We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK ...but not great”
Review of Tai'r Bull

Tai'r Bull
Ranked #31 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are an Inn with 5 en-suite bedrooms,also restaurant,
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK ...but not great”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Visited after walking up Pen y Fan. I had fish and chips followed by apple and rhubarb tart. Fish appeared to have gone straight from the freezer into the deep fat fryer and was unremarkable. On the plus side though chips were homemade. Tart was very small and tasted as though it had hung around for a few days. Service was very good though. All in all a very 'average' experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“A Feast at the Inn”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

On the way home we had attempted several places for food at 5.30pm and failed Just about to give up when we came across the Tai'r Bull and at last found room at the Inn. The service was excellent and the only problem with the menu was what to chose! Whilst I would highly recommend the fish Pie, a marvellous portion for a hearty appetite, whilst my partner would recommend the Home Made Meat Pie. Friendly staff made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our meal and we left feeling full and on contented. We look forward to eating there again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Allgoodthyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We went to the Tairbull for a 40th wedding celebration. We booked 3 rooms which were all pleasantly decorated. The food was lovely And reasonably priced, the staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside is the noise during the night of the saniflow system, it woke me up a few times. Otherwise a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenks5062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Roast.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good welcome from friendly staff. Lunch was excellent as was the real ale. Position although on a main road is lovely with views across the Beacons. Will visit again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LDawsonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good night out”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

While visiting Brecon Beacons, we stopped for a late dinner and a drink here. Ribs were amazing and couple of deserts we had were quite nice also. Service could be little bit faster, but you could see that staff do their best. Nice atmosphere though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tai'r Bull also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Llanhamlach, Brecon
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Tai'r Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing