We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and dog friendly hotel.”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Enjoyed 2 nights here with the family and our dog.
This is in a great location, with fantastic views and a pleasant 10 minute walk to the Snowdon and Lake Railways.
The whole hotel appears to have been recently decorated. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The bathrooms are small but well equipped.
We liked the crisps and chocolate biscuits on the tea trays, and breakfast was delicious.
Very good value for money. We would highly recommend the Alpine Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 420Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I always judge a hotel by the way that I'm received and greeted, especially if you are delayed in getting to your destination.
When I arrived, I was very warmly welcomed, given help to take some luggage to my room and given great advice on where the best places to eat or drink were. The advice was superb, myself and our group enjoyed really good food, beer and the odd Welsh whiskey. The breakfast next morning was excellent, perfect for fuelling up ready for a day on the hills.
Towards the end of the day on the hills, I ended up in hospital with a severely broken leg.
I had a prolonged stay in hospital, requiring the AA to transport my car back to Hampshire where I live. The hotel were kind enough to look after my car until the AA arrived.
That is the sort of service I love in a hotel and certainly with Alpine Lodge. It was a bonus that the hotel and rooms were simply, but beautifully decorated, the beds being extremely comfy too!
Thank you both so much for your kindness and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We are frequent users of this wonderful establishment, and every time, without fail, we are welcomed back by the fabulous staff and proprietors. If I tried I could not fault the place! The location is excellent: not far from the beautiful lake, the popular Snowdon path, and my aunt's house (but that's somewhat irrelevant for other visitors!). Unfortunately, I cannot comment on the breakfast but, the coffee was great, and everybody else enjoyed theirs (and there were 9 of us in all). The rooms were impeccably clean and beautifully laid out. I especially liked the new bathrooms - modern and elegant. It goes without saying that we will be staying here again! Big thank you to everyone for their service!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank emmalovesrome13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on 28th March 2014. Found it very easily, and was welcomed in straight away. Was quickly shown to our room, and given great advice about where to walk our dog.

Was offered help to unload the car, and was made sure our room was what we expected.

The room was fantastic, I've stayed in much worse and more expensive places in the past and this was a welcome surprise. It was very warm in our room on arrival, and whenever it got cold it didnt take long to heat up. If anything it was slightly too warm overnight, but thats just me, I like it a bit cool.

Throughout our stay the staff, whom I assume are the owners were extremely friendly and helpful.

The location is ideal for walking up Snowdon, which was our aim for the weekend, and the lake opposite is a beauty, especially early in the morning.

Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous, and there was loads of it.

My only criticism would be the pillows on the bed arn't very nice. But this is a personal preference as I like my pillows really soft.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, and we will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jader1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Phone confirmation with card details to book room so remember to pay before you leave. On arrival we had a lovely welcome and was shown to our room. This was very warm and clean, with a very large comfy bed and a fantastic power shower. The breakfast was also very nice with lots of extra toast and refills on coffee and tea. One of our group is a vegetarian and was very impressed with her breakfast.Its a great location for visiting Snowdon and surrounding areas. The local Indian restaurant is also very high standard. Would come again and plan to do so very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 7 great as they are at the front, then rooms 6 is at the back a great double but watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulagravy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Large bedroom overlooking the Lake. Excellent breakfast with homemade extras. Onsite parking, although limited. Really friendly owner/manager who helped us upstairs with our luggage as there was no lift.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the lake was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose-of-the-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely cosy rooms, plenty of hot water. Friendly staff, off road parking and a great veg breakfast.
Great location for getting into the mountains.
Thank you.

Over the years traveling from the midlands to north wales I'd now recommend M6 then across the top not the A5, it's a lot quicker.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank K2AAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanberis
0.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.8 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
787 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range: £60 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Llanberis
Alpine Lodge Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing