We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super campsite and what a location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cwellyn Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhydd Ddu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cwellyn Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super campsite and what a location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The campsite boasts good facilities, the shower block has been recently been refurbished and is kept clean and tidy. The site is well kept and the surrounding scenery superb, with the lake framed with mountains on either side. An ideal location to access the paths up the western slopes of Mt Snowdon and the eastern end of the Nantile Ridge. The pub is a short walk (10min) up the road, where they have a good selection of ales and a friendly welcome! I thoroughly enjoyed my recent visit (11th - 13th July 2014) and I am planning to return before the end of August. One thing to note, my mobile did not have any service at the campsite, so no calls or wi-fi; it was great to get away from it all!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    60
    18
    15
    14
See reviews for
52
95
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This campsite never fails to score 100% every time we come here! Beautiful location, facilities and even when you think it might be full by the number of cars on the car park, there is more than enough room for everyone so no need to crush next to your neighbours.
Some of the most minute details have been considered by the owners to make this a great base either for one night or for families on a longer visit. Our grandson (aged 6) was enthralled by everything from the campfire, sleeping out for the first time, the alligators in the long grass (wooden carvings of course), he even caught a tiddler in his fishing net from the pier over the lake, and we hope that we have converted the family to the pleasures of camping. The owner keeps a friendly eye on everyone which is very reassuring and is an excellent host up at the village pub as well. This was the first time we had visited in the high summer and forgot to bring the right repellant for the midges - we soon got some! It's a pity we couldn't be a bit closer as we would use it more often. However, I am sure we will be back before the end of the year!

Room Tip: Bring equipment (tent as well as clothing) for all weathers as you can experience several seasons in...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aneesh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is a must campsite to say you have been to, we will be back very soon. The views are priceless and the lake is great to walk in or swim! The grounds are very clean and have a great forest to walk into.
Owner was very nice made us feel welcome.
Thank you

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect and boasts some impressive facilities. The toilet block is great, as is the laundry room. The pub is a short walk up the hill and serves food, but you want to make sure you book in advance as it gets very busy. Quite a few draught ales, but due to a tangy taste I stayed with the Larger. Perhaps I was just unfortunate and had a pint from the bottom of the barrel.

I will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwell Park, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

PLANWYDD - The Farmhouse 1. Stayed here from the 4th - 7th June. Had a most enjoyable stay. The farmhouse is charming, spacious, comfortable and well appointed. There is nothing to complain about at this property.
The Mt Snowdon walks are tiring but very rewarding. The views are to die for. The location and views from the farmhouse are not to shabby either. Recommend you make a few visits to the Cwellyn Arms Pub for a drink and/or a meal. Both staff and patronage are friendly and welcoming. We swapped stories with the other patrons over the days hiking.
All in all, a great stay. I already want to go back!
Remember, if you are self catering you need to stock-up before you get to Rhyd Ddu. Nearest supermarket is 25 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the small bunkhouse and although it was 'bijoux' it was plenty for just 2 people using it as a base. The accommodation is very basic, think glamping rather than camping, there is some crockery and utensils and bedding (no towels), the shower is warm/hot and there is a third bunk bed (but it's a squeeze). The best thing about the accommodation is the outside space with seating, tables and a fire pit, it was great sitting outside watching the bats and the owls (the owls nest was about 100 yards away) and of course it was a perfect base for a climb up Snowdon. The Cwellyn Arms is a short walk away and does decent enough food and some real ale and coming back the owner stopped and gave us a lift!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This camp-site is great. The views of Snowdon are spectacular, the facilities are good with a big shower block. The lake at the end of the camp-site is fantastic and easy to get a kayak into. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Would happily return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhydd Ddu
3.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.3 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.1 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#3 of 21 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwellyn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwellyn Arms

Property: Cwellyn Arms
Address: Cwellyn Arms, Rhydd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhydd Ddu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rhydd Ddu
Hotel Class:4 star — Cwellyn Arms 4*
Also Known As:
Cwellyn Arms Snowdonia National Park/Rhydd Ddu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing