We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Victoria snowdonia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Royal Victoria snowdonia”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks while we were working on the summit of snowdon,our room was fine,all the beds had mattress protectors on and pillows,breakfast was excellent,overall food was fine,we also used the bar every night,prices were reasonable and all the staff at the hotel were very helpfull

Room Tip: Try and book your room at the front of the hotel because the views are stunning at the front but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    575
    327
    126
    109
See reviews for
203
790
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in August, the staff were all pleasant in particular the afternoon receptionist was very helpful and friendly.
We had a twin room on the 3rd floor with no view, the room was ok for what we wanted it was clean, the beds were comfy and you could make a brew. The worse part was getting to the room 2 lifts to go 3 floors and down a maze of corridors! We got lost a few times trying to get to the second lift the stairs were no better.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, we had a meal in the evening which was nice but pricey for what it was.
The location was good close to the snowdon railway, we got a taxi to pen y pass £15 and took the miners walk up snowdon and then the llanberis walk back to the hotel.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we wanted to walk up snowdon

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor, near a lift if your not very mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

You can't get much closer to the start of the Llanberis footpath up Snowdon than this hotel. The start point is right across the road. We arrived early morning, parked free in the hotel car park and were straight on our way. After a gruelling 6 hours we arrived back to the hotel, were met by friendly helpful staff who checked us in quickly and offered to assist us with our baggage up to our first floor room which was at the back of the hotel. No views but we didn't mind. Room was modern and clean and had tea and coffee making facilities, a hairdryer, iron, tv, and toiletries. The beds were quite comfy and the room was warm. We opted to eat in the hotel and have a bar meal since Llanberis is a small town with only 2 restaurants open on a Sunday evening. The bar was modern, bright and comfortable. Six of us had a meal which included a Sunday roast of turkey and all the trimmings for £9.99. Breakfast the next morning was a nice treat, as the views across the gardens, over to the railways and mountains were stunning. No complaints about the food either. Continental and cooked to order options, fresh coffee and juice available. Excellent value for money at £53 per room considering it was peak season, bank holiday. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no view but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights - 23rd and 24th August and had a pleasant stay. Our room was on the second floor and had a great view. Rooms included a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, a kettle with tea and coffee facilities and a flat screen TV. The bed was a little hard and the shower wasn't very powerful but apart from that, it was a decent room. The breakfasts were good but the waitresses occasionally got guests' orders wrong! I asked for sausage one morning but was given bacon and a couple of guests on the next table asked for poached eggs but got scrambled! For dinner, we took advantage of the early diner deal - this was £21 for two courses per couple which we thought was pretty good value with a decent choice on the menu. The hotel has plenty of parking spaces which is a bonus and is a good base for visiting Snowdon and other parts of the region. All in all, we had a lovely time and enjoyed the break.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Wish I'd read about this horrible place before I had the misfortune to stay the night ! Absolutely filthy disgusting room ! Recommend you sleep rough and wash in a river or public toilet ! I served in the forces and have slept in cleaner forests . Minging hovel , sorry hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony Elks C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is in a good location with nice views over the area but the rooms are very basic and need to be updated as our bed was not comfortable and the shower was poor. The breakfast was standard and there was a nice range to choose from, however the evening meal was nothing special and lacks flavour.

A good location for exploring the area but this hotel needs a lot of work to get it up todate.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorrye22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean, the one we stayed in a bit dated... But it seems as though some rooms have been refurnished. Ask for a front room and view. Wifi downstairs.The bar area we used was very pleasant and modern in furnishings. Pool table was used a lot! There was a football channel TV and bar area. Grounds were well maintained. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountrysideHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
13.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
6.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
11.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing