We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Wrexham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wrexham
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We forgot to book a place to stay and had to trek around Wrexham all the rooms at the inn were full so to speak. we called the Ramada and they had a double room spare and it was also a upgrade to the Executive King size room, the room was great and the air-con was just what we needed on a hot night. We did not use the hotel for food or drinks but the fridge was well stocked and the food did smell great

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel above the reception and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Royaj1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following on from your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Hotel. I was pleased that you found the rooms to your liking particularly our King Executive room. I trust that on your next planned trip to Wrexham you will book with us again and we will have the chance to welcome you back.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    234
    74
    18
    14
See reviews for
57
142
38
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I were visiting Chester but as it was Chester races that week-end all of the reasonably priced accommodation had been booked up.
I found this hotel via an on-line booking agency and the price quoted for the two night stay was £170 ie £85 per night for two people.
We arrived at 1330 hrs and were booked in immediately. We were then informed that we had an executive double room and when we got to it, we were pleased with what was available. Although the bed was a little hard for my wifes' liking, the rest of the room was more than acceptable. We found it to be clean and quiet.
We did hear one person say the following morning that they had heard music until 0200 hrs but we heard nothing on the third floor. The music was probably due to an event being run by the hotel.
We booked breakfast for the next two mornings and the food was basic but acceptable. We were told by the receptionist that it was better to book as the cost per person was £8.50 compared to £12 if the breakfast wasn't booked.
We ate out at night so can't comment on the restaurant / bar food quality but there seemed to be plenty of choice and it wasn't over priced. The same food is available in both bar and restaurant.
One thing to note. The toilet in the room we had ( room 303 ) was considerably lower than normal so if anyone has a problem sitting and standing, be aware of this.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay there. There is adequate parking space and a get out time of 1100am gives enough time for breakfast etc.
The air conditioning makes the rooms comfortable.
Its location gives about a quarter of an hour easy walk into the town centre. Good value for the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the font are nearest the road, albeit the large car park is between the hotel and the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following on from your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Wrexham. I was very pleased to that you found so many aspects of the Hotel to your liking and that you found us to be value for money. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the near future when you are visiting Chester and choose to stay with us rather than a Hotel in Chester itself.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruddlan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel was clean, the room was very comfortable. The biggest problem was that the shower handle was loose and kept falling off. We stayed at the hotel so that my disabled wife could be in hospital for 0700 hrs for an operation, because of the early start I did not have time to report it.
The ramp on the crossing is not very friendly to wheelchairs and we did not see the switch to open the main doors until we were told by an employee.
I had to come back later to settle my bill because the overnight staff could not get my card to work, I offered cash but because the receptionist had swiped my card on check in it had to be paid by that card.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following on from your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Wrexham. Overall I was very pleased to read your comments and apologise for the problem with the shower head. I trust that this will not deter you from returning to the Hotel again sometime in the future.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and found it to be clean with large rooms and very well equipped, staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was good. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and return ourselves

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following on from your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Wrexham. It was pleasing to read your review as not only did it mention our bedrooms but also our breakfast offering and our friendly staff. Please be assured that all staff will be made aware of your positive review.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A 4* Hotel that has hair in the bed & bath, filthy cutlery and glasses, dirty carpet, dusty furniture and a lumpy uncomfortable bed, then stay at the Ramada Plaza in Wrexham.

We had an 'executive' double room which we were nothing short of disgusted by considering the price paid for the room. How they can justify a room of such low standards of cleanliness & comfort is beyond me and I have complained to the Hotel directly about this. £160 down the drain, we were meant to stay a further night, we defaulted on this as we preferred the thought of a 2 hour journey home over staying another night in this hotel.

Did not enjoy the stay in this Hotel one bit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Wrexham. I was sorry that you had problems with our housekeeping standards and these are not the usual high standards we set and the vast majority of our reviews reflect this. Feedback is vital and once again I think you for this valuable feedback.
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location of this hotel is more designed for business travellers rather than tourists but this was the only negative to my stay at this hotel.
The staff that I interacted with, mainly reception and bar staff, were professional and friendly.
The room was modern, well equipped, clean, spacious and the bed was comfortable.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDevil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartMackieGM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Wrexham, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Wrexham. It was pleasing to ready your comments especially as it related to the bedrooms and the Hotel staff. Perhaps we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to North Wales again sometime in the future.
Regards,
Stuart Mackie
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wrexham hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
4.6 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
5.0 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Wrexham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Wrexham

Property: Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Address: Ellice Way, Wrexham LL13 7YH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wrexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Wrexham 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Wrexham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Wrexham Hotel Wrexham
Ramada Wrexham
Wrexham Ramada
Ramada Plaza Wrexham Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing