We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thought this was Jamuna, pleasantly surprised, what a lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Peppers

Black Peppers
Ranked #28 of 244 Restaurants in Wrexham
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Black Peppers is a well know establishment in Wrexham with an excellent reputation for its exhilarating style of cooking and astounding wine selection. The head chef Babul Hussain and his talented team have revolutionised Indian and Bangladeshi cuisines, by integrating traditional style of cooking with locally sourced quality produce. This combination of innovative cooking has led to wonderful flavoured dishes that excite and replenish your taste buds. The manager and young entrepreneur, Forkful Islam (Jay) has an excellent and very friendly waiting on team of staff, which provide a professional service and have extensive knowledge of the menu in order to help choose the desired dish. The Black Peppers restaurant is situated by the historic Saint Giles church, in the town centre. The lavishly decorated interior and its ambient lighting are in contrast to the historic setting on York Street. The establishment opened its doors in November 2011, having already five successful establishments across North Wales and England; it was decided to make Wrexham number six. "A delicious twist on a curry classic" - THE LEADER, Wrexham - 5 Star Food Hygiene Rating
wrexham
2 reviews
“Thought this was Jamuna, pleasantly surprised, what a lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Visited on New Years eve with our 2 teenage children. This was a very enjoyable evening. Something for everyone. Food was fresh, tasty and perfectly cooked. This was a lovely way to begin the new year. Another visit planned soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazza25Wrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    38
    16
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best curry I've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Went yesterday as I was back in Wrexham visiting family. The food was excellent - I had the vegetable balti and it was full of fresh veg as opposed to the cheap tinned veg you often get in some curry places. My Mum had the mixed veg tandoori and it really did look delicious - lots of food envy around the table!

The food didn't come quickly - but we were there for the evening not a quick take away so it didn't bother us at all and it really was worth the wait.
To top off a lovely evening they actually gave us a free bottle of wine to take home which was fab! I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank welshgirlhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't believe these negative reviews about Black Peppers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Reading about these negative reviews about Black Peppers customers being starving because they had to wait for a meal for a bit longer than they wanted to,They have
most probably been out all day watching the rugby and drinking according to the date they complained so yes they would think you were starving ........,but you dont know what starving means,you were a little impatient when most probably they were about 20 people before you I expect...........I am a customer and feel these are very unfair comments as the quality of service and meals in this establishment are brilliant........Its a cowards way of complaining because you cant be a regular customer or you would know thats not the case.Sometimes you do have to wait to give a bad review for that is unfair. .....Its still one of the bets restaurants in Wrexham

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank welshlady008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

i have been here twice and the food has been excellent and i am fussy. going again tonight the chicken rezella is perfect. service is good they try their best. i have never been when it is busy i go off peak.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steveirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor Standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

First time we ordered since the change from Jamuna to Black Peppers we were quite impressed the next time we were appalled by the quality of the food. They missed out one main course and i had to wait until it was ready though i can forgive them for that as they were apologetic, but it just meant i was starving and couldn't forgive them for the poor standard of food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNSHINE_EXPERT365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Peppers also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Ruabon, Wrexham County
 

Been to Black Peppers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing