We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Welcome”
Review of Tai'r Bull

Tai'r Bull
Ranked #32 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are an Inn with 5 en-suite bedrooms,also restaurant,
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional Welcome”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having just finished walking from the Storey Arms Outdoor Educational Centre along the Old Drovers path (around about 5miles in total) on a damp December day it was nice to find this pub which thankfully was open all day.

There were 11 of us, plus a small dog who was welcome in the bar (not the restaurant area for obvious reasons) including 3 children who immediately found the free WiFi somewhat of a bonus.

Unfortunately, even though the bar was open all day, food was only available at lunchtime and again after 6pm! Oh no - what we're we to do, it was only 4pm.

Landlady to the rescue....she kindly rang the chef to come in early who then proceeded to open up the kitchen and started cooking for us. The food was traditional pub fayre, nothing overly fancy but well cooked and generous portions. Considering the size of our party all the meals came out within minutes of each other, a feat other pubs with a dozen staff (let alone one) don't seem to be able to manage.

This is a nice pub/restaurant (which also has rooms - I am sure they would also be pleasant), the scenery in the area is spectacular and is popular with walkers - if you are in the area I wouldn't hesitate in recommending spending a hour or two here.

Many thanks to the landlady and chef for looking after us so well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK ...but not great”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Visited after walking up Pen y Fan. I had fish and chips followed by apple and rhubarb tart. Fish appeared to have gone straight from the freezer into the deep fat fryer and was unremarkable. On the plus side though chips were homemade. Tart was very small and tasted as though it had hung around for a few days. Service was very good though. All in all a very 'average' experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“A Feast at the Inn”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

On the way home we had attempted several places for food at 5.30pm and failed Just about to give up when we came across the Tai'r Bull and at last found room at the Inn. The service was excellent and the only problem with the menu was what to chose! Whilst I would highly recommend the fish Pie, a marvellous portion for a hearty appetite, whilst my partner would recommend the Home Made Meat Pie. Friendly staff made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our meal and we left feeling full and on contented. We look forward to eating there again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaSailSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We went to the Tairbull for a 40th wedding celebration. We booked 3 rooms which were all pleasantly decorated. The food was lovely And reasonably priced, the staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside is the noise during the night of the saniflow system, it woke me up a few times. Otherwise a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenks5062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Roast.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good welcome from friendly staff. Lunch was excellent as was the real ale. Position although on a main road is lovely with views across the Beacons. Will visit again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LDawsonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tai'r Bull also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Tai'r Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing