We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked and paid for a standard double room, with breakfast, dinner, a bottle of house wine (which we didn't receive), a welcome tray (which wasn't in our room) and dinner as part of a wine and dine spring offer. How disappointed were we. The female staff member who checked us in was bordering on rude, and very unhelpful. She seemed too interested in a conversation with fellow staff members.
Our standard room was located in a building off to the side, not the main hotel as indicated on their website. There was no valance on the bed base which exposed an old bed and the bed looked as if someone had laid on it. The carpet was old, dirty and frayed in places. The bed itself was terribly uncomfortable with the feel of mattress springs in the back when laid upon. The corridor where our room was also had an awful dog smell about it.
Dinner was just ok, & not sure if the fish I had on the first night was responsible for me being quite ill that night & my partner the next.
Breakfast was fine, however the staff need to slow down and stop trying to 'rush' everywhere. It's very off putting.
The only saving grace about this place is it's proximity to Snowdon mountain. That said, there's other accommodation in Llanberis just a short walk to the Snowdon train and walk trails, which I'm sure provide far better accommodation and service.

Room Tip: How to pick a good room - choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

On arrival we found the car parking spaces to be tiny. Many drivers ignored the lines and just parked anywhere taking up more than one space. Our room was ok except for the ensuite which stank of urine. We got another room and this was much better. The whole place was mouldy and seriously needed a makeover. The worst thing was the attitude of the staff serving breakfast. On the Saturday, there was a brusque man who was rude and made us feel uncomfortable. On Sunday, a younger man who seemed in a real rush to take our orders, then turned up with the cooked breakfasts before we had finished cereals, and more or less pushed them onto us. One of these was incorrect and he looked very upset when we informed of this and started to argue, but then grabbed it back in a true Basil Fawlty manner. The fries offered on the bar menu were exactly the same as the seasoned chips and were NOT seasoned in any way. They tasted like frozen chips that had been cooked earlier and heated up.

Apart from this, the location is great as we went to Wales to climb Snowdon. We didn't get to try the gardens as the weather was against us, but they did look nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank quattro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was five star all the way.the reception staff were so helpful, we did not have a booking but they found us a great room.
We had a classic room at the front of the hotel with a four poster bed and the room was modern, very clean with a bath and a shower, large screen tv and refreshments.
We had just climbed snow don so the bath was appreciated.
We ate in the hotel in the evening and the waiter was very helpful and informative in helping us plan the next days activities. We sat in the bay window with a view of llanberris, very nice even in the rain,
The breakfast the following morning was delicious. We had a walk to the small castle in the grounds of the hotel.
This is a hotel we will certainly return too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

BrendaCumbria
Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were very good and that reception were able to find you an excellent room even though you had not made an advance reservation.
Ann Owen
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is only a 3 star hotel but the bar food is good, the restaurant menu, food and staff very very good. There were 9 in our party for the weekend and the service given to us was certainly 5 star. We cann't praise Steven the Manager enough and Ian who was our waiter was excellent we had a great time even though the weather was awful thanks to the staff.
The hotel is ideal for walking Snowdon and opposite the train to the summit ( it only went part way due to the weather) and the walkers didn't make it to the top either but our Saturday evening was great.
Thank you All

Room Tip: All clean and okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Marjorie P
Thank you for your excellent review with have been shared with Steve and Ian. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Ann Owen
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for one night at the royal Victoria hotel for a walk up mount snowdon.
We arrived late on the night prior to our big walk and the hotel Staff were fine at checking us in late.
The rooms are quite dated but do the job and are most importantly clean! and the bed was very comfy which was a bonus for only £50 a night!
Breakfast was included and we were pleasantly surprised to see that you can order eggs anyway or full English etc made to order to your specification and all in the price!
The hotel is located at the foot of mount snowdon near the llanberis path and railway. You can leave your car at the hotel and walk straight out and up to the path! It's the perfect location if you fancy the challenge of walking up snowdon and taking in the beautiful sites, or taking the train up!
Would stay here again and would recommend!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Amanda W

Thank you for your positive review and your comments about the bedrooms, we are currently working through an inhouse refurbishment programme to bring our bedrooms back up to date, 20 have been completed so far this year.

Ann Owen
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Royal Victoria hotel is a hotel thats suited ideally for anyone thinking of tackling Snowdon, the mountain railway service and surrounding footpaths are just across the road, making its location ideal. The hotels grounds are very pleasant, there's a walk to a nearby castle remains through a forest which is pleasant, additionally Caernarfon is within a walk away for any supplies or dining out. The hotel itself does feel like a relic, its reasonably well kept however you can feel its age as you walk across uneven corridors, or bypass a bucket collecting seeping water. The service however is unquestionably good, any queries were dealt with immediately and service was fantastic, the continental breakfast I had there is up there with the best of them, additionally the bar and table service were also outstanding. Rooms were above reasonable, enough room (as I was sharing a twin) and facilities were of a high standard.

Room Tip: Second floor and above rooms get a better view if you like rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay in August 2013. A number of inhouse refurbishment projects have been completed at the hotel over the winter to bring the hotel up to date and we will continue with this on an ongoing basis. I hope that you will chose the Royal Victoria again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous time from start to finish. Sean our driver was excellent he knew alot about the area. The hotel was excellent with great a lovely room and the food was brilliant as was the staff. They were cheerful and helpful. We shall return.
Alan and Janice Lakin.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Alan L
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of you holiday and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,074 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
6.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,361 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: £69 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing