We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Look Down !!”

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct
Book In Advance
More Info
US$690.95*
and up
Private Llangollen and the River Dee Day Trip including Pontcysyllte Aqueduct
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Look Down !!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

An amazing piece of Victorian engineering providing an opportunity to walk up to 120ft above the Dee valley. Walkers have the relative protection of an iron railing on one side and the Llangollen canal on the other. Anyone crossing on a narrowboat is one step away from a fall to the valley bottom. If, like me, heights are not your thing, get a good grip on the boat before looking out or over the edge. Telfords skills were amazing and the views are spectacular. Well worth a visit. For those wanting a longer walk on the towpath there is the Chirk aqueduct over the River Ceiriog on the England - Wales border. A smaller aqueduct with a railway line running higher next to it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaptopTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    235
    23
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonder of the world?”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Amazing structure takes you high above the valley, very scary if you don't like hights like myself but one of the man built wonders of the world, visit it, its fun even if you don't like heights!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlecH629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Canal in the sky”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just loved visiting this wonderfull piece of engineering as have only ever seen pictures of it so to see it for real gave me a special buzz, considering its hardly had anything done to the origional structure it a credit to the engineers who built it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnLmerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awesome engineering and brilliant views.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

While visiting friends in Chester, they took me to see the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct. It was nothing I expected. Far surpassed my expectations having never heard of it before. When first walking up to the canal from the parking lot, I thought, "Yup, about what I thought it would be." But once I saw the 18 arched pier column bridge and the views from it, my jaw hit to ground. Truly amazing engineering feat by Thomas Telford. Mostly give it was built in 1795-1805! Was fun watching the boats floating across the bridge over the River Dee. Standing on the bridge, you get to look down 40 meters/126 feet to the river and valley below. It's a World Heritage Site. I also just saw the Aquaduct on the TV show, "Amazing Race" just a few days ago telling my family, "I WAS THERE!" Hahaha.

If you're in the area, take a trip there. You won't be disappointed. I'm glad this site isn't in or near a major city. It would be so packed with people to the point it wouldn't be as enjoyable. As it is, it's wonderful. A must see!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SeahawksReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Canal in the sky”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We took a canal trip from Trevor: across the aqueduct and back again - takes about 45 minutes, and well worth it. Also catch the views looking up from below. Remarkable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pontcysyllte Aqueduct also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Llangollen, Denbighshire
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 

Been to Pontcysyllte Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing