We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good cottage break. Highly recommended.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages
Ranked #11 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Brecon
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really good cottage break. Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Aber cottages for a short break Friday to Monday and had a great time. We booked both properties as there were three generations of two families and it worked out really well. The oldsters were happy to join in the noise and retreat to the comfort of bryniau pell when the kids got too loud. Comfortably furnished, roaring log fires and a very warm welcome. It is rare to find such well equipped cottages with good quality bedding. The play room and Y Beudy are such a great addition, the children were happy as were the adults. We have stayed in many places but this represents great value for money, is ideal for children and it is a beautiful setting. The snow added to the magic and the home made bara brith was a welcoming touch. Liz & Paul made us feel very welcome. The local pub, the Tanners, was a hit with the fellas who probably spent and drank a bit too much watching the Wales team win the 6 Nations.
Thanks for a great weekend! I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizbeth M, Owner at Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are so glad that you had an enjoyable weekend with the whole and would welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

just returned from a weekend break at Aberhyddnant, this is the first time I've ever taken the time to write a review so that may speak for itself. The cottages are perfectly appointed with everything you could need including the food hamper with wonderful local produce. The owners are welcoming and helpful as are their two dogs one of which joined us on our walks and was perfectly behaved. The area is beautiful with plenty to do (as long as you enjoy walking, cycling) our parties children (7, 5 & 4) all had a great time. The temperature outside was below freezing but inside was always warm and while there really wasn't a need to light the fire it was lovely to do so on a cold winter night. Wonderful place and great value for money - we've already booked to return for a week next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizbeth M, Owner at Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Brilliant. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay it is a beautiful area for walking or just taking in the views. Great that you found the new wood boiler heating a success. We look forward to seeing you next year. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Tucked away in beautiful welsh countryside, this place exceeded our expectations in lots of ways. We were very warmly welcomed, the fire had been lit in the cosy cottage living room, a cake, milk and fresh eggs had been left for us. The surrounding countryside is stunning and if you're after somewhere quite off the beaten track this is the place. The shared playroom was genius- the kids loved it. Also very good sausages and meats all made on the farm. Would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashandthetinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizbeth M, Owner at Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for your great review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope that you will return in the future, when the playroom will include a special nature corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

My wife and I spent a week in Bryniau Pell cottage. The welcoming home-made fruit loaf, fresh cut flowers and organic free range eggs waiting our arrival set the tone for our stay. A well appointed, compact cottage that still gave one ample space. Beautiful oak floors, comfortable furnishings complimented by a woodburning stove including a plentiful supply of logs at no extra cost. A lovely homely place, remote, private and quiet. A well appointed kitchen with everything one might need; every modern convenience one could wish for, and all necessary basics provided - dishwashing liquid, dishwasher tablets, laundry requisites (all eco friendly). The only modern thing not available is access to any mobile network - another plus so far as we were concerned. In case of need there is a payphone in the cottage, or you can (if you absolutely must) drive 5+ miles to obtain a signal.
One twin bedded room, one double all with comfortable beds, complete with all bedding, and a room with two cots. Excellent bathroom with a plentiful supply of towels and a supply of handwash.
Excellent TV reception, a DVD and CD player, plus a well stocked library so, with the woodburner keeping one toasty warm, even if the weather closed in, your needs are met. Younger (and old) are also catered for in the separate games room which is also plentifully stocked.
Barbecues are there for use, with a supply of charcoal available to purchase. To go with the barbecue (or any cooking) there is a freezer loaded with organic meats from the farm - beef, pork, lamb, sausages and bought-in vegetarian options. Use on an 'honour' system.
There is also oil fired central heating, and plentiful hot water.
Liz and Paul were friendly and totally unobtrusive, but there to help if/when needed.
Plentiful sightings of raptors, great on-farm walks (which unfortunately I was not able to use as much as I planned) trout fishing available and amazing countryside all around.
All the above leads to me say this has been our best self catering experience ever. We hope to return in the not too distant future and get out on those walks and entice a trout or two out of the water.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canegrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizbeth M, Owner at Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Thank you for such a great review and the lovely 'photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

I have just returned from a weekend in The Brecon Beacon National Park in Wales. We stayed on a gorgeous farm just outside of Crai Village which houses two cottages. We stayed in the cottage called Nyth y Wennol which has 3 bedrooms (all with bedding), 2 bathrooms (towels provided), kitchen and a living room with a fireplace. The cottage has a very cosy feel - a home away from home. You are welcome to explore the farm and if chose can pre-order their organic hampers which contain various produce from the farm. They also run a cute tea house located in Trecastle (15mins from the farm) where produce off the farm can be bought. We enjoyed a lovely morning tea here (scones come recommended) and the lady who runs the shop is very friendly and helpful.

We only stayed here for two nights and would recommend longer if possible to enjoy fully the surrounding areas and the farm itself. There are endless amounts of hikes one can undertake and the landscape in this area is beautiful. It is an ideal location to get away from the city and experience life on a farm- a great way to relax and take in some country fresh air! We met one of the owners Liz who was lovely and whilst they don’t interfere with your stay are always there if need be.

Check out the website for further details: http://www.aberorganic.co.uk

  • Liked — Unique farm experience
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
11.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
10.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
10.2 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#2 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages

Property: Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages
Address: Aberhyddnant Aberhyddnant | Crai, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8YS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages in the Brecon Beacons and you can experience life on a traditional Welsh organic hill farm. Aber cottages offers an idyllic and peaceful get-away from the stress, hustle and bustle of everyday modern living. Spring water flows from the taps, fresh eggs are waiting to be collected and a range of walking opportunities through unspoilt scenery beckons from your doorstep. Two family and pet friendly cottages can accommodate 2 to 10 guests plus room for 2 cots in each, with indoor playroom and enclosed play area. You can also pre-order scrumptious organic hampers which contain various produce from the farm or buy home produced meat and eggs during your stay. So why not grab your wellies and come on down to the farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aberhyddnant Farm Cottages Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing