We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were the highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel in June with my partner. We had previously stayed here before and decided to return for a longer holiday. The staff were great. Check in was fast and easy, and they were very informative. The rooms were ok, they were very big and spacious but cleanliness could be improved. Evening meals were great. The staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough for us. We were seated by bay windows with a full view of Llanberris. We were served by a lovely tall young waitress who we were later told was called Elaine, and she was more than attentive and helpful. Her local knowledge was something to be praised, and after engaging in conversation we discovered she was a university student, and we would like to wish her luck. Breakfast was ok. The buffet was great, with a variety of cereals and fruit. The cooked breakfast could've been better, as the hash browns seemed undercooked and the eggs very oily. Overall, we would definitely stay here again. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Scenery, service, food, beer: all outstanding. What a find in the heart of rural North Wales! Will be visiting again soon for hopefully longer. Prices are reasonable for what you get. Peope who visit are all friendly :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldieReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed one night on Friday 11th July 2014. StFf very friendly and rooms comfortable. Bed very comfortable. Meals a little pricy however clearly a big hotel with likely high overheads so understandable when they have to charge higher. Could park at the hotel whilst climbing Snowdon before booking in. A good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwh6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We brought a group of 49 here over the May bank holiday and had mixed reviews from those on the trip. The first evening was a complete muddle for dinner as the staff were overwhelmed with the number of guests being served. Taking upto 30 minutes to get a drink. Many went to the bar themselves. Food was just OK!! Time to sit down was agreed in advance so why the issues? Breakfast on both mornings well managed. Sunday evening was better managed. Rooms OK some complaints about noise , several moved as they were out the back, one had a leak in the room! Overall - OK. Since the visit no one from the hotel has asked for any feedback!! Note: if you are bringing a large party ensure you have planned for any issues especially with the evening meals!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank CJBRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 days, hotel room was not very good. Stuffy& seen better days. Meals very good & hearty. La carte meals very good. Hotel had only 1 bar in action as others were been done up. Staff in hotel helpful, but the guy at reception didn't know any information about the surrounding area as I would like. Good thing was the snowdonia railway was down the hill, but you must booked in advance to avoid disappointment!

Room Tip: Check what room your on before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

To ALL THE STAFF & THE MANAGER
We had a fantastic stay at your hotel recently. The Staff were very helpful and welcoming. We have no hesitation about recommending this WONDERFUL hotel to our friends and work colleagues and we will definitely be back next year. Food 100%, the atmosphere 100% and etc......

Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOPE_CAT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here on a Fri night with group who'd just finished the 3 Peaks Challenge. Staff were very friendly and helpful; cheerfully gave us a hand with unloading loads of luggage and parephenalia we had in the mini bus. We had a few pints in the bar and enjoyed a chat with some locals before dinner. Always a good sign when locals are using the place. Beer was nice including a couple of local cask brews which went down very well :-).
Had a cracking dinner with a black beef Welsh steak - one of the best I've ever had and served by some very friendly and attentive staff.
As some previous reviews have stated - the hotel is a little dated but we got a good deal, great food, great service and had a smashing time. I'll be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
804 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,373 reviews
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: £64 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, bedfinder AG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing