We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Base for hiking on Mt Snowdon”
Review of Cwellyn Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhydd Ddu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cwellyn Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Stanwell Park, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Great Base for hiking on Mt Snowdon”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

PLANWYDD - The Farmhouse 1. Stayed here from the 4th - 7th June. Had a most enjoyable stay. The farmhouse is charming, spacious, comfortable and well appointed. There is nothing to complain about at this property.
The Mt Snowdon walks are tiring but very rewarding. The views are to die for. The location and views from the farmhouse are not to shabby either. Recommend you make a few visits to the Cwellyn Arms Pub for a drink and/or a meal. Both staff and patronage are friendly and welcoming. We swapped stories with the other patrons over the days hiking.
All in all, a great stay. I already want to go back!
Remember, if you are self catering you need to stock-up before you get to Rhyd Ddu. Nearest supermarket is 25 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    64
    21
    16
    16
See reviews for
56
100
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the small bunkhouse and although it was 'bijoux' it was plenty for just 2 people using it as a base. The accommodation is very basic, think glamping rather than camping, there is some crockery and utensils and bedding (no towels), the shower is warm/hot and there is a third bunk bed (but it's a squeeze). The best thing about the accommodation is the outside space with seating, tables and a fire pit, it was great sitting outside watching the bats and the owls (the owls nest was about 100 yards away) and of course it was a perfect base for a climb up Snowdon. The Cwellyn Arms is a short walk away and does decent enough food and some real ale and coming back the owner stopped and gave us a lift!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This camp-site is great. The views of Snowdon are spectacular, the facilities are good with a big shower block. The lake at the end of the camp-site is fantastic and easy to get a kayak into. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Would happily return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just back from 2 nights camping on this beautiful campsite. The views of Snowdon etc are amazing, the lake and stream running up the side of the site were a real hit with our dog. Really friendly staff at the pub where you book in and the owner also very friendly when doing his rounds on Friday night. The facilities were outstanding, warm and clean and plenty of hot water in the showers.
We had originally booked in May but cancelled due to weather, we were able to carry our booking over to different dates - thanks a million for this.
No mobile phone signal on the ground but clear signals up the mountains.
Lovely place to get away from it all - spectacular scenery inland and only 20 minute drive from the coast.
Will defiantly be back. thanks again :)
Val and Paul (and Daisy the dog)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValGreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here over 2 nights while me and a few friends climbed snowdon.
The campsite is just beautiful, you can see snowdon from relaxing by your tent. The lake is lovely to have a paddle/swim in after a long walk. The fire pits are an awesome idea as sitting round a fire of an evening is very nice. The shower and toilet block are just awesome! Underfloor heating, heated mirrors, nice, clean and really nice hot and powerful showers! I would recommend this place to anyone! Plus very cheap for what you get!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My two friends and I stayed at the campsite from Friday 13th, to Sunday morning. We arrived late Friday night, nearing 11pm. We stopped by the pub to check in, were directed to the campsite and headed off! On arrival at the site, we unpacked the car, and began getting set up. Midges everywhere! It wasn't something I minded, the location and time of day we arrived were probably the reasons for this, and was understandable, we wrapped up our faces, and got everything set up, no problems at all. In fairness the bites weren't even bad, they come up in a little red mark, that fades in a few hours, and weren't itchy at all. The next morning we stopped by the pub and met the owner, a friendly gentleman who helped us a lot during our stay. We informed him of our plans to climb Snowdon, and he presented us with a small map, and helped us decide our path. It was beautiful, up at the top the views were fantastic, I've never seen anything quite like it. We made it down later that day, and decided to chill out around camp, with a fire and a few beers before going to see the England match. Little did we realise, lighting a fire is much harder than it looks, even with lighter fluid! When the owner / manager (sorry!) Did his rounds, he saw our struggle, and came to give a helping hand, with his trusty axe he chopped some logs into kindling, and supplied us with newspaper. Before we knew it he had it going! Woohoo! The rest of the evening was spent relaxing after our long day. That evening we went to the inn to catch the England game. As expected it was quite full, we still managed to get a good view of the game though, but unfortunately we left around 20 minutes in due to tiredness, and it being quite loud, but look, it was England's first game of the world cup, the only pub close by and it wasn't like people there were rough and just obnoxious, everyone was freindly and excited. We headed back, and decided it was best to hit the sack, we were all knackered. On the Sunday morning, we packed up and headed of back to Leeds. We'll definitely be back again!

For the people moaning about WiFi / phone signal... Stop being so ignorant, you can actually get signal about half way up Snowdon... I bought a £9 phone, the battery lasted all weekend, no problems.

Thanks for all your help, see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in their "Loft" bunkhouse recently after a 24 hour Three Peaks Challenge. The "Loft" is basically the converted storage space above a garage. Plus points are the toilet and shower are acceptable and it has a fully fitted kitchen with cutlery, crockery and a fridge freezer, and has great views of Snowdon from the campsite opposite. On the negative side though it was baking hot despite the heating all being turned off and we couldn't leave the windows open to cool it down because of the millions of midges that live in the area. What's wrong with fitting a few midge nets on the windows!? There were no beds just mattresses on the floor, making it look like a crack den. The bunkhouse we stayed in at Fort William before we started the Three Peaks was palatial by comparison with twin rooms, proper bunks and was only £3 a head more which made this all the more depressing. We got a poor nights sleep which was just what we didn't need after 24 hours on the go. Won't be coming back.

Room Tip: You'd be better off in a tent on the campsite... as long as you bring a truckload of midge repel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhydd Ddu
4.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.1 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Snowdon Ranger
YHA Snowdon Ranger
#2 of 2 in Rhydd Ddu
112 reviews
5.2 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 21 in Caernarfon
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwellyn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwellyn Arms

Property: Cwellyn Arms
Address: Cwellyn Arms, Rhydd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhydd Ddu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rhydd Ddu
Hotel Class:4 star — Cwellyn Arms 4*
Also Known As:
Cwellyn Arms Snowdonia National Park/Rhydd Ddu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing