We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Nags Head at Ridley Wood - CLOSED

The Nags Head at Ridley Wood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
wrexham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The food here for the price is ok. Don't drink the cola at this place they charge 2.30 for pint of cola that definitely isn't coke or Pepsi, some cheap nasty stuff. We went on a Sunday for a carvery. The staff in this place are pretty miserable. Especially the girl the the blonde hair who likes to boss everyone else around. She was telling another member of staff how she was going to be paid this week right in front of us which I felt was very unprofessional and ruined the atmosphere. Ordered pudding after the carvery and after half an hour wait and the other table who ordered pudding after us getting their pudding first we have up. When I went to the bar to tell them this all we got was a sorry, no explanation as to why it had taken half an hour. When I mentioned about the other table the only response we got was "yes we know"

I feel bad leaving this review as the landlord seemed really nice but he needs to have a word with his staff and sort out the drinks.

Was very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missclays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    36
    6
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked a family birthday meal for 6 adults and 3 children. The staff were lovely and made a fuss of the birthday 'girl' and even put a bottle of fizz on the table. The carvery was delicious, piping hot and filling !! The landlord was very attentive and although it was extremely busy the service could not be faulted. The children's meals were exceptional and they were treated to a bag of sweets each from the landlord which was a nice touch. Would have no hesitation in returning. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont sit in the bar :-( 2 04/05/14”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

this is a mirror of the comments left by the family "dont sit in the bar" but with longer wait times,
when we did finally get the go ahead to go to the carvery there was no one at the carvery carving the meat, we waited a while and we commented that the meat had been under the light for some time as the cut ends had dried up and had actually burned in the pork, anyway someone did arrive to cut the meat BUT he went ahead and served up one very thin piece pork and beef and no he didn't slice the dried up ends off and discard them, HE SERVED THEM ! and to cut a long story short, words were said, umbridge was taken and we were told not to come back.
but to sum it all up, yes as the other family said potatoes you had a job to stick your fork in let alone cut, rubbery veg, a cheap crappy carvery and a very un professional host.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Les O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just enjoyed a surprise Sunday lunch with my family there was a good selection of food on the menu offering all round excellent value with good service . The land lord took time out to introduce himself to all the tables ensuring that everyone had a good experience. Best carvery I have out in a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SJD1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“sunday roast”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

we arrived without having booked and were informed its best to book in future to avoid disapointment.I opted for the carvery which was very good,the staff were kind and polite and the service was fast.The manager couldnt do enough for us.Cant wait to go back again.

Helpful?
3 Thank scotashdlod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nags Head at Ridley Wood also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Rossett, Wrexham
 
Bangor On Dee, Wrexham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing