We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel, excellent location and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
bucks
1 review
“A lovely hotel, excellent location and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I have read the other reviews on this site and can honestly say it sounds like a totally different hotel to where we stayed. I travelled with my husband and 2 young children aged 6 and 2. Check in was very easy, we had booked a family room (room 203) which was spacious, spotlessly clean, and quiet, eveything you would hope for. The beds were comfortable and extra pillows, and blankets were provided in the wardrobe. The family lounge was ideal for us as there was space for the children to play while we enjoyed a delicious cream tea, i loved the old fashioned childrens games in the bay window including a large connect four, and knock down pins. The location was fantastic a few minutes walk to the centre of Llanberis and all the touristy things you would hope for. Breakfast was great - huge pots of tea and coffee! we opted for the cooked breakfast on all 3 mornings we were there, and it was lovely and fresh and dleivered very quickly. The staff were very helpful from suggesting various local attractions to making my children feel very special. All in all a fantastic 3 night stay we will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    555
    322
    124
    108
See reviews for
192
771
53
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vila do Conde, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

The first impressions were very negative! The ladies of the front-desk weren't nice. Bad impressions to receive us! Nice one... The room was ok, good size, but it did not have a child bed. The employee that went to our room was nice and he immediately prepared the bed. The room was on first floor, on of the hall but around 22.30h the noise below stopped. The breakfast room was beautiful, a vintage look, and the breakfast was good. It is evident that the hotel needs urgent renewal.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

stayd here over the weekend and now i fow never to return to the victoria hotel,,, the staff are rood the food is awfull and the bedrooms are not clean!!!!!!!!!! after staying the first night i really wanted to go home but as i was down with my pardner visiting family we grinded our teeth and sufferd a nother night because we had payd for the pit hole. did go out for food in llanberis and there is a nother hotel down the road wich did a lovelly lunch and evening menu wich was amazing quality compare to here so next time might look in to staying there nextr time....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llanberis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We booked the hotel on a late deals website and we were really pleased with the price we paid for the deal on 4 nights stay.So i did expect some sort of catch regarding the accommodation.The twin room (room 102) was very small and dated in appearance but clean.The beds were comfy with crisp white sheets and duvet cover to match.The worst thing about the room was how hot it felt,we had to leave the window wide open day and night.I did mention this to reception and asked if there was the possibility of a room change we were informed that the hotel was fully booked so i asked if we could have a fan and one was supplied.However the breakfast was superb with a very good choice indeed on the buffet table which consisted of cereals,fresh fruit ,muffins,crossaints/pastries,prepared fruit grapefruit,oranges ,prunes and figs as well as fruit juice.This was followed by either a full english breakfast,porridge,a choice of cooked eggs finally toast and marmalade/jam plus tea or coffee this was all served promptly and politely by the staff so no complaints there regarding the meals.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would probadly come back to hotel again but not to the same room.The location and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweepSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed for 3 nights (Monday - Wed) 27th - 29th July. The room overlooked the garden next to the first floor dining room, with a view of the lake behind. It was clean, comfortable and pleasant . We had 2 dinners in evenings and a bar snack on the first evening. The bar was not very welcoming but food fine ( local sounding critical in Welsh " something, something MacDonald's" when we asked for the menu! The food was mainly fine in the dining room. There was a problem on one morning, when the hotel was full, we waited for about an hour for breakfast to be served, I think we slipped through the system, because some were served quickly and others were left waiting; as one waitress said "If you've ordered breakfast, you will get breakfast", meanwhile there were people queueing to get in,and yet there were empty tables which needed to be set with clean plates. Dinner was much more leisurely, probably because there were fewer of us. The staff were mainly friendly and helpful towards us - I heard from a local that they are rude to people on their own but we did not experience or witness that. I just felt that they needed better management of the service to avoid long waits/queues and to guarantee that people were served properly, maybe one person in overall charge at breakfast. However when we asked not to be seated by the kitchen door again we were shown to another part of the dining area.
We went to a local history talk, which was interesting. One evening the microphone/loudspeakers could be heard in our room from the lounge below but the music stopped at about 10.30 p.m.
Overall it was a bargain with a very reasonable rate ( fantastic discount) on line and unlike another review I have just read we were luckly enough to keep our booking!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staggmoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that due to an oversight they had double booked our prepaid rooms and we had to move to an alternative hotel in the middle of town. It is a coincidence that we were moved, maybe it had something to do with the great deal we got on the rooms online. With it being a nice day I am sure they bumped the cheapo rooms into town and waited for people to walk in and pay full price. The hotel we were moved to did let it slip that the Royal Victoria do this all the time. So be aware, you may think you are getting a great deal on a nice hotel but you could end up elsewhere!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tubamandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Great location, fantastic views, ideally situated for snowdon, mountain railway and other attractions. Grounds lovely,looks great on the outside.
However, the food is awful,the rooms are dire and the staff are the rudest i have ever had the misfortune to come across. (as well as being overpriced)
The bar is open to the public and usually full of the out of work locals complaining about the english invading their village. I was greeted in the bar area on my second visit by one local who commented very loudly from the corner.....why we didn't go climb mountains in my our own [--] country?.............i don't think llanberis has ever heard of the word hospitality. However, this is still the best and only proper 'hotel' to stay in in llanberis with the best facilities, some of the others are even worse especially the dolbadarn.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiltiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
13.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Property: The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing