We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Ranked #14 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a lovely friendly guest house run by a local family. My wife and I have used it many times over the last twenty years and have never been disappointed. We always get a friendly welcome and the accommodation and breakfasts are excellent. We will be returning again in August and do not expect any lowering of standards and welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 night over the Easter bank holiday. Ideal location with only 5 min walk in to town, owners very friendly, rooms are dated but clean, comfortable bed, tea, coffee, lots of storage, TV, free WIFI and the breakfast is fab!

Highly recommended! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chickster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Castle Farm Guest House for 3 nights.

The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and the location was perfect for exploring the Brecon Beacons national park. It was an easy walk into the town centre or relatively short drives to a number of the major walks in the area.

The owners are very welcoming to walkers and the breakfast tastes amazing and definitely fuels you up for a long day in the hills.

We would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Went to the Tourist Info centre for a list of accommodation when I arrived in Brecon late afternoon.
Decided on this one because of the parking & overall was very satisfied with my choice. The room I had was very clean & everything I needed was provided & everything worked, the breakfast was ok & the the price for the room was very reasonable. The only criticisms I have is that the pillows weren't very good & I think probably needed changing & the soundproofing wasn't very good. Overall though, I would recommend staying here - the proprietor & staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here recently for a weekend’s break walking in the Beacons. David and Mandy are a friendly couple who make their guests feel at home. We had a comfortable twin room on the second floor, with a view of the mountains through the skylight (always useful to check the likely weather). A reasonable breakfast in a good-sized breakfast room (pleasant contrast to some others I have stayed in). They have a dedicated car-park, but we never needed it as there is on-street space. Ten minutes walk into Brecon (longer if you stop at the excellent Llanfaes Dairy ice-cream parlour).

Very good value at £55 per night for the twin room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsherunkle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Really original, log cabin like feel. The comfiest beds I have tried in quite a while. Had an epic sleep !We didn't have breakfast because we shot off early. Would happily recommend. Well worth the price

Room Tip: We loved the top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flamingembargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very friendly and comfortable family run B&B.
The two rooms we had were very nice and roomy, which comfortable beds and great on-suite facilities.
Everyone was really friendly and helpful for the three nights that we stayed there.
Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
485 reviews
3.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#13 of 43 in Brecon
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#28 of 43 in Brecon
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castle Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle Farm Guest House

Address: 18 Penpentre | Llanfaes, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Castle Farm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in the historic market town of Brecon, half a mile from the town centre on the main road from Cardiff. The house is an old farmhouse which dates back to the 1800's and still has original beams in some of the rooms. All our rooms are en-suite and have LCD TV's, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. We also have a comfortable residents lounge with original features, such as beams and fireplace. There is free Wi-Fi available in all the bedrooms.. We have a spacious breakfast room with a good choice of full Welsh breakfast or vegetarian option, served in the dining room between 08:00 and 09:00 daily. We have our own private car park for up to 12 cars and a lock up garage for anyone with push bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Castle Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Castle Farm Guest House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing