We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts offering delicious food and a truly beautiful home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge Cafe B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge Cafe B & B
Ranked #8 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cardigan, wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts offering delicious food and a truly beautiful home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Bridge Cafe is one of the most elegantly designed guest houses you could wish to visit - fudge coloured walls, wooden floors stained a deep molasses, gorgeous artefacts no doubt picked up on the owners' trekking holidays across Europe, and a menu to die for. Great attention has been given to detail with the result that everyone staying here is guaranteed excellent value for money. Eggs are sourced daily from the hens at the bottom of the garden while the fruit and vegetables are picked either from the afore-mentioned garden or a walled garden the owners share with a friend. This is a truly wonderful discovery just a three-minute walk from the town centre and a property we shall definitely return to in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

My husband, mother and I stayed at the Bridge Cafe for one night at the end of March on our way home from North Wales. We had the two bedrooms at the front and shared a bathroom. We had a great meal in the cafe in the evening. We were lucky to get a table, as they are understandably very popular. Jon was warm and welcoming and incredibly helpful.

What struck us most was how generous Jon and Carole are. They have very exacting and high standards when it comes to food quality for themselves, and they use the same principles when shopping for their guests. For example, they offer a great range of hot drinks including excellent quality R&G coffee in the rooms. A lot of thought goes into all of the ingredients of the food they serve and they try to buy Fairtrade and organic, where possible. Carole is a great cook and Jon a fantastic host. It was refreshing to stay in a place clearly much more motivated by passion, than profit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a fantastic 3 nights at the Bridge Cafe. We stayed in room two and, contrary to our initial concerns, sharing a bathroom with one other couple proved to be absolutely fine. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, and the food - in the bistro, at breakfast and in our packed lunches - was locally sourced, home cooked and delicious. Jon and Carole's attention to detail in every respect made it a truly wonderful stay. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenBean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Jon and Carole are very welcoming hosts at this charming Bed and Breakfast. We stayed for three nights, eating in their bistro on the Saturday (which is highly recommended). Our room was comfortable and very clean and all the food was brilliant. We really appreciated the care that had been taken to ensure that food was locally, organically sourced and that the whole enterprise seemed very eco-friendly. We were in the area for two days of walking in the Brecon Beacons and Jon and Carole were very knowledgeable and helpful with routes and suggestions. Next time we visit the area, we are keen to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room three which is set up as a family room. We spied into rooms one and two (when occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfishpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we've stayed with Jon and Carole at the Bridge Cafe and once again we had a fantastic stay. Their hospitality was second to none, the breakfasts are awesome, the evening meals delicious and the location superb. We'll back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

GENUINELY friendly & 'homey' service. The rooms are very clean, comfortable & charming. We didn't have evening meals but the smells coming from the kitchen were lovely & it was clear that the food is 'proper-cooked' on the premises. Breakfast was tasty & generous. Most importantly... the coffee was excellent! Will DEFINITELY go back when in Brecon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yannihrysicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

It was a really lovely building, easy to find and well situated near good pubs. John and Carol were very welcoming and accommodating. The room was lovely and spacious. We had booked a room in the restaurant, the starters and desserts were particularly wonderful. The bread is all made fresh on site. The grow lots of their own vegetables in the back garden as well as keeping chickens. They were interesting and informative as we were doing the Taff trail the next day. It was more like visiting friends than staying in a B&B. Breakfast was amazing - go for the welsh breakfast.

Room Tip: We were in a double room on the main road but there was very little noise. You are above the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#6 of 44 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Cafe B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Cafe B & B

Property: Bridge Cafe B & B
Address: 7 Bridge Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy bed and breakfast rooms for hikers and cyclists. A great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons National Park. We can loan maps, provide packed lunch and a thermos, drop you off at the start of the trail.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridge Cafe B & B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing