We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying Canal side Dining”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #14 of 74 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Canal side pub located in Pencelli village, located in the heart of the Brecon Beacons, approximately 2 miles from Brecon town. Serving traditional home cooked food, with the option of Roast Dinner on Sundays. Family and dog friendly!!
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My son was camping close to the Royal Oak so we went to see the local pub. The reception was extremely friendly and the outside area next to the canal is a fantastic spot for relaxing. Our meals were well presented and due to the beautiful area it was a very enjoyable experience. This place can get busy at times so some patience is required

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee G, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Many thanks for your comments and feedback. We really do appreciate this!
Please come to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Good beers, friendly welcome, good wholesome home cooked food, especially the home made chips , a must stopover if ever nearby again

1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee G, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Many thanks for your positive comments and feedback. We really do appreciate this!
Please come to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Me and my friends have been coming here every year now for the last 8 years on our annual camping trip. We stay over the road at Pencelli campsite, and after a hard days walking or canoeing we always call in on the Royal Oak.
The location first of all is just stunning. You go there on a summers evening sat next to the canal drinking a cold local ale, what more could you want. We tend to go back to the camp site for a BBQ so cant comment on the food other than it looks and smells fantastic.
We cant wait to go back this summer and fingers crossed for some sunshine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MARCHINMCENTEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee G, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Many thanks for your positive comments and feedback. We really do appreciate this!
Please come to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

This is without doubt the worst food I've eaten for a long time! Chips were dark brown soggy efforts & beef lasagne was a solid hefty lump. Staff were very friendly but food unfortunately dire.

Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee G, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We take all comments on board.
Had you let a member of staff know at the time that you weren’t satisfied with your meal, we would have been more than happy to offer an alternative, or refund to help rectify the situation.
We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the quality of food during your visit. All of our food is homemade by our chefs, and we regularly receive positive comments due to us making homemade chips, instead of frozen shop bought chips.
We will look into your comments and discuss with our chefs. Thanks for taking your time out to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Staying close by down the canal- started raining so arrived by car rather than walking. Didn’t book but got a table easily, early evening. Prompt service. Excellent food, lovely ambience. Would definitely recommend.

3  Thank 2wheelsgofast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee G, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Many thanks for your positive feedback.
Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanhamlach, Brecon
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing