We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great B&B”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llanberis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erw Fair Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
windsor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great B&B”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at this B&B when we walked Snowdon. We were made very welcolme, the breakfast was just right for a days walking. The supplied packed lunches were more than a man could eat but I did my best.
Very clean and tidy and well worth the money and would recommend this B&B to family and friends.

Room Tip: great place to walk up Snowdon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    18
    14
    9
    15
See reviews for
40
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

An excellent B&B in Llanberis. The owners were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the twin rooms at the top of the house which were clean and tidy and had access to shared bathrooms. The shared bathrooms were also spotless with electric showers which were very welcome after a day in the mountains.

After a good night's sleep, we were treated to a home cooked breakfast which was the perfect start to the day. There were also cereals and fresh fruit on offer.

We will be visiting again I'm sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We were made very welcome. Our room was comfortable, the breakfast very good and it was all reasonably priced

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and myself were on a 3 week holiday, via ferry from Rosslare - Fishguard then on to Cornwall, Devon, Oxford, Coventry, Birmingham and rounded off by a few days in Snowdonia prior to taking the ferry back to Ireland from Holyhead. I had memories of a previous great trip to Llanberis in 2004 as part of a group from a local walking club and I wanted to stay in the same place, luckily I found out the name after a bit of research. I emailed Martin about any vacancies for the last four nights of our holiday and got a prompt reply which was great as I was able to book the accommodation there and then (internet access was sporadic for us as we were constantly on the move) and I had found it necessary to book ahead all the time.
Landed last Thursday afternoon and was greeted by Martin who showed us to a lovely room, clean with tea/coffee facilities and plenty of space for our bags. Tackled Snowdon next day and the breakfast and packed lunches provided by Sally were a great start, we made short work of the mountain after that! I have stayed in several establishments and can certainly attest that the packed lunch here is the best! Tackled the Glyders horseshoe the day after and again the generous breakfast is a great start. Breakfasts excellent, choice as good as many small hotels we have stayed at in Ireland/UK. The room we had had its own washbasin and we had a choice of 2 shared bathrooms - the powerful instantaneous electric showers in either bathroom were a welcome treat after a days walking. No shortage of clean towels and also shampoos/soaps - all were provided. Clean towels were changed out every day despite our protestations that there was no need to go to that bother. Bed lovely and comfortable to boot. TV in room but we were too busy to watch much of it. Martin and Sally (the proprietors) could not do enough for us - the breakfast was delivered with great efficiency each morning and left us plenty of time to pack up and get ready for the walks, flasks were filled without fuss and they even put the heating on specially to help dry out gear when one party got soaked on Sunday. Despite being busy as the weekend rolled on, they always had time for a chat and a laugh with us. Our last day was spent in Llanberis village itself, plenty to do there with the Padarn Lake railway, the slate museum, the pumped storage power station (Electric Mountain) and Snowdon mountain railway as well as the Padarn park. The Padarn bus (Snowdon sherpa) stop is just across the road from this guest house and I got a welcome break from the driving, great to park up and get the bus to the popular walking start-points in Snowdonia national Park. The fact that it is just 36 miles/40 minutes from Holyhead make it a great base for Irish based groups travelling over by ferry to Snowdonia, a walk can even be fitted in before taking the boat back to Dublin.
To conclude, both of us really enjoyed our last four nights here and Martin and Sally made us feel very welcome, both on arrival and on check-out. I certainly intend returning there with some hill walking friends in the not too distant future. The location in the village centre is also ideal with the bars and restaurants and the attractions described above all within walking distance (great to give the driver a break!). Thanks a lot for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Peter and Ita, Limerick, Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A thoroughly fantastic B&B the owners could not been more welcoming after our long drive. The room we stayed in was spotless and we had a warm welcome into the ErwFair. After a good nights sleep we had a great breakfast which came with a lovely selection of fresh fruit and cereals. It was certainally as good as any hotel that we have stayed in recently and everything was cooked fresh to order and came out on piping hot plates.
The room was cleaned up and changed during our stay to a very high standard and fresh towels where provided.
I can only commend the owners Martin & Sally on their B&B and what a lovely relaxing place it is. We plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I do understand why people might find Martin rude. But you know what? Lighten up. He's just a bit brisk and has a somewhat eclectic sense of humor. The only people I saw him be abrupt to while we were there, frankly deserved it for being daft (complaining about the cold after leaving their windows open all day). Also, far from trying to overcharge, he knocked money off for the most minor of inconveniences to us, without asking (from a very reasonable rate too if you ask me). The free wifi was a nice unadvertised surprise and the breakfast was terrific. The entire place is spotless as far as I could see, and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to a good B&B in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onceinawhileUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

- not clean (spiders in bathroom and lots of dust under the bed, windows cleaned ca. 10 years ago)
- sticky room underneath the roof with no space
- shared bathroom
- Martin - the boss- very unfriendly especially if you intend on promised internet acess
- broken furniture, e.g. the wardrobe
- no application form had to be filled in - no tax report to the authorities?
- breakfast good

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.1 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y Gwynedd Inn
Y Gwynedd Inn
#10 of 15 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Idan House Guest House
Idan House Guest House
#8 of 15 in Llanberis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erw Fair Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erw Fair Guesthouse

Property: Erw Fair Guesthouse
Address: Erw Fair High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erw Fair Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Erw Fair Hotel
Erw Fair Llanberis
Erw Fair Guesthouse Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing