We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location for all of North Wales and great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fabulous location for all of North Wales and great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are a party of 3 , my Dad who is 83 and my husband and I . We booked the Victoria for the second time with the intention of fulfilling a bucket list want of walking to the Snowdon Summit. This time we succeeded! It was not an easy walk and there were 3 parts that were extremely difficult but we all made it and were very pleased to accomplish it.
The hotel is wonderfully located near the Snowdon Railway and Llanberis Path the easiest of the 6 walks up the mountain. It is also only about 8 miles from Conwy and 15 miles from Caernarfon.
The hotel had small clean rooms, a very good breakfast and very good dinner service as well. We had 2 dinners in the dining room with stunning views of the mountain and the breakfast room was just as beautiful.. The price for the stay was very good with a full English breakfast available. My only negative on the hotel is there is no wifi in your room and everyone joins in the lobby to access there emails etc which is often very slow.
There are many nice B&B's in the area but I do not think you could beat the location or value of this hotel. I strongly recommend for all ages.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, you will want to be outside to see the incredible views all around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    547
    312
    123
    108
See reviews for
188
744
51
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from 2 day stay. All of tbe staff are so friendly. The food was great, portion sizes - big, especially the pasta dishes. Rooms clean and more than adequate. Loved it, great location for climbing Snowden. Will stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgas, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've stayed here a few times and can't complain. This time was for my sisters wedding which was a great day and all ran smoothly. The staff were very helpful on the first evening when we arrived with all the table decorations and everything else.
Our room was a refurbished one so was much more modern to any of the rooms I've stayed in previously. However when the photographer moved the beds to take some full length pictures of the dresses hanging we saw that they had obviously run out of carpet and there was a strip under the beds and the bedside cabinets of an old miss matched carpet. The room was clean as was the bathroom but the rooms get VERY hot during the night. I'd turned the heater right down as I was aware of this after previous stays but still it made no difference, both windows were open but it still didn't help. Having the windows open also caused us to hear some delightful arguments between a couple outside the hotel, words I can't really repeat on here!

We had a meal in the bar the evening before the wedding and the food was delicious, there was 9 of us and we all had no complaints about our food. The childrens portions are huge!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone for a break, a meal, a drink or even a wedding!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GretelRatzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was great value given its location so close to Snowdon. I went with a group of 6 friends and we booked the dinner inclusive tariff. This included a bottle of wine each. The dessert was a "home made" crumble and custard and was fantastic. The staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night on 27th May 2014. The hotel was a charming place, lovely well kept gardens and scenic views all around.
Check in was quick, no fuss :) Our room was on first floor and totally adequate for our needs, albeit the bed seemed a small double. Tea tray was most welcome, as was iron and ironing board in wardrobe.
Major let down was the bathroom. There were several pubic hairs on the floor around the toilet and on closer inspection it seemed that the loo had been given a quick wipe around the seat but nothing else - the actual toilet basin had wee marks around the top :( On the floor next to the toilet was a spare toilet roll but on picking it up, it was covered in dust, hairs and pubic hairs on the bottom. Thank goodness we didn't need to use it!!
The shower had a few mildew marks, black stains but nothing too offensive. The water temperature was fine, we had no problems with hot water.
The sink mixer tap was loose and when turning the hot tap on, I almost pulled the whole mixer tap away from the hole. Oops! Needs urgent attention, which I did indicate on guest comment card.
There was also quite a level of dust on the inside of the bathroom door frame.
Our night's sleep wasn't great as we were really hot, despite an open window. Also we could hear guests along corridor and above - not the hotel's fault I acknowledge.
Dinner in the restaurant was top notch - food was excellent standard and cooked to perfection. I'd highly recommend the fillet steak :)
Breakfast wasn't such a great experience - we came down towards the end of the breakfast service and had the leftovers it would seem - rubbery sausage, hard bacon. Not much choice of fruit, just watermelon and orange segments.
Drinks in the bar were served by a really helpful and friendly young man called Shaun. Although the prices went up after 7pm, we enjoyed trying the local real ales.
I would stay here again but I'd make sure to bring my antibacterial wipes just incase!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Han6381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly . The food at breakfast was great . We ate in bar and restaurant and loved it . Only dropped a star as first night it rained and guttering leaked . Lovely setting in a charming old hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nccmjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 22/04-26/04. The hotel is in a perfect location for the main attractions in Llanberis, ie within walking distance of the Snowdon mountain railway, the Llanberis Lake railway,the Electric mountain & Dolbadarn Castle. There are also many walks in Llanberis and the pass suitable for novices and professional walkers. The Hotel itself is typically victorian grand style with large gardens, high ceilings and creaking floors. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and the maid visited every day. The tea & coffee facility in the room is a bonus after a long day walking. The room was reasonably sized and the bed comfortable. On the down side, the room was very hot even though the radiator was switched off ! Shower was clean and well used but we expected this, especially at such a reasonable accommodation price (including breakfast). If you are looking for a budget priced hotel in a good location then this may be the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toylegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing