We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Ranked #12 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very friendly staff and great breakfast. Off road parking round the back was good to park our car with mountain bikes in, although they did offer a secure garage for them too. We were very late arriving and this didn't seem to be a problem when I telephoned to let them know. Will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for two nights over a rainy weekend in May. The Old Castle Farm was a lovely place to stay; room was warm and comfortable with a good shower, and the size was fine. The breakfast was plentiful, you get to self serve for cereal and yoghurt, then order the cooked breakfast, they were happy to swap out things in the breakfast. It isn't posh nosh or anything but a good eat and start to the day. Staff were always friendly and helpful and really warm towards us. There are leaflets for the local area around which is always helpful. The décor of the guest-house is very dated with floral textured wallpaper running throughout the hallway. There is a big garden out the back which we didn't use because of the weather but looks like it would be lovely in the sun!
Overall a great weekend and a lovely guesthouse to stay at in Brecon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just got home after staying here for 4 days. Had another great stay love the hosts and family.Always receive a warm welcome .Took other members of the family this time and they enjoyed it too.They certinley know how to cook breakfast ,and always plenty of tea,coffee,sugar and milk in your room. We will be going back for our 4th stay. If you want value for money then this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a lovely friendly guest house run by a local family. My wife and I have used it many times over the last twenty years and have never been disappointed. We always get a friendly welcome and the accommodation and breakfasts are excellent. We will be returning again in August and do not expect any lowering of standards and welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickster78
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 night over the Easter bank holiday. Ideal location with only 5 min walk in to town, owners very friendly, rooms are dated but clean, comfortable bed, tea, coffee, lots of storage, TV, free WIFI and the breakfast is fab!

Highly recommended! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Castle Farm Guest House for 3 nights.

The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and the location was perfect for exploring the Brecon Beacons national park. It was an easy walk into the town centre or relatively short drives to a number of the major walks in the area.

The owners are very welcoming to walkers and the breakfast tastes amazing and definitely fuels you up for a long day in the hills.

We would definitely go back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Went to the Tourist Info centre for a list of accommodation when I arrived in Brecon late afternoon.
Decided on this one because of the parking & overall was very satisfied with my choice. The room I had was very clean & everything I needed was provided & everything worked, the breakfast was ok & the the price for the room was very reasonable. The only criticisms I have is that the pillows weren't very good & I think probably needed changing & the soundproofing wasn't very good. Overall though, I would recommend staying here - the proprietor & staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
460 reviews
3.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
925 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
247 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#8 of 43 in Brecon
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Castle Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Castle Farm Guest House

Property: Old Castle Farm Guest House
Address: 18 Penpentre | Llanfaes, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Castle Farm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in the historic market town of Brecon, half a mile from the town centre on the main road from Cardiff. The house is an old farmhouse which dates back to the 1800's and still has original beams in some of the rooms. All our rooms are en-suite and have LCD TV's, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. We also have a comfortable residents lounge with original features, such as beams and fireplace. There is free Wi-Fi available in all the bedrooms.. We have a spacious breakfast room with a good choice of full Welsh breakfast or vegetarian option, served in the dining room between 08:00 and 09:00 daily. We have our own private car park for up to 12 cars and a lock up garage for anyone with push bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Castle Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Castle Farm Guest House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing