We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating and Friendly People with ideal accommodation”
Review of Cwellyn Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhydd Ddu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cwellyn Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Cwellyn Arms this weekend in a group of 14 blokes. This is never going to be the easiest to accommodate but all the staff made us feel very welcome, even suggesting the best route up Snowdon on our early (8am) arrival!

The loft bunkhouse is ideal for a big group of walkers and the small loft can accommodate a small family. The loft consists of beds laid out and cooking facilities as well as a shower and toilet. The staff let us use the camping showers as well which saved time and these facilities were excellent. At £15 each a night this is most definitely value for money.

The food at the pub is generalyl excellent and hits the spot after a long walk and too many ales, speaking of which the ale selection is brilliant.

Have to say I would definitely reccommend the Cwellyn Arms to any walking/drinking groups!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed at Cwellyn Arms campground a handful of times before and had a wonderful experience; also have spent hundreds of quid at the restaurant which boasts one of the best chefs in the UK (the owner's son). That said, this last trip was not only disappointing but extremely disturbing.
We booked the campsite for two nights as a quiet "get away" and not to necessarily hike this time (my friend was mourning the loss of her father & brother and just really needed some quiet time in nature). The dates were Sunday / and a bank holiday Monday. Unannounced to us, they started to perform maintenance (with loud machinery) on the bank holiday Monday and it continued throughout the day all the way up to nearly 6:oo pm! (weed whipped, tractor-mowed the lawn, etc.). *see photos of tractor path right up to our tent which i was in and my friend was sitting outside at the time they were mowing!). Throughout the day, i remained in the tent trying to read and my friend finally went to her car in the parking lot reading a book just trying to get away from the noise. We just didn't think it would go on all day and thought to hang in there but finally realised by 5:oo pm (with the noise still as loud as ever) that we were distressed from the lack of quiet and decided to end our trip early and go home. We went into the Cwellyn Arms pub/Restuarant and i explained very kindly and cautiously that we would like to ask for a refund of our money and would like to leave as the noise had just been unbearable. The staff was quite kind but said they need to grab the owner... who upon hearing the story, suggested we were "cheeky" to ask for a refund and then under his breath started to "bully" us with passive aggressive communication. i had just said again that i was sorry and understood if they have to mow and have loud equipment going all day but that if that was the case, it would have been nice to know and we would have gone elsewhere... his anger escalated telling us to "make sure we pack up quickly" and "MAKE SURE TO NEVER COME BACK". i felt completely bullied. We completed the refund transaction and then got in our car to drive back to the campsite to pack our things and the owner stormed out and got in his four-runner only to pull in front of us and then go through the gate before us and close it right in front of us. He then drove to the campsite parking lot, got out of his car and hovered over, watching over the grounds as we quietly packed. He then approached my friend as i was in the car and instigated an argument (loudness only from his side as she recorded the conversation and played it to me afterwards)... he was yelling about "putting so much money into the shower heads" "people complaining about the midges" and he "puts everything into his campsite" and just telling her to PACK FAST and NEVER COME BACK!!! He brought my friend to tears and she was very upset from the encounter.

He then pulled ahead of us again as we were leaving and got out of his vehicle from above and glared down at us.

That said, i have stayed at this campsite many times before and eaten at the fabulous restaurant. i think "lack of customer service" is an understatement. It would have been so easy to just mention the loud noise that would be going on so as to give us the choice to go elsewhere. And / or just apologise for the noise and refund our money.

Maybe this was a "one-off" and the owner was/is dealing with some kind of extra life-stress at the moment. But that be the case, i would suggest the staff take over for a bit until he is able to control his behaviour.

The campsite itself is beautiful, but this review is to let you know that your dealing with a man who is a bully and has severe anger management issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Travelswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwellyn A, General Manager at Cwellyn Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review, although I do dispute a fair amount.
We do try to keep up on the maintenance of the fields, with as little, as possible, disruption to any of our campers.
Bank holiday Monday was a dry day and also the following day, ( the grass needs cutting and collecting on two consecutive dry days) there were exactly two tents on the campsite and both were thought to be empty when the tractor started on your field at 4.15pm for two hours work on that field.
This certainly does not constitute continued work, throughout the day
We were informed that you were not in your tent when the work started and were later seen walking back down the boardwalk from the lake with your dog towards your tent.
We do apologise for any stress and upset of the tractor noise from 4.15pm to your checking out, but we do need to take advantage of any dry days and as both tents were empty, there was nobody to ask or inform of the work.
We were willing to give a refund for that night and the remark “cheeky” was given when you insisted on two day’s refund!!
Graham left Cwellyn Arms, to check on the grass cutting whilst the one day refund was being given at Cwellyn Arms and was already on the campsite when you pulled up to the gate.
Graham did talk with your friend to explain how much work had been carried out on the fields, shower block and under floor heating etc. and how our aim is for everyone to enjoy their stay, but if you were that unhappy it would probably be best for you to find another campsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Me & 13 friends stayed in the big bunkhouse for a weekend mountain bike riding in North Wales. The place was clean & tidy with 5 x showers & toilets. There were enough beds for the 14 of us with more to spare. There was a kitchen with all the essential equipment, a washing/drying room & a big dining room. All you need to do is turn up with your sleeping bag. We hired the whole bunkhouse for the bargain price of £225 per night.

Down from the bunkhouse was a walkway to the lake with magnificent views of Mount Snowdon. We ate at the Cwellyn Arms each night & the food was excellent, the staff were friendly & the beer was great too.

I can highly recommend the big bunkhouse for anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernowpioxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This campsite is a great camsite to stay in regards to a camping holiday, first time there .we used nant gwynant for a while, but with price changeling on bank holidays and rude staff we changed to the cwellyn arms. the pitching fee doesn't change on bank holidays,the staff don't bother you and are helpfully and all the amenities are provided in the campsite. £9.00 pp includes tent car fire pit bench table carts to carry your gear showers and toilets very clean, a lot more camping for your money great value, it's the top campsite in wales goodby nat gwynant hello cwellyn arms

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in farm 2 for the first weekend in April. The location is perfect for the walk up snowdon however the weather scuppered those hopes, but plenty to do within a short drive; Caernarfon castle, Anglesey, portmerion etc. The bed was enormous with lovely soft sheets-had a great nights sleep! Accommodation was very spacious and the central heating made our stay very cozy in the torrential rains! One potential problem though is that there is no landline phone in farm 2, there is also no mobile reception or wifi. So in an emergency or a problem with the accommodation you have to walk or drive to the cwellyn arms. You should be aware of this if you plan to have a glass of wine or two!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethjupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had the "Sunday Roast" here as we were staying in Ryhd-Ddu, and thought it would be convenient.
The food was OK and plain, which is to be expected for a Sunday Roast, but quite small portions - certainly not my idea of a roast dinner.
Probably worth less than half of the £11.45 they charge.
All in all, a bit of a rip-off.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Fair_an_square22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

2 off us stayed at the campsite run by the Cwellyn Arms whilst walking up snowdon. We booked the saturday night but arrived very late on the Friday which was no trouble for the owners. The campsite is as flat as can be and is right on the lake and next to the river, very picturesque. The only downside were a lot of midges around early evening but these disappeared by the time we returned from the pub. Facilities are new with HOT showers and ample toilets and sinks. Unfortunately the ablutions block fills with steam and condensation easily which detracted from the overall good quality of the facilities, perhaps a decent extractor system is needed.

the large fire pits are good but you can only buy logs at the pub at £5 a bag, which is reasonable.

The pub was nice, with open fire and many quality guest ales. The food was excellent!!! as a guide 2 of us both has steaks, cheese board and port each and 5 ales each with a bill of £122.

The campsite is between the start of the Rhyd Ddu path and the Ranger path for Snowdon

The Owners are very nice and I will be returning here again, trying out the bunkhouses at some point.

Room Tip: There are 2 fields. the best place to pitch, in my opinion, is lakeside. there is a very gentle slo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhydd Ddu
3.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Snowdon Ranger
YHA Snowdon Ranger
#2 of 2 in Rhydd Ddu
122 reviews
5.2 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 22 in Caernarfon
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwellyn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwellyn Arms

Address: Cwellyn Arms, Rhydd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhydd Ddu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rhydd Ddu
Hotel Class:4 star — Cwellyn Arms 4*
Also Known As:
Cwellyn Arms Snowdonia National Park/Rhydd Ddu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing