We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable rooms with excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable rooms with excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here when my husband did the Snowdonia marathon, our 13 year old was with us and we got a delightful room with a large king size bed, and the sofa bed was exceptionally comfortable, clean and modern bathroom with a fabulous power shower, the usual teas and coffee with crisps and chocolate which was a bonus in the room. great cooked breakfast alongside cereals, fruit and yogurts close enough to walk to the local eateries and shops, friendly owners too and max, their Alsatian was no bother at all! The views even from the rear were beautiful ! We will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manager956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    59
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have to admit that I wasn't all that hopeful on arrival as the exterior could probably do with a lick of paint. That said who looks for that long at the outside of where you're staying, especially in such stunning surroundings.
We were met by Martin who was very friendly and of course knowledgeable of the area.
Our rooms (8 & 9) were on the 3rd floor and 8 in particular had a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. The rooms were really nicely decorated, and the en suite very modern. Great shower, nice and powerful. The rooms were clean and stocked with the usual tea and coffee, but also a bag of crisps and chocolate. The breakfast was very good, although the young lass cooking and serving it wasn't overly friendly and I did feel we were inconveniencing her a little by being there. End of a long season though I'm sure.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

All in all this place is alright. The location makes it a good base for hitting the hills. The full Breakfast was ok but nothing more. When we asked for poached egg on toast though it was spot on, so maybe steer away from the standard. Unfortunately the bed smelt of stale sweat when we got in on our first night but this was sorted out when we asked. I'd probably go back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummiePedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this B+B 3 nights last week and found the room clean with a comfy double bed. Although I would have preferred a bath in our room, it did have had a powerful shower which was needed after coming back from Snowdon.
As others have already said there was Tea/ coffee facilities in the room (with crisps) and the owner was happy to top up the teabags etc I was a little worried about the room being close to the road but this was not an issue, heard very little noise.
The owner was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, making some good recommendations on where to eat / avoid
Would recommend staying here if you want reasonable priced b+ b with a good breakfast

Good choice of breakfasts from yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals and toast to full Englishhe full breakfast kept us going most of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyc305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

From the outside and entrance hall doesn't look that great but well worth the money as the rooms are lovely and breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend. Owner was very friendly and location is ideal as close to snowdon and a very short walk to pubs etc for drinks and dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed Fri - Sun and summited snowdon on saturday with a group of friends for charity.
The alpine lodge was easy to find, lovely homely place, very comfortable beds and fab hot power shower which was much needed after a very cold and windy day on the mountain!
On Saturday morning we wanted to leave by 8am to catch the shuttle bus and although breakfast is usually served from 8-9am, the owner got up early to make us a hearty breakfast of bacon and eggs before we set off. Great location just a few mins walk along the high street to the local pubs / restaurants and bus stops. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Superior Room on second floor overlooking the lake was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very good B&B, large modern family room which looked newly refurbished, lovely bathroom with spacious bath and shower, tea/coffee facilities with an added treat of chocolate and crisps! Clean and tidy throughout. Good choice of breakfasts from yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals and toast to full English. Friendly staff and very obliging when we asked for extras like milk for our room. We had a room on the top floor with great views of lake padarn. Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Gets room on the top floor for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
14.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lake View
Lake View
#6 of 8 in Llanberis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Llanberis
Alpine Lodge Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing