We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Travellers Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Travellers Rest
Ranked #17 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Just had a weekend at the Traveller's Rest in Talybont-on-Usk.. We stayed in one of the apartments which was very spacious with a large lounge, kitchen with a double and single futon, a separate bedroom with a double bed and a lovely bathroom (with endless hot water - a must as i am a water baby!).
The area is very pretty which sums Talybont up - it is very near a canal which you can walk down to get to the village . There are 2 pubs in the village that both do very good food as does the Travellers Rest so you can be spoilt for choice!

You had a choice of what you wanted in your cooked breakfast (some surprises which not everybody offers... black pudding and fried potatoes which I do like).

All-in-all, a lovely place to stay and one that we will return to - need i say more!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NWilliams94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We have just returned from the Brecons and had a fantastic weekend. We were due to stay before Christmas but had to postpone to March and we weren't disappointed with what we found. Ideally located for the Brecons with lovely views.

Joy made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The rooms could probably do with some updating and an addition of a shower would be great, that said we had a very comfortable stay. The fact we could take our dogs with us was also fantastic.

The food was exceptional though, we all had lovely meals and the breakfast set us up for the days hiking.

The only drawback was the lack of comfortable seating to chill out in after a walk in the hills, but hey you can't have everything!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrismith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Stayed here for the third time now and loved it. It's a good honest place to stay. The location is great with two other puns in less than half a mile a short walk along the canal. The rooms (we stayed in the studio) are a good size and although not the most modern, very clean and warm. The owners Jan and Doug are very welcoming and helpful. The jewel of this place though is the wonderful food. The food is incredibly tasty and we loved every mouthful. The breakfast is equally as good. The whole stay has a very personal and non mass produced feel of the larger Inn's or corporate stays. Will definately be back again as a great base to explore the Brecon Beacons from.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

I went with as a group of 4 freinds and we booked out 2 rooms, one of which was actually a 'studio flat' - the roomes were clean, tidy and well equipped. The views out over the hills was fanatastic, and thankfully we had the weather to boot. We ate breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant - breakfast was a killer - the best black pudding we had jointly tasted and the fruit plate was divine. The choice of evening meals were wide, with lots of locally sourced products, and the quality of dishes deserved michelin stars! To enhance the stay, the village has all needed amenities , regular bus routes and a great CAMRA recommended pub 'The Star'....ideal for a paced relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guccifaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
5.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Usk Inn
Usk Inn
#23 of 44 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
6.0 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
3.8 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Travellers Rest

Property: The Travellers Rest
Address: Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run B&B set in beautiful Brecon Beacons alongside Brecon canal with more than usual bed and breakfast facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Travellers Rest Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing