and a huge lake to the other.

Average quality but really great service. Very close to train (Snowdon) station, petrol stations and village centre.

I'd go again, and I'm really fussy!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kush P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    569
    325
    124
    108
See reviews for
199
782
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Looking at the professional photos I would say the room we stayed in 214 is awaiting refurbishment as it was not just the décor/carpets in the public areas which needed attention. We certainly did not book this hotel with the intention of finding fault however cleanliness is something I cannot compromise on. The dirty crockery and glasses at breakfast were very off putting.

The manager himself admitted the staff should be explaining the menu at the time of ordering. It is very simple to understand once explained although it all seems a bit long winded. If you want to charge say £18:00 for a steak that's fine, just price that dish up at £18:00 and do away with the supplements. Another issue with the menu, the dessert was not as advertised. We did not say anything about this but the tables either side did send theirs back.

To balance this out when we spoke to the manager about the pricing he was very polite and professional, he listened to our concerns and a compromise was reached. We left the restaurant feeling we'd had good food and good service.

The staff were faultless, very friendly and approachable and the hotel is in a great location which was perfect for our walking weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Jane k

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Thankfully the issue with our mechanical dishwasher is now resolved and all items are exiting the machine are scrupulously clean. Room 214 has not been refurbished this winter but we have completed 20 rooms over the last 6 months and the programme is ongoing including public areas.
In April we are introducing an individually priced menu in response to guest feedback. The content is a significant departure from recent offerings and has a healthy proportion of local high quality produce.
It is pleasing to note that you left the Hotel happy. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesterined
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We booked this hotel through a buy a gift voucher and dont feel we got great value for money. We were put in an annex building which you entered via leaving the hotel and going into the adjacent building.

As it was off season there was little atmosphere. On the saturday night the hotel hosted a big event for climbers from London which lead to doors slamming, screaming and noise throughout the night; not the best nights sleep.

The room itself was dated, musty and had the radiator on at a ridiculously high setting when we arrived to the point the heat was unbearable. The bathroom smelt of dirty drains and the toilet made a terrible noise whenever flushed that I expect woke the whole building. The shower had very low water pressure.

The food was average at best (breakfast and dinner). We waited a long while to be seated each morning and then again a long while to receive our food.

The reception staff however were very friendly and helpful.

All in all very poor

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesterined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
jesterind

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. In response to your observations.The annexe is linked to the Hotel by an internal walkway, there is no need to go outside. The Hotel is extremely busy during most weekends and the Night team do their best to control excessive noise if they are made aware. Obviously the radiator valves are controlled in the bedrooms, we do have a policy to pre-heat the rooms to ambient especially during potentially cold weather. We did have snow at one point that weekend.
Thank you for your other comments regarding the bathroom and waiting times for the restaurant. We will investigate and work hard to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
happyskier036
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great customer service, fabulous staff.
Fantastic location for accessing Snowdonia National Park.
Well equipped bedrooms.
Fabulous value for money.
The Royal Victoria is not a modern hotel. Rather a nostalgic example of grander days gone by.
Large corridors, fabulous wide staircases, creaking floor boards, large dining rooms.
Well tended gardens, with great views down the lake.
The only drawback was the wifi..free in public areas on the ground floor but I couldn't find anyone who managed to get on to it.
They also had several tribute nights advertised, so might be good to check when they are on and if possible arrange your stay around them.
Choice of formal dining or bar snacks, both offering excellent service in warm relaxing environments.
Breakfast was excellent, a buffet starter with large selection of hot meals including eggs Benedict and smoked Haddock, as well as traditional English (welsh).
The staff were really quite exceptional.
Very friendly and professional.
Wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happyskier036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having been regulars in Llanberis for nearly 30 years and seen the hotel many times, we finally treated ourselves to a two night stay including bed breakfast and evening meal.

The first time we (as a family of 6) climbed Snowdon and arrived at the bottom worn out I would have been so excited to be able to stay at what looks like a fabulous hotel. That was 22 years ago and perhaps it was amazing in those days.

Sadly this did not hold true when we stayed last week. We got a good deal, and enjoyed the overall experience but boy does this place need attention. Crumbling away and major decor treatment needed badly. However, we treated this with a pinch of salt, staff were pleasant and the room, although miles away (not what you really need when you just climbed down a mountain) and rather small was at least clean and comfortable.

The real problem was the evening meal. It was £25 for two (although the menu stated £18.95 each) this was the refund we got finally. The food is very poor quality and I doubt freshly cooked. The sauce on my husbands stroganoff just tasted of cornflour. My roast lamb was like a boil in the bag meal. It could have been anything, it didn't taste of lamb. So we sent the food back and got a refund!

The room on arrival was clean, however, the cleaning service carried out was appalling. The bins were not emptied (including the bathroom one which could have contained sanitary items), The used glasses were not washed, the cushions and pillows were not replaced on the bed, but the worst thing of all was that in the morning, the staff woke us up by standing outside our door having a chat about what they had all been up too! The cupboard for their equipment was along the landing and they were all in very high spirits chatting away at the tops of their voices plus the clunking and banging as they got everything together. This went on for over 20 minutes and we finally gave up trying to sleep.

If you have to stay here, try to avoid the annex (although I was told we would be in the main hotel we weren't) as it is quite a walk away and there are two lifts both of which were not working well. the second one hit you if you were not the first person in. We both have the bruises to show for it!

Room Tip: Do not have the landing where 323 is otherwise you will be woken up by the staff in the morning gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Took advantage of a two night half board deal and this proved value for money!The hotel is ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia and is set in some well kept grounds. We were given a family room large and comfortable and well appointed .As mentioned in other reviews the hotel could do with updating somewhat but the staff were excellent and very helpful. Our evening meal was adequate without being inspiring but was offset by the free wine and breakfast was fine except no-one seemed to be in charge so service was a bit disorganised. The packed lunch for our second day was a nice touch and proved very welcome.All considered would take advantage of any further deal the hotel may make there is so much more to see the area is beautiful and there is so much more to be seen

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harriers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Yes it is tired in places, needs refreshing in places and new carpet in places...however, none of this detracted from the overall charm of this 3 star hotel! We loved it! The staff alone make up for all of this, I've never been anywhere where I felt so welcomed and valued as a customer. The location is amazing, at the foot of Mount Snowdon and next to the Mountain Railway. Our standard double room was lovely, room 235, at the back of the hotel. The hotel is built on a hill so our window was at ground level despite being 2nd floor. Lovely outlook and very quiet. There are lifts as well as stairs.

I think some reviewers on here may just be looking for things to complain about rather than focusing on the overall experience. I have to say I was worried because of some negative comments left on here - but I'm happy to say that a lot of comments are unfounded and seem a bit nit-picky to me. All of the staff are very approachable, friendly and keen to ensure you are happy with everything...of course some things may be over-looked or missed and mistakes may be made..but I have no doubt that a word to the staff would remedy most grumbles on the spot.

While I agree with the comments about some of the decor needing refreshing, this seemed mainly to apply to the corridors in places. Our room was lovely...one lightbulb was out, but this didn't affect our stay in the slightest. There was a double bed, desk with mirror and light above, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV, hanging cupboard (complete with iron and ironing board!), en-suite bathroom with bath and shower over, some toiletries (soaps, shower gel and shampoo).

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. This meant a hot breakfast, cooked to order and a self serve area for toast,cereals, mini croissants, porridge etc. We decided to book a table in the evening and had a delicious meal that was well-presented. There is a Fixed Price Dinner Menu £18.95 for 3 course, £15.95 for 2 course, £11.95 for 1 course. They also have specials available that have various supplement charges on top of the fixed price menu. It was a little confusing on first view, but we soon realised how it worked. We chose to have meals from the specials side of the menu as it was a birthday celebration...we had 2 courses with drinks and a bottle of wine...and the bill was just under £60. I felt this was a reasonable price for everything.

There is a bar menu that is available until 9pm each evening and a room service menu - all available to view on their website.

I would definitely return to this hotel, the grounds are lovely, the setting is amazing and the staff are wonderfullly welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieLou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your constructive and positive comments. We are currently working through an inhouse programme of refurbishment to give the 'tired' areas a new lease of life, we hope that you see evidence of this next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing