We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed 22 April 2014

13 of us stayed here at the beginning of April for 2 nights. We were royally treated with good comfy bedrooms that were loveley and warm

The food was excellent and all agreed it was excellent value for money.
The staff who were all local were only too pleased to attend to our every needs and we will not
hesitate to come back again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

ModyCheshire,
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, so much so that you have rated us 5 out of 5.
Ann Owen
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,601)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

stayed her for two nights over easter,free parking and breakfast included .Had a double room big comfy bed and nice en-suite bathroom,no problem with hot water had a nice red hot bath after walking up snowden.Girlfriend had a problem with the provided hair dryer rang reception and it was replaced in ten minutes.Friendly helpful staff,lovely cooked breakfast.Hotel tatty in places but perfect location and not stupid prices.Enjoyed our stay. Only negative a few noisy guests coming in late but that's no reflection on the hotel.

Room Tip: Have to change lifts to get to third floor .we was in 314 bit of a trek from reception.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu25766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Stu25766
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Easter break and will return to the hotel again in the future.
Ann Owen
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed there with family as it is a great location for the moderate walk up Snowden. Literally the start is just across the road from the Hotel. The price we paid for the double room was very reasonable, given that you get parking and breakfast included.
The staff were very friendly, and the food was good. We had dinner on the first night there, and whilst the food was very good the service was slightly chaotic! The staff were very good, but didn't seem too professional, but this may because of some other problem going on at the same time.
The hotel is a bit tired, and some of the communal areas look as if they could do with a good Hoover, but given the price we paid for the double room, you are not expecting 5* facilities. All in all the location and price make it a very good place to stay, and with all the beautiful walks nearby, you won't be in your room for too long.!!
If I have the energy and inclination to walk up Snowden again, I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITHIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked this on a deal to go in February. We where to have an upgraded room on a full board basis. On arrival reception booked us in and said we had been upgraded so up to the room.
What a shock!! the room was small, just enough room for the beds, a shower room with a very poorly maintained shower. We both where stunned. If this is an upgrade would not like to see a standard room. My wife went down to reception and very politely said the show was a disgrace, without any fuss we where offered an other room. This was one of the large refurbished rooms, it was like chalk and cheese to the first room, well laid out fantastic view everything you could want.
The breakfast was excellent and the evening meals also very good, they even offered a packed lunch on day of departure as we did not have the lunch time meal on day of arrival. We where there for two days. I find it difficult to rate this hotel as the room we ended up in was excellent but I would hesitate to go back as no way would I stay in the first room offered. Food was excellent and staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Staff : 1st class
Food: excellent
Bar: very good

Rooms: Nice, it looked as if it had recently been refurbished, but shower was useless with a little more than a dribble.
wedding was going on downstairs below my room till 2am, which meant I couldn't get any sleep till it finished

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Petemfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are surprised to see negative reviews of the hotel as we now Have been three times and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay on each occasion. The staff are friendly and attentive, the rooms are basic but have everything you will need, therefore great value for £25pp/per night. The food was nice both at breakfast and the bar meal we had.
We stay here In order to climb the mountain and find this hotel very good value and will return in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paperwidger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in early April this year on arrival was made welcome by reception staff,then the debate about which was the best route to our room by the desk staff. Found room ok clean and with all that we needed,unfortunately the bed was not as comfortable as i hoped.. The bar i believe is due to be upgraded and certainly needs work,it is not very welcoming,when i went in it was more like a pub for locals that look make you feel that you are invading. The restaurant is nice and the food is very nice but somewhat over priced and with the lack of competition around you are pretty much stuck. Saying that I would go back as the area is very scenic and provides a good base from which to explore.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarkesCardff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
756 reviews
13.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
11.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
749 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: £63 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing