We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are brilliant......”
Review of Travelodge Wrexham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Wrexham
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Staff are brilliant......”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The positives: This hotel seems quite new, it is in a good overall condition. It was great to have the childrens beds made up for us on arrival. The main room was absolutely fine, with no noise from outside and a comfortable double bed with good pillows.
The location is ideal for us and has a Subway, Starbucks and garage with cashpoint and shop outside.
The parking was free and there was plenty of room.
The best thing was the staff, they were all very friendly, courteous and helpful and especially with our young children.

The negatives: Other reviewers have mentioned and I have to agree that £10 for a day of wifi in 2014 is ludicrous.
There were 2 issues in the bathroom - there was something unpleasant that appeared to be dried sick on the toilet ceramic bottom and the shower was not properly attached to the wall.
The childrens beds needed to have larger and slightly thicker duvets and were not that comfortable although passable for a very short stay.
More disabled parking would be handy as 1 space is all I saw there.
Overall though we would return here as the value for money for the accommodation is hard to beat, the problems were fairly minor and easy to resolve and like most travelling if you have helpful friendly staff most things can be resolved as is the case here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heisenberg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    59
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
56
47
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed as a family in 2 rooms at travelodge Wrexham recently and had excellent service. We have stayed twice before over two years. The rooms were clean and tidy having recently been updated and the rooms very warm and welcoming. The staff could not be more helpful and were very patient with our children,
It is excellent value for money and the location is fine as I imagine most people will have arrived by car and the town is a short drive away. Starbucks and subway are open early am until around 630 pm and there is a lovely balti house less than 10 min walk away which was incredibly welcoming and served lovely food. overall we would definately recommend this travelodge and will certainly be returning! Thanks once again for your hospitality Travelodge Wrexham!

Room Tip: The windows keep the traffic noise out Welles.e from the forecourt but if that bothers you ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The receptionist on the reception evening on 12/01 and 13/01 was the friendliest Travelodge employee I have dealt with.

I have not used TL for a few years as I felt they was terrible for cleanses, services and room decor and facilities ( examples include London, aberdeen, Dundee) but Wrexham was totally different, clean, modern and well maintained.

They are using new mattress according to the literature, I had a good nights sleep.

Hints:
If you get a room at the front you may be able to get Starbucks free Wifi, or nip across for a £1 coffee


Areas for improvement

WiFi prices are a outrages: £5-1 hour £10-1 day £20-1 week. Come on, £3 a day is offered by a competitor

Shower Jell :- Would like a little more than a small bar of soap

Plastic glass:- would be great if you could have glass

Room Tip: Good size for families plenty of parking Quite ish location A little out of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this recently refurbished Travelodge for business for three weekends on the run up to Christmas.
Staff are friendly and the place is clean and tidy.
It is in a somewhat unwelcoming location and has no adjacent pub or restaurant only a Starbucks, a Subway and a Spar garage shop. (The local pub is a ten minute walk away but is not a welcoming establishment). There is a Chinese and an Indian take away nearby too as well as an Indian restaurant which we tried and was OK.
Be aware that this is budget accommodation and at weekends you could draw the short straw and have reveling guests, as we did till 4 am one night.
So as we said, it is what it is, and if you want better then you'd better pay for it.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betws-y-coed, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Brilliant new hotel. Why stay anywhere else. Very clean. Great breakfast. Helpful staff
This was my first stay here but won't be my last . I used to stay in small hotel but the standard was so high of this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have stayed in lots of Travelodges and other budget hotels up and down the country, most of them I would return to, however, this one I will definitely avoid in future. Firstly our room was very cold, we were told by the reception this was because we had checked in before 3pm (although we didn't actually arrive until 3.10pm!!). The Travelodge is one of the new updated ones, which was great; but the old furniture had been dumped at the back of the hotel outside our window. We were kept awake most of the night by people in the room directly above us pounding up and down, banging things on the floor and slamming doors, when I complained to reception at 7.30am, she did go to speak to them, but the pounding and slamming carried on; we were later told it was an older couple who didn't realise they were making a noise (obviously after being informed you'd think they would show some consideration!!). So Travelodge Wrexham, I will defintely not be recommending you.

Room Tip: To avoid the rubbish tip outside your window and to get a good nights sleep, don't get a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelhindTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Wrexham, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We are really sorry to learn that you found your room to be cold upon your arrival BelhindTravel. A part of our focus on minimising climate change impact, heaters are turned off until your arrival. We do have a number of spare blankets and duvets available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. We do want our customers to have a comfortable stay with us so we’d like to apologise for the disturbance you experienced. Our staff will approach customers to request for them to respect reasonable noise levels. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge for three nights and found the room to be very clean and comfortable ,the hotel had recently had a refurbishment.
True the view from the room was not that brilliant ,but for what we paid we were very satisfied.
The staff were friendly and helpful and their is a pub fairly local (10-15 minutes walk) that also served food ,menu behind the reception at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 887traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrexham
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
6.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
5.5 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Wrexham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wrexham

Property: Travelodge Wrexham
Address: A483/A5152 Wrexham Road | Wrexham Bypass, Wrexham LL14 4EJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wrexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Wrexham 1.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Wrexham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wrexham Hotel Wrexham
Travel Lodge Wrexham
Wrexham Travel Lodge
Wrexham Travelodge
Travelodge Wrexham Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing