We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub!”
Review of Cwellyn Arms

Cwellyn Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Rhydd Ddu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$39
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely pub!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We visit this pub every time we visit snowdon, it's our treat after climbing the mountains! The food as always was lovely and the pub was cosy and had a good and friendly atmosphere. Only downside was I thought the portion sizes were smaller this year than in previous years but this certainly wouldn't put us off visiting again. The baked snowdon desert was amazing. Can't wait to come back again! Thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    88
    37
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“glorious food”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Cwellyn arms may be quite expensive, but the food is fantastic! There is a fairly large range to chose from, nice staff and a pleasant atmosphere. The scenery around the pub is beautiful. Other than the expense, I cannot really fault the place. I would recommend the gammon, and steak, but everything there tastes beautiful too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_Beswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire uk
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Steak and kidney pie heaven”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Climbed snowdon and to get me up and down the thought of this pub kept me going. , it didn't disappoint.
Great ales, very cosy, wood burning fire, we both had the steak and kidney pie and it was truly amazing, I did manage to fit in the home made apple pie and ice cream too ! Again truly fab.
Can't wait to go back again and try the steak.
Excellent staff very attentive, dog friendly and all the locals happily chatted to us, loved it.
We didn't book but it was 6pm, got very busy as we left.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HayleyGirardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“"Mine de rien" as the French say, this place is tops!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I spent a week bouncing about Snodwonia. While the scenery is rarely matched by the food, this place is a welcome exception. So much so that my kids begged me to return for a second meal so we sampled lunch and dinner. The setting is one of the best in the National Park. Snowdon mountain and the trail to ascend it appear right before the restaurant. Just behind, there is a lovely lake stocked with fish and also a new lovely trail that runs down the valley (perfect for small kids).

If the weather cooperates, you can eat outdoors and gaze upon Snowdon as we did for lunch. Canine lovers will also feel. Wry welcome here. Our dog received his very own bowl when drinks were served. He was also welcome back into the main room for dinner in a charming room before a roaring fire.

Beyond ambiance, the food itself was the best we had in this part of Wales. Slow cooked pork was a major hit and their Welsh lamb was also fantastic. Their desserts were also divine. In short, this should be on every visitor's itinerary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We ate in the Cwellyn Arms twice during our recent stay in Beddgelert and thoroughly enjoyed both meals although they were completely different in nature, for reasons which I will explain.

I and 4 members of my family were in the area for a long weekend during which we climbed Snowdon as part of a 60th birthday challenge.As it was early in the season (2 weeks before Easter) there wasn't much happening and sadly the weather wasn't good so there weren't very many people around either.

Our first meal at the Cwellyn Arms was on Sat 5th April - my birthday. We weren't planning to have a birthday meal as we intended to walk Snowdon the following day and to celebrate after somewhere we could walk to - The Royal Goat, Beddgelert. However we had had an entertaining day driving up to Snowdonia - experiencing a flat tyre on route - so we were hungry and looking for good ale. I had seen the Cwellyn Arms on the internet and, as nothing in Beddgelert looked exciting, we dropped in on the off chance at about 6pm on a cold wet, blustery Saturday night. Although the pub was pretty full already with people eating we were made very welcome and they quickly checked and found us a table in the bar. And then, whilst we were ordering, they came back to offer us a table in the restaurant, once the table became free.

The rest of the evening continued as our welcome had suggested it might: wonderful food - some interesting and unusual choices not just standard pub fare and the ale was really good too (I am told by my husband and son!). The watresses and owner couldn't do enough for us and we had a really great relaxing time. What a great start to our weekend.

Our second visit to the Cwellyn was on Monday 7th April. Because the weather was bad we didn't manage to walk Snowdon until the Monday so the three left in our party were starving when we set off for food at 8pm. We didn't want to go far and had hoped to find something in Beddgelert but the bistro was closed, and we were refused service at both the Tanronnin Inn and the The Royal Goat, the latter despite the fact that we had paid for a rather largte meal there the evening before and we said we would be happy to have anything when they mentioned they didn't have much stock left! We were also aware that their last orders were taken at 8.30pm and we arrived at 8.20pm ...

Our thoughts went to the Cwellyn and the welcome we had had earlier and set off in the car. What a wonderful choice! Despite the fact that it was 8.30pm before we got there and they were just about to stop serving they quickly agreed to provide us with something from their bar menu. We all had basic meals e.g. burgers and lasagne but it arrived pretty quickly and was delicious. And they were more than willing to make some changes e.g. changing a bread roll with the lasagne for a garlic bread roll at no extra cost.

So we can't thank the Cwellyn enough, for providing us with food when they could easily have said no, as 2 other places already had, for giving us a wonderful special meal on one occasion and some good home fare on another, for a great pint of ale in an area where real ale isn't all that well done and for the warmth and freindlyness they extended to us. If you want a good pint or great food, special or otherwise, I would highly recommend the Cwellyn Arms.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywalker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cwellyn Arms also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cwellyn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing