We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Guest House”
Review of Grove Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove Guest House
Ranked #2 of 14 Wrexham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Handy Guest House”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a handy guest house, no more than ten minutes’ walk Wrexham town centre, with plenty of parking. The surrounding area is residential and I felt safe walking about. The staff were friendly and helpful. I chose to stay in one of the smaller single rooms. It was great value and had all the facilities I needed. The room was spotless. It looks as if they’ve had a refurbishment recently and everything looked clean and immaculate. The bathroom was superb. Great breakfast, in a lovely dining room in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymroh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    35
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
33
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

we where is have room 13 but the lock did not work we had n0 4 instead the owner is a very attentive guy the rooms lack sound proofing and have no shampoo so take your own clean rooms very clean the guest house is in a great position for wrexham and chester breakfast was okay no black pudding or mushrooms but very good
easy access to the centre of wrexham and you get 10% off meals we had an indian with a discount

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhardy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review
The team take great care in assuring the rooms are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness.

We did have a little problem with the lock at the time of your check-in but it was found to be operator error – we had put the key in the wrong way.

For future reference we do supply toiletries and these are available from the Reception Guest Tray to help your self or on request they can be placed in your room. (This is also mentioned in the guest book located in each room). We apologise if this was not made clear at the time of check -in.

Regards
The Team at Grove Guest House
Wrexham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Hi There!

We just returned from a weekend at the Grove Guest House in Wrexham.
It was a great place to stay!
We had 13 people staying here for a mountain biking event in Llandegla.

Great organisation via email and phone prior to arrival.
Very Friendly welcome!
Rooms were very clean and modern.
Breakfast was fantastic, made to order and plenty of it. They also offer a take away bacon sandwhich breakfast for those in a rush. All served up in a stunning conservatory!
FREE Storeage area for mountain bikes
FREE WiFi!
Few minutes walk to the town centre

Will stay here again when im in the area.

Room Tip: Be organised! Book early and if you see any bad reports about this place then its more likely its do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you and hope lots of you come back with your bikes as well
Kindest regards
The Team @ Grove Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here with my sister and Mum on a girl's weekend - it was a lovely guest house with wonderful hosts and comfortable accommodation. We were very pleasantly surprised by how clean the room and the en suite was and the location was ideal for our needs - central but not noisy. I would recommend this every time.

Room Tip: Room 2 at the front of the bungalow was beautiful and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH290111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you
The Team at Grove Guest House
Wrexham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Staff were very friendly here and made the visit very enjoyable! Clean rooms, prompt service at breakfast. I was very much impressed with the personal touch guests receive here. Thank you for your fantastic service!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for your review we are pleased to make all guests who visit us and Wrexham welcome at all times.
Kindest regards
Grove Guest House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I have stayed at The Grove for the last three years whilst attending a swimming gala at Wrexham, I will be returning again shortly with the whole family !
We have always been very happy at The Grove, the rooms are excellent, and in our case always of a good size (we have up to press stayed in a different room every year) and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is cooked freshly to order, and again excellent.
I originally chose The grove for it's location, it is in a very pleasant area and a very easy walk into Wrexham centre. Wrexham has a pretty decent shopping centre (which I usually visit with a picky young lady - now 13 !) and a good selection of restaurants.
The staff are brilliant - so friendly and helpful, and it is the same faces every year which is nice to see. The owners are brilliant too, and very keen to provide any help or information you may need.

I would not hesitate to recommend The Grove to anyone, friends have also stayed and been very happy there - a good friend is also returning this year for her third visit (and she is very particular about where she stays).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed for two nights work related, good location short walk into Wrexham. Staff very friendly, on arrival given local information, some local eating establishments give discounts when staying at this guest house. Breakfast is cooked to order, really good and tasty, staff friendly and helpful, as this was a work trip I would have prefered to order in advanced so I could eat and go, if it was a leisure trip it would be a nice experiance. Key given and I could come and go as I pleased. Room and facilities bedding / towels were all very clean and good quality, ensuite a pleasure to use. Would definatly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hache4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for the review and just a thought if your return to us. We will be more than happy to take a breakfast order to meet your time requirements, just let us know at check in or at time of order.:)

Grove Guest House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrexham
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
3.1 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
170 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
523 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Guest House

Property: Grove Guest House
Address: 36 Chester Road, Wrexham LL11 2SD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wrexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star private and established accommodation provider located only 5 minute walk to Wrexham Town Centre. Grove Guest House is a charming 1930's Dormer Bungalow set in a leafy and very desirable residential area of Wrexham Town. Our Hotel style service is managed to high standard. Our single, Twin, Double, (QUEEN size) and Triple rooms are en-suite and have been re-furbished tastefully along with a re-furbished Dining Room, newly built conservatory to relax and drink your coffee and a garden area with seating in the sunny times. Local attractions and services,Our Food Hygiene rating has been awarded at the top grade of 5. Our LARGE Car Park is offered free of charge with very easy access. FREE wi-fi. Only a short walk to Yale College, Glyndwr University, Wrexham General Railway station and Bus Station. A short car ride to Llangollen, (home to the Eisteddfod) and the historic walled City of Chester are located only a short car ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Guest House Wrexham, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing