We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure”
Review of Bridge Cafe B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge Cafe B & B
Ranked #8 of 45 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

There was something very special about the Bridge - it felt really homely and comfortable, more as if you were staying at a friend's house than at a B and B - bits and pieces and books around all added to the charm. I liked the eco friendly shampoo/soap etc and the fact that we were offered a flask of fresh milk rather than the little plastic containers of UHT. Real coffee and a cafetiere in the bedroom were also much appreciated. The vegetarian breakfast option with fried halloumi was excellent. Jon and Carole were very helpful with suggestions of things to do and cycling tips for the rest of our trip and it was nice that they sat down and had their breakfast with us. We'd certainly come here again and have already recommended it to friends.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just returned from a great 1 night stay at the Bridge Cafe B&B. We were at a wedding at the nearby Penpont Stables and didn't fancy camping there so we booked to stay in room 2. This room shared a bathroom with room 3 but wasn't a problem at all. Can highly recommend breakfast, (packed) lunch and dinner as we ate all three at the Bridge Cafe over the course of the weekend. A really friendly welcome from Jon and some great cooking by Carole. All in all a lovely place to stay and eat in Brecon - many thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is our favourite place to eat out (even compared with Michelin starred restaurants). The food is always first class and the service friendly without being overbearing. The food is home cooked and the vegetables and fruit home grown. Highlights include home made ice cream and desserts. We have not stayed at the B & B but have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had one night here on trip through Wales,it was getting late and we had not booked anywhere,on passing the property we noticed a no vacancy sign was up but Jon was in front doing some painting and to cut a long story short after my wife spoke to him regarding an alternative he said Carole would make up the room for us to stay the night,now that's called service.The establishment is clean,quirky (in a nice way),historic,well priced and very comfortable.Breakfast was excellent the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a night at the Bridge Cafe purely by chance as a stop over on my cycle around the Beacons.
It turned out to be the hilight! Jon and Carole have created an amazing place. Friendly, personal & in Jon's own words, "unique". All places should be like this! The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed, the bike/chicken food she'd is secure, the food is amazing and fortifies you after a long day in the saddle. Jon's banter is great and he's always happy to help with any queries. I will be back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mikeyb_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at Bridge Cafe. Jon and Carole were lovely hosts and made us feel really welcome. The room (en-suite) was great value and really comfortable. Great breakfasts too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stopped for a cup of coffee and a bite on Sunday last and were made most welcome. There were three soldiers tucking into huge breakfasts and commenting on how good they were. The writer had a bacon roll served in a lovely wholemeal roll well filled with the most beautiful smoked back bacon. It's not often I would bother to write about a snack, but everything was smashing and the service first class. We will call again when passing through, highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
0.3 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#29 of 45 in Brecon
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 45 in Brecon
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 45 in Brecon
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#3 of 45 in Brecon
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Cafe B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Cafe B & B

Address: 7 Bridge Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: £35 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy bed and breakfast rooms for hikers and cyclists. A great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons National Park. We can loan maps, provide packed lunch and a thermos, drop you off at the start of the trail.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridge Cafe B & B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing